10.30.2011

Small Blogs Big Giveaways 4 - WINNERS ANNOUNCED!

Hi All,

The winners have been announced for the SBBG 4 Giveaway...YAY! Please click on the link below for further details. I had FUN FUN in this giveaway....Congratulations to the winners!

Small Blogs Big Giveaways 4-WINNERS


Lata Days...MUAH!
Sharonda (SexxyBlogger)

Continue Reading...

The Cat Letters: Review & Giveaway

Hi All!

How is your weekend ending? Good I hope! First on today's agenda! is my review of The Cat Letters by Lexis DeRothschild:

The Cat Letters: A Tale of Longing, Adventure and True Love
Published May 18, 2011 by the Author (Lexis DeRothschild)
65 pgs (Novella)

From Goodreads:
A woman from Nantucket finds herself writing to her cat when she leaves her married lover by sailing to the Caribbean.


My Review:
A fun and wonderful read. "Me" a bartender who is lives in Nantucket writes letters to her cat Baxter about the daily goings on in her life. While trying to get over the break up of her affair with a married man, she sails away to the Caribbean. 
I thought this story was good and very well written. There was so much humor in it and I enjoyed it immensely. I love "me" throughout the book. She was tough, funny and smart. The Nantucket and Caribbean background was the perfect setting for the story as well. I think readers will fall in love with authors story of love lost and gained again.
I rate this one 4 Black Orchids!




Okay...so now for the Giveaway! and the Winner is Darlene! Yes my dear, you are my 200th follower (THANK YoU!). You've won the book I reviewed above  & the "Bitch" Mug (Gain, please don't take that personal...lol) I'll be emailing you shortly for more details!


THE CAT LETTERS. A novella. Coffee Mug.


Lata Days...MUAH!
Sharonda (SexxyBlogger)
Continue Reading...

10.27.2011

Dirty Little Secret #6



Dirty Little Secret is a weekly meme hosted by us at Under the Covers. Every Thursday we get to know other bloggers and our readers more intimately by asking them a question hoping to reveal their dirty little secrets.  We hope that you will all join us!


This week's question:



"If you could shape shift into anything, what would it be?"

I would shift into a werewolf. I love them (one of my many obsessions...). I will be all white & furry, cute...but I'll eat you up as soon as you make the wrong move...

Lata Days...MUAH!
Sharonda (SexxyBlogger)
Continue Reading...

10.26.2011

200th Follower Giveaway



I'm almost at 200 followers...yeah me!

So I have decided to do a giveaway to celebrate!
On Oct 30th, I will giveaway The Cat Letters (eBook) & The "Bitch" mug to the 200th follower. (A wonderfully awesome Thank You to Lexis De Rothschild for offering these fab items).

Thecatletters.jpg

Lata Days...MUAH!
Sharonda (SexxyBlogger)
Continue Reading...

10.25.2011

Review: The Darkest Surrender

The Darkest Surrender  (Lords of the Underworld, #8)


From Goodreads:
Possessed by the demon of Defeat, Strider cannot lose a challenge without suffering unimaginable pain. For him, nothing stands in the way of victory. Until Kaia, an enchanting Harpy, tempts him to the razor's edge of surrender.Known among her people as The Disappointment, Kaia must bring home the gold in the Harpy Games or die. Strider is a distraction she can't afford because he has an agenda of his own-steal first prize, an ancient godly artifact, before the winner can be named. But as the competition heats up, only one prize will matter-the love neither had thought possible...


My Review:
Definitely one of the better books in this series. Strider & Kaia were the perfect couple...I mean literally they were written for each other. 
Stride who is possessed by the demon Defeat cannot loose a challenge without going through much suffering. And my o' my did Kaia challenge him in this installment of LOTU. I necessarily didn't care for Strider in some of LOTU books I read...thought he was a little cocky & yeah he still is (as he would say...ego check) But you got to know more about him and his feelings towards Kaia. 
Kaia, a harpy looking to redeem herself to her people after an incident that involved herself as a child is invited to the  Harpy games, along with her sisters and a couple of allies after being banned for centuries.  As she fights her way through the games, she must go through her own challenges (namely keeping Strider from distracting her as she competes & finally gaining her mother's love & respect). 
I also thought there was a lot going on this book too. I like hearing about the other couples & warriors while I'm reading a book, but I don't want read TOO much about them. I want the story to stay on the main characters and as much as I enjoyed reading this story, I don't think (in my opinion) this book did that enough. 
This one gets 4 Black Orchids...














Lata Days...MUAH!
Sharonda (SexxyBlogger)
Continue Reading...

Happy Release Day!



Got Adam on my NOOK today....Holla!



Happy Reading!

Lata Days...MUAH!
Sharonda (SexxyBlogger)
Continue Reading...

Sexy Snippet #1 & Teaser Tuesday #3

ReadingBetweentheWinesBookClub

Sexy Snippets is hosted by Reading Between the Wines and Secrets of a Book Lover. For the 18+ crowd... To join in just grab the button, post a sexy paragraph or two from your current read and share the author & title so other participants can add the book to their TBR list if they like. Then head back over RBTW or SOABL to add your post to the linky &  have a sexy good time!


