9.28.2011

Review: Fourteen Days Later

Fourteen Days Later (Romantic Comedy)

By Sibel Hodge
Publish Date: 3/18/2010

From Goodreads:
When accident-prone Helen Grey finds a thong stuffed into the pocket of her boyfriend’s best work trousers, it’s time for her to move on. His excuse that he needed to dust the photocopier and just thought that it was a rag sounds like a lame excuse.

Helen’s life is propelled in an unexpected direction after her best friend, Ayshe, sets her a fourteen-day, life-changing challenge. Helen receives a task everyday which she must complete without question. The tasks are designed to build her confidence and boost her self-esteem but all they seem to do is push her closer to Ayshe’s brother, Kalem.

How will Kalem and Helen get together when she’s too foolish to realize that she loves him? How can he fall for her when he is too busy falling prey to her mishaps and too in love with his own perfect girlfriend? How will Kalem’s Turkish Cypriot family react when they find out?

Is it really possible to change your life in fourteen days?

Review:

Oh this book was just awesome. I loved Helene...poor accident prone Helene. Attempting to get over her ex-boyfriend Justin, Helene's best friend puts her on a 14 day challenge that is suppose to change her life. During the challenge, she comes across the weirdest of men and slowly start to realize that she is in love with Kalem, her best friend's brother. 

There were just too many funny lines in this book to count and I cracked up through the whole thing. Don't where to tender moments too, but the funny outweighed them. I have a heap of favorites in this one, but the best one was when Helene goes on a date with a doctor who has bald head & her friends father suggest he rubs goat poo on his head to get his hair to grow...LMAO!!!! It was too much. 

I highly enjoyed this book, it was kinda like a Bridget Jones Diary...but way more funnier. If you are looking for a hysterical romantic comedy, this is it! As Helene goes through the motions of trying to find Mr. Right,  in the end she realizes what she thought  was perfect man isn't exactly what she needed in the end. 

This one gets 5 Black Orchids.











Lata Days...MUAH!
Continue Reading...

Happy Hump Day!

Happy Hump Day fellow bloggers & friends...enjoy!



Lata Days...MUAH!
Continue Reading...

9.27.2011

Thank You!

I just wanted to say Thank You to all my old & newer followers during the wonderful contest/giveaway during the Autumn Harvest: Fall between the Pages Blog Hop. Thank you for all your Tweets, friend requests and comments! Its all so very much appreciated...


Sharonda (SexxyBlogger)
MUAH!

Continue Reading...

Teaser Tuesday



TEASER TUESDAY
























Teaser Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

1. Grab your current read.
2. Open to a random page.
3. Share two 'teaser' sentences from somewhere on that page.
4. Add the title and Author's name too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR pile.

*BE CAREFUL NOT TO ADD SPOILERS



My teaser is from Fourteen Days Later by Sibel Hodge


Fourteen Days Later


"How are you, then Charlie?" I sat down, staring at the ridiculous sight of him crammed into black leather trousers, which were so tight they must have been shrink-wrapped onto him, and a shrieking pink, shiny top. His belly was contorted into rolls of flab beneath it, which looked severely uncomfortable, and I was sure he'd been stuffing socks down his trousers again. 
'I'm fabby, darling.'
'Why aren't you working?' I eyed his sock with suspicion.
'Waiting for inspiration.' Charlie glanced over and caught me looking.


Lata Days...muah!
Continue Reading...

9.26.2011

AUTUMN HARVEST: FALL BETWEEN THE PAGES BLOG HOP TOUR (SEPT 19-26) - WINNER!!!!!



The winner of the two fabulous books below is: Samantha Dacier @ The Paranormal Romance Party....Congratulations! I'll be emailing you shortly!



Muah!




Continue Reading...

Monday Reads - #2












It's Monday...what book are you starting the week off with...

My books are listed in the sidebar to your left..but I just brought the below too. Looks like just the type of Erotica I love to sink my teeth into

The Heart of War

Lata Day...muah!
Continue Reading...