My Snippet this week is from The Darkest Surrender by Gena Showalter
"Yours, Never should have resisted you." Predatory growls sprang from low in his throat. His free hand slammed into the wall behind him, right beside his thigh, cracking the crystal. He hit again. Split. Again. Shatter. All that intensity....all for her...." (Good gravy...now that...THAT is intense!)





Teaser Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by MizB @ Should be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!
My Teaser:
Surrender the Dark by L.A. Banks
"Dawn kissed the windows and entered by bedroom with rose-orange glory. A profound peace filled Celeste as she lay beneath an angel's wings and watched the horizon change before her eyes. Now she understood why the brothers had chosen this high building with windows all around. She couldn't imagine the many dawns they'd seen during the millennia they'd been marooned here, or what golden memories still called out to them from beyond the sun".

Lata Days...MUAH!
Sharonda (SexxyBlogger)
Continue Reading...

10.24.2011

#WWReadathon - Wonderfully Wicked Read-A-Thon



So read-a-thon is over...awww! Kudos to the hosts, Kindle Fever and My Shelf Confessions for coming with this awesome challenge. 


Below are the books I read over the weekend. I have read any scary books since high school, so this challenge was just to good to pass up. 


Obsessed by Fiona Dodwell
Monster by McCarty Griffin
The Darkest Surrender by Gena Showalter


Lata Days...MUAH!
Sharonda (SexxyBlogger)
Continue Reading...

WINNER: SPOOK-A-LICIOUS: WHERE BOO-KS DEVOUR YOU BLOG HOP TOUR (OCT 17-24)

Hi Everyone!

Okay another big THANK YOU to everyone that stopped by & entered this fabulous spooky giveaway....

And the winner is:
Nylesor @ nylesor85(at)yahoo(dot)com



Contact me in 48 hours or another winner will be chosen!

Sharonda (SexxyBlogger)
Continue Reading...

Monday Reads #5



Hi Everyone & welcome to my Monday Reads!

Right now I'm enjoying The Darkest Surrender by Gena Showalter (LOVING IT!)


okey doke...I'm a sucker for Strider. I didn't care for him in the other Lords books, but man do I love this man. And Kaia, well what can I say about a kick ass harpie...yeah, nothing, because she is just made of awesomeness (her words, not mine...lol!)

What is your Monday Read...comment below & share!

Sharonda (SexxyBlogger)
Continue Reading...

Winner: SPOOK-A-LICIOUS: WHERE BOO-KS DEVOUR YOU BLOG HOP TOUR (OCT 17-24)

Hi All,

The Spook-a-licious blog hop is now CLOSED & I will be announcing a winner shortly. Keep your heads attached! lol!

Sharonda (SexxyBlogger)
Continue Reading...

10.23.2011

Review: Monster Story by McCarty Griffin

Monster Story

From Goodreads:
Christy McCauley has returned to West Virginia at last, but her homecoming quickly turns into a surreal nightmare. In the deep hollows and woods of rural Augusta County, something unspeakable is slaughtering people in the dark of night. Authorities don't know if its human or animal, or how to stop it. Christy and her friends only know they must hunt it and destroy it, before it kills again.


My Review:
Christy McCauley returns home for her grandmothers funeral and finds out that she's not just dealing with her & her mother's almost non-existing relationship. She and her friends finds out there is a monster walking around in their small West Virginia town and it's wreaking havoc. 
This one gets 4 Black Orchids. There were some typos throughout the book, but it didn't take away from the story, which was solid and the characters were strong. This is a great scary story and I enjoyed it immensely. 


















Lata Days...MUAH!
Continue Reading...

Weekly Follow Up.....



That's me up there, reflecting my work.....

So this week was a cyclone of things to do. There was too much to do & really no time to get it all done (this is the story of my life...lol). So after going to traffic court, then motor vehicles (now that's a horror story on its own..) and then also try to update my blog with review & contest/giveaways I'm a part of....and oh yeah, squeezing work in there too ;0.....whew! I'm beat.

A new week is approaching & hopefully with a little more time management regiments, I'll be able to get through with a little more effectiveness.

Lata Days...MUAH!

Continue Reading...

10.22.2011

Small Blogs Big Giveaways 4


Small Blogs Big Giveaways 4

The Biggest International Bookish Giveaway Online

62 prizes split between 5 winners + 6 Gift Card Giveaways!



This is what SBBG is all about…
The event is organized by@ReadingRomances and happens once a month! The 4th edition is from October 22nd to October 29th:
there are 15 featured authors ,17 hosts, over 60 prizes, 3 prize winners and 5 giftcard winners! You can follow the event on twitter and to know more about it through the blog:http://smallblogsbiggiveaways.blogspot.com/ 

I'm so happy to be a part of this event (my 1st...yeah me!). I'll be giving away a $15 Barnes & Noble eGift Card (US & Int'l)

Thank you to our featured authors:
Talia Jager | Fiona Lowe | Jenn LeBlanc | Donna AlwardChristy Hayes|Gail BarrettLorhainne Eckhart | Sarah Ballance | Sandy Wolters | Hazel Osmond | *Bianca Swann | *Natasha Blackthorne | *Barbara Monajem |*Kate Hewitt Wendi Zwaduk


Continue Reading...