Masked Monday Blog Hop - #1





Masked Monday Blog Follow is a weekly feature that is run every Monday and is hosted by
Masked Monday is run with the objective to make new friends, to discuss secretive things on books you've read, discover new things about ourselves, find and visit other book blogs that we can all share an interest in and most of all have fun and a good laugh along the way!

1. Probably the most obvious - you need to run a blog. Preferably a book blog.
2. Make sure you are able to post Masked Monday, on a Monday.
3. You will need our button to go with your post. So take the link back button and post it at the top of your post. While your there, place it as a widget on your sidebar.
4.Copy and paste these rules and Include the linky list with all the participating blogs at the end of your post OR link to this blog follow.
5. Answer the Question/s on the list and post the same question on your blog post.
6. Visit the other blogs that will be on the list. If you not already following them, do the nice thing and become a follower. Let them know so they then can return the favour in kind and leave a comment on their site. Because everyone wants more followers!
7. Put your name and blog URL in the fancy dancy widget below
8. Once linked up - you will receive a weekly email from yours truly advising on that weeks question.
9. If in doubt contact, Sam or Elena @ samsawesomness@gmail.com  OR
                                           Laurie @ bonafidereflections@gmail.com

MASKED MONDAYS QUESTION OF THE WEEK
Have you ever told a friend, you hated a fictional character just to keep him or her all to yourselves? And 
Why?


I can think of only one & that was Acheron in Sherrilyn Kenyon's Dark Hunter series...oh my goodness, I fell in love with him as soon as I read the book. I just wanted to jump through the book and save him (too bad Tori got there first...). Plus he was all tall & sexxyfied. hmmm...hmmm, can't believe that man is a figment of someones imagination.


Lata Days...muah!

Continue Reading...

9.25.2011

Review: Stolen: Song of the Sídhí #3 by Jodie B. Cooper



Cover for 'Stolen: Song of the Sídhí #3'from Goodreads:
Every vampire has a destined lifeMate, a mate who is a perfect match. What happens if that perfect mate is stolen?

Katrina knows Eric is her destined mate, but her high school rival has other plans for Eric.

Twisting the most ancient of Sídhí laws, Clarisse steals Eric from Katrina with binding words, knowing Katrina can't fight back. Or can she?

Dreams of death dance in Katrina's head, because no one gets between a vampire and her true mate.



Review:

Stolen was a really enjoyable book. The story between Katrina & Eric was wonderful and there was an interesting story plot as well. 


I loved the world that the author wrote about, as there was a mixture of different elements in the book. There were vamps, ghouls, trolls and the whole lot. 


In this story Katrina comes of age before her best friend Eric & realizes that she is his mate. While waiting for Eric to come into his adult vampire body, Katrina's arch enemy claims him as her mate and the story goes from there. 


I thought there would be more of a revenge plot at the end of the book, but I still enjoyed it. I highly recommend this book. It's a wonderful additional to the young adult paranormal romance genre.


Stolen gets 4 Black Orchids














Lata Days...Muah!
Continue Reading...

In My Maibox #2













IMM is a weekly meme hosted by The Story Siren. Thanks to my good friend Barbara from Goodreads, this week I received the nine books in the Riley Jensen Guardian series by Keri Arthur.


fmrUS--mKissingUS--mtemptingUS--mdangerousUS--membracedUS--mdarkestUS--m
deadlyUS--m

Lata Days...muah!

Continue Reading...

Author Guest Post: Chosen by Denise Grover Swank

Chosen_button.jpg


From Goodreads:
Everything Emma Thompson owns fits in a suitcase she moves from one roach infested motel to another. She and Jake, her five year old son who can see the future, are running from the men intent on taking him. Emma will do anything to protect him even when it means accepting the help of a stranger named Will. Jake insists she needs Will, but Emma’s never needed help before. And even though she’s learned to trust her son, it doesn’t mean she trusts Will.

Mercenary Will Davenport lives in the moment. Hauling Emma to South Dakota should have been an easy job, but his employer neglected to tell him about Emma’s freaky son and the gunmen hot on her trail. Instinct tells him this job is trouble, but nothing can prepare him for Jake’s proclamation that Will is The Chosen One, who must protect Emma from the men hunting her power. A power she doesn't know she has.

Will protects Emma and Jake on a cross-country chase from the men pursuing them, while struggling with memories from his past, his apprehension of Jake, and his growing attraction to Emma. Will’s overwhelming urge to protect Emma surprises him, especially since it has nothing to do with his paycheck and possibly everything to do with the tattoo Jake branded on his arm. Rich and powerful men are desperate to capture Emma, and Will must discover why before it's too late.



The Importance of Headphones

When you see me writing, 99% of the time you’ll see me with ear buds firmly in place. I live in a household of five children, and currently, my office is my dining room—which has no doors. I have threatened my children that when I am rich and famous and my characters adorn the sides of Burger King cups, I will put doors up. Doors with locks. But for now, I am forced to settle for headphones.

Writing with headphones is self-preservation. I have deadlines and my children don’t sit quietly in chairs, playing chess and adjusting their ascots while they say in clear, crisp tones, “Checkmate, Wilford.” Yeah, not even close. Especially in the winter my household bears more than a passing resemblance to Lord of the Flies with my children running through the house chasing the dogs. If I have my magical headphones firmly wedged in my ear canals, I will sit at my computer, oblivious to the chaos.

My children often accuse me of ignoring them.
Child: Mom?
Me: *tap tap tap on the computer keys*
Child: Mom, Ryan just lassoed the dog and strung her up on a barbeque spike. And Emma has poured laundry detergent all over the bathroom floor.
Me: *looks up and sees child’s mouth moving, looks down and types more* Uh, huh.
Child: MOM! Did you hear what I just said?
Me: *pulls out one ear bud* Huh? Did you say something?

Ignore them? Honestly, I have no idea what those kids are talking about.
I wrote a good portion of Chosen with my butt in a chair in my living room, typing on my laptop while my preschoolers buried me in pillows and blankets. And occasionally dogs. But mostly pillows. It was a win/win situation. They could build forts with Mommy as the foundation, and I could zone out and live in the world that I created on my computer screen.  And once I set myself in Emma and Will’s world, I often found myself thoroughly encompassed. 

Their world was so foreign to me when I first started— Emma was living in the dregs of society, staying in seedy motels and moving constantly to keep her son safe, while Will was a mercenary with a reputation of being ruthless. You couldn’t get more outside my white bread, vanilla world. But once I put those buds in my ear and turned on iTunes, I was transported. Hopefully, that comes through in the story. Many of my readers have told me that they see the story in their head when they read, but it couldn’t have happened I hadn’t transported myself there in the first place.

All through my magical headphones. 


You can find out more about Denise and her other books at www.denisegroverswank.com and you can connect with her on Twitter


Denise Grover Swank


A big THANKS the wonderful author, I am giving away an eBook copy of Chosen.
The winner is Kristina Heacker...Kristina please contact me within 72 hours or another winner will be chosen.


Lata Days...muah!
Continue Reading...

9.22.2011

18 & Over Book Blogger Follow #4













18 & Over Book Blogger Follow is a weekly feature that begins on Fridays and runs through the weekend, hosted by Crystal from Reading Between the Wines and Kelly at Secrets of a Book Lover.

The 18 & Over Book Blogger Follow is a Friday blog hop with the objective to find and visit other book blogs that share the same interest as you, namely books geared towards the 18 & over crowd, and make new friends!



Question of the Week:
We all love our hunky heroes, but what heroine do you have a girl-crush on?
For me, it would be Reign the Radiant from Kreseley Cole's IAD series. She's nuts and kicks a helluva lot of ass! Yeah...she's my one & only girl crush....


Lata Days...muah!



Continue Reading...