10.20.2011

Dirty Little Secret #4



Dirty Little Secret is a weekly meme hosted by us at Under the Covers. Every Thursday we get to know other bloggers and our readers more intimately by asking them a question hoping to reveal their dirty little secrets.  We hope that you will all join us!

To participate in the meme all you need to do is:

1. Be a follower of Under the Covers.
2. Create a post in your blog taking the meme image (code above) and copy instructions.
3. Answer the question we propose! This can be done in any way you like, post a video, write a post etc.
4. link back to Under the Covers..

Non-bloggers: We want to hear from you as well!!!  Let us know your answer in the comments!

So join us and let us know your Dirty Little Secrets!



"You have been viciously attacked, but then saved by the tall, dark vampire of your dreams; however, he has had to change you into one of the blood sucking denziens of the night to save your life. After realizing that your favourite snack is now going to be a sip of O negative, what food do you begin to think you will lose your immortality for?"


I mean I wouldn't mind being turned into a vamp. Hmmm, especially if Lothaire was to change me... BUUUTTT to answer the question, it would be Twizzlers...yes ppl Twizzlers. I ABSOLUTELY love them! I can eat an whole pack in under 2 mins (yep..I've done it before)....
Continue Reading...

10.17.2011

Monday Reads #4



Monday is upon us once again.. It starts off the work week (ugh!), but it also starts another week of wonderful books that we're starting....

Below are the books I'm reading this week, along with a couple of books I'm reviewing... so what about you? comment & share your Monday reads!



Lata Days...MUAH!
Continue Reading...

SPOOK-A-LICIOUS: WHERE BOO-KS DEVOUR YOU BLOG HOP TOUR (OCT 17-24)

Welcome my Sweets...hee!...hee! All Hallows Eve will soon be upon us. Won't you join myself & my fellow brethren for the Spook-A-Licious Blog Hop Tour.....


I'll be giving away the following goodies:

Monster Story by McCarty Griffin (eBook; ePub version)...A BIG thank you to McCarty for offering this wonderfully scary read!!!
Monster Story
 &
A $10 Barnes & Noble eGift Card
eGift Card Image - Style: Congratulations

This giveaway will be US & Intl.
Instructions: All you have to do is Follow this blog & Tweet about the giveaway (leave direct link in comments section)
**Also, please be sure to click on the link below to visit my fellow bloggers to win some more awesome treats! Fill your Halloween bag UP!


okay, Michael Mhyers is like the scariest boogie man I've ever seen. So here's a little bit of him to enjoy...er I mean fear!
Continue Reading...

10.16.2011

In My Mailbox #4












A weekly meme hosted by The Story Siren.

The week I purchased a couple of eBooks for my NOOK.

Adam by Jacquelyn Frank (Pre-Order)
Pub Date: 11/1/11
Adam (Nightwalkers Series #6) by Jacquelyn Frank: Book Cover
 &

Halfway to the Grave by Jeaniene Frost (been dying to get this one because I heard such good things about the book)
Pub Date: 9/20/11
Halfway to the Grave with Bonus Material: A Night Huntress Novel by Jeaniene Frost: NOOK Book Cover
*Barnes & Noble has a great sale on the eBook w/bonus material ($1.99)

Lata Days...MUAH!
Continue Reading...

10.15.2011

Review: Craved


Author: Stephanie Nelson
Pub Date: July 2011
Pages: 264 (paperback)

From Barnes & Noble:
Gwen Sparks holds a rare power. She can see into the memories of the dead. When she learns that vampires are killing witches for the power in their blood and selling it as the new hot drug, brew, she'll have to team up with her ex-boyfriend, detective Micah Reynolds to catch the murderer. As if working with her ex wasn't bad enough, Gwen's also being pulled into the realm of death by an unsettled ghost and has to deal with a sexy but frustrating vampire who wants nothing more than to claim her as his. Can Gwen protect her heart, and her veins from the very species that craves her?

Review:
Good story plot and strong character development. The plot was good and I really drawn into the story (finished it in 2 days) from the beginning. I thought the story was good all the way through (up until the end of the book) and I enjoyed the story relationship between Gwen and Adien. But I also thought Gwen was a bit hard headed and was too emotional through some parts of the book. There were also some inconsistencies in the story that I just didn't get. For instance, I just didn't understand how they catch unto Ian and how he was able to get away. I just felt some parts of the story was rushed through & not explained enough.

All & all this one gets 4 Black Orchids.

Lata Days...MUAH!
Continue Reading...

About

Brazen Babe Reviews begin its inception in the Year of Our Lord 2014. It's the brain child of two bloggers Ana (Beach Bum Reviews) and Sharonda (SalaciousReads). Here in our lovely little corner of the inter-web, we will share our love of pop culture which will encompass books, movies, TV, make-up and you know life...

Sooo...Relax, have a glass of wine (or whatever your poison is) sit back and enjoy!

*Note, we are currently not accepting Review Requests.

Instagram