Follow my Book Blog Friday #4



Follow Friday is a weekly event hosted by Parajunkee and Alison Can Read. All to discover new amazing blogs and new friends!
Q: Do you have a favorite series that you read over and over again? Tell us a bit about it and why you keep on revisiting it?

Oh, I stalk several *weg* -- Nalini Singh's Guild Hunter series, JR Ward's Black Dagger Brotherhood series and Patricia Briggs Mercy Thompson series...

Lata Days...muah!
Continue Reading...

Review: Destined by Allison Kraft

Destined
Pub Date: Aug 24th by CreateSpace

From Goodreads:
While flying across the Atlantic on the centennial anniversary of the Titanic's tragic maiden voyage, Apolline Greer, last in a long line of vampire hunters, finds herself suddenly transported from her airliner cabin to an eerily familiar ocean liner cabin—as well as the entirely unfamiliar body of her ancestor, Noelle Greer. Upon learning that she is, in fact, on board the very ship she’s been fascinated with all her life, she knows there's only one thing to do: get off as soon as possible.

But whether by destiny, freak coincidence or a really vivid dream, Apolline finds that her trip back in time comes with three very good reasons to stay on board: Alexander Walker, a handsome and charming fellow vampire hunter; Cristof, the vampire that has tormented her family for generations and very likely killed her own mother; and Sasha, the vampire Noelle was sent to kill.

Time, however, is not on Apolline's side. The Titanic is on a collision course with destiny, and she only has four days to complete her quest. What seemed like more than enough time at the start quickly becomes too short as she finds that hunting vampires on a luxury ocean liner is much more difficult than she expected. Sasha and Cristof become more elusive as each day passes, while her feelings for Alexander become increasingly complicated. As that fateful night approaches, will she regret her decision to stay and witness history first-hand?


Review:

While the story of an vampire slayer and the Titantic was intriguing, this story left me at an standstill in the beginning.  

We have Apolline who comes from a long line of female vampire slayers and on her latest hunt and the anniversary of the sinking of the Titantic, she is suddenly thrown back in time into the body of one of her ancestors who was on the doomed luxury liner. I truly did like premise of the book and Ms. Kraft research of the Titantic was excellent and you got a feel of being on the ship with the passengers.

As the story progresses Apolline discovers that the man that she is falling for is also an hunter and that the vampire she is hunting is also the mate of the an vampire that is a constant pain in her present life. Even thought the story was a little slow to start for me I truly enjoyed it and learned a little on the way too! Ms. Kraft puts a wonderful twist on paranormal romance and history. It was a great read!

This one gets 4 Black Orchids









Lata Day!...muah!
Continue Reading...

Author Guest Blog -- Chosen by Denise Grover Swank

Hi All,

Join me on Sept 25 when Author Denise Grover Swank will guest blog. She will be talk about her book Chosen

Chosen button.jpg

Lata Days...muah!


Continue Reading...

Dirty Little Secret #2





Dirty Little Secret is a weekly meme hosted by Under the Covers. Every Thursday we get to know other bloggers and our readers more intimately by asking them a question hoping to reveal their dirty little secrets.  We hope that you will all join us!

To participate in the meme all you need to do is:

1. Be a follower of Under the Covers.
2. Create a post in your blog taking the meme image (code above) and copy instructions.
3. Answer the question we propose! This can be done in any way you like, post a video, write a post etc.


This weeks question was inspired by the Guild Hunter series and the latest release of Archangel's Blade:
"If you could have wings, what would they look like?"


Purple of course...BIG, wide & fluffy



or maybe some blue wings like Illium *sigh*


Lata Days...Muah!

Continue Reading...

9.21.2011

Happy Hump Day!


Happy Wednesday All...here's to ending it with a BANG!



















Lata Days...muah!

ENJOY!



Continue Reading...

Waiting on Wednesday #4













Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.


This week's pre-publication "can't-wait-to-read" selection is:
























Pub. Date: March 2012
Series: Black Dagger Brotherhood Series #10
This is Tohr's book & I'm excited to read it!


Lata Days...muah!
Continue Reading...

9.18.2011

AUTUMN HARVEST: FALL BETWEEN THE PAGES BLOG HOP TOUR (SEPT 19-26)



1) HAVE FUN!!!

2) INVITE ALL OF YOUR FRIENDS!!! SPREAD THE WORD!!!

3) THIS TOUR STARTS: Monday, September 19, at Midnight (Arizona Time)
    THIS TOUR ENDS: Monday, September 26, at Midnight (Arizona Time)
    Winners will be drawn and posted September 27th! ***

4) MEET AND MINGLE WITH ALL THE AUTHORS & BOOK PAGES! EXPERIENCE A NEW DESTINATION AT EVERY STOP! PARTICIPATE IN EVERY BLOG CONTEST AND BE ENTERED FOR CHANCES TO WIN MULTIPLE PRIZES! EVERY BLOG VISITED IS ANOTHER OPPORTUNITY TO WIN!!

5) PARTICIPATION AT ALL BLOGS IS RECOMMENDED, BUT NOT REQUIRED. REMEMBER, THE MORE BLOGS YOU HOP, THE BETTER YOUR CHANCES OF WINNING PRIZES. EVERY AUTHOR & BOOK PAGE IS WAITING TO MEET AND INTERACT WITH YOU, SO PLEASE BE SURE TO SHOW THEM SOME LOVE!

6) DID I MENTION TO HAVE FUN? WHOO! HOO!! HERE WE GOOOOOOOOOOOO:





>Photobucket

Once I get 100 followers, I will be giving away the following books; Swallowing Darkness by Laurell K. Hamilton & The Vampire's Bride by Gena Showalter.

The Vampire's Bride (Gena Showalter's Atlantis Series #4)
Swallowing Darkness (Meredith Gentry Series #7)

Rules & Instructions:

1. Follow my Blog
2. Tweet about Giveaway (post link in comment section, along with twitter name)



Click on the linky & follow other blogs to win more awesomeness: Enchanted Muse Blog Hop Tours



Continue Reading...

9.16.2011

Book Blogger Hop #2 (9/16-9/19)

Book Blogger Hop

a weekly meme hosted by Jennifer @ Crazy for Books
This weeks question:


As a book blogger, how do you introduce yourself in your profile?


check out my About Me (SexxyBlogger) link. I'm was never one to write or say much about myself & when I did this page, I wanted to stick with what my blog is about & what genre's I'm reading & reviewing. And you know, have a little fun while I doing it. Let me know what you think...

Lata Days...muah!
Thanks for stopping by!

Continue Reading...

18 & Over Book Blog Follow - #3





18 & Over Book Blogger Follow is a weekly feature that begins on Fridays & runs thru the weekend, hosted by Crystal from Reading Between the Wines & Kelly at Secrets of a Book Lover.
The objective is to find & visit other book blogs that share the same interest as you, namely books geared towards the older crowd and of course to make new friends.


Question of the week:
What are you reading? You'll see several in my sidebar, but top of the list is below:





Lata Days...muah!
Thanks so much for stopping by!
Continue Reading...

Follow My Book Blog Friday - #3



A weekly meme hosted by Parajunkee's view & Alison Can Read

this week's question:


Q. It's that pesky magic book fairy again! She has another wish: What imaginary book world would you like to make a reality?


hmmm.....I love Harry Dresden's world, his is all dark wizards, murderous & sexxy vampires, dark fairies and all sorts of other wickedly bad creatures. Yeah...I have a warped mind like that sometimes.

Lata Days...muah! 
thanks for stopping by!
Continue Reading...

About

Brazen Babe Reviews begin its inception in the Year of Our Lord 2014. It's the brain child of two bloggers Ana (Beach Bum Reviews) and Sharonda (SalaciousReads). Here in our lovely little corner of the inter-web, we will share our love of pop culture which will encompass books, movies, TV, make-up and you know life...

Sooo...Relax, have a glass of wine (or whatever your poison is) sit back and enjoy!

*Note, we are currently not accepting Review Requests.

Instagram