1.31.2012

My Book Boyfriend Giveaway Hop (Feb 1st - Feb 5th)

ReadingBetweentheWinesBookClub


My Book Boyfriend Giveaway Hop Hosted is by Reading Between the Wines Book Club & As the Pages Turn Giveaway. The hop will run from 12:01 AM February 1st through to 11:59 PM February 5th, 2012.

What better way to celebrate the month of LOVE then with your favorite book boyfriend? Whether you have a valentine or not, the swoon worthy heroes we find in romances can’t be matched anyway! So why not put on those naughty underwear and curl up with one of these steamy reads this year instead? Make you Valentine’s Day perfect by joining the My Book Boyfriend Giveaway Hop where fellow bloggers offer you the chance to win some of their favorite book boyfriends!

Ok...I'm a book slut. Almost every book I read, I'm lusting after the man....or maybe several of the men in the book. I can't help it and Lord! don't let him be a tortured male. Then it's worst, I'm thinking of ways to make him better and on the sly, thinking of ways I would love him waaayyy betta than that woman in the book is....lol! So are you a lustful woman or man when you're reading? are you fantasizing about your main character? If not...why not? where's your imagination. Go ahead and use it ;) and use it salaciously!

Enter the Rafflecopter below for your chances to win a $15 book of your choice through The Book Depository (this contest is international).

Below are pics of some of my fav Book Boyfriends...what do you think?
There's Eric (TrueBlood), Alicide (TrueBlood), Vishous (BDB), Rio(Midnight Breed), Brock (Midnight Breed), Wraith (Demonica) and well Dwayne Johnson (The Rock) is just there because he can be my boyfriend in a book, movie...whateva!



Make sure you stop by the other blogs in this wonderfully lustful hop to see what other Book Boyfriends are out there...Oh wait, there are awesome prizes too!

I know my post is narrow, so if you can't see all of the names in the list below, please click on the link for Reading Between the Wines too!






a Rafflecopter giveaway


Lata Days...MUAH!
Sharonda (SexxyBlogger)

Continue Reading...

1.30.2012

Author Guest Blog: Carrie Salo

Hosted by Bewitching Book Tours, today I so graciously welcome Carrie Salo. She will take over today...

Hello SexxyBlogger followers! My name is Carrie Salo, and this is the first day of a month long online tour for me. I really appreciate this invitation into your computers, i-pads or smart phones (and thereby your offices, kitchens, and bedrooms!).

Let me begin by telling you a little bit about myself. I consider myself to be a storyteller – a weaver of intriguing tales. As a storyteller, I like to keep my reader on the edge of their seat (or up all night), reveal unexpected plot twists, and completely take you away from your everyday through character development. I tend to heavily lean towards the supernatural thriller – which means, if you have read anything from me and you weren’t pretty scared, I didn’t do my job. Besides being an avid reader of thrillers and many other genres, I credit my writing to a classical education as an English major at an ivy league university. That education helps me bring together dark creativity with a very careful writing style. When I write a story, I want everything – the plot, the characters, the settings, the writing and the research – to work together seamlessly. I never want the reader to see what’s going on “behind the curtain.” For me, it’s all about taking you away for some deep thrills.

But, I wouldn’t be telling you very much about myself if I didn’t tell you about my novel. The Sounding is a supernatural thriller about an early Armageddon. But unlike a lot of Armageddon pop culture out there currently – which feature zombies, vampires or even natural disaster – The Sounding is based in real history and real prophecy. It gets its plot from Jewish and Catholic theology. It centers on the final prophecy in the book of Revelation and how events in today’s world might bring that prophecy to early fulfillment. A band of characters joins together to protect the prophecy, including one character with the holy ability to steal energy with a single touch. But, just as this guardian is sent by God to keep His plan in place, a dark and evil force sent by the devil himself is set on hunting them one by one and bringing the end of days upon us.

Since this IS a SexxyBlogger blog, you might be wondering where to find the sexiness in a novel grounded in religion? While I do use real prophecy to make the story that much more chilling, The Sounding is not without heat. The delicate relationship between Father Chris – a priest working to keep the prophecies in order – and Elise – the guardian sent by God himself – is one of the things that makes The Sounding the most haunting. Clearly forbidden to be anything but professional allies, and yet forced together under incredible circumstances, the two flirt with the forbidden. Their relationship is one of the most human parts of the story, and one of the things I am most proud of as a writer. When everything in the world is about to die, is it really worth resisting love?

You’ll have to let me know after you give The Sounding a read…


A big round of salacious applause for Carrie...that was awesome and so is the sounding. Be sure to catch my review later today. Let me tell, you book is good from the first page to the last. In the meantime, enjoy the book except below:

Lorenze strapped his uniform on, knowing where every clasp and buckle fell exactly. Still, something about it felt foreign: he had not worn it in several days. Several very, very long days.
The red, blue and yellow stripes that Michelangelo designed for the guard centuries earlier: many men fell under those colors. He knew their names by heart. And he promised to join them if called to…
…Lorenze propelled himself to the other side of the room where the society had left a small stockpile of weapons. He pulled out the sniper’s rifle case and its box of bullets. With hard clicks, he opened the case to see that all was in order. The parts gleamed and winked at him in the light like so many eyes.
More gently, Lorenze lifted the sight from the case. It was heavy to his hand. He put it to his eye and some miniscule scratch in the floor became like a canyon.

Thou shalt not kill. Lorenze smirked and put the sight down. Thou shalt not kill unless God asks you to. Thou shalt not kill unless God needs you to.
Lorenze closed the case. He surveyed the room, looked again at the uniform. He only had a few minutes left. He knelt to pray.

But what was there to pray for? Should he pray for their lives, for their safety? Could he ask that God grant them success on a murder mission? Should he pray for time or protection, or just for the world not to die?
In the end with his last few minutes, Lorenze prayed for the soul of another assassin. One who also betrayed innocence for the greater good. Remiel had, after all, been right – they were in common with a certain other fallen disciple. And so, with his eyes squeezed shut,Lorenze prayed for mercy for Judas Iscariot. For if Judas – that tool of fate led to betray history’s most innocent man – was able to find God’s forgiveness, perhaps so might he.

The sounding is available at:
Available at Amazon print, Kindle and Barnes and Noble

View the book trailer: http://youtu.be/K4Pp8F3A298.

Lata Days...MUAH!
Sharonda (SexxyBlogger)
Continue Reading...

1.28.2012

Review: We Shall Rise

Part of the Bewitching Book Tours Interview with JE, here's my review.

Book Blurb:

War surrounds him, yet for vampire Kaden Gaspard, there is no greater battle than the one his mind has waged against his heart. He knows he should stay away from her. Reysa. The half-breed vampire warrior who had risked her life to prove his innocence for the seven murders for which he was accused, but had not committed. This stubbornly loyal woman who dedicated her life to her family of misfits - immortals shunned and abandoned by their clans for their impurity of blood and genetic mutations. This courageous and valiant African warrior who Kaden fears could never love the monster that he is destined to be.

As Kaden and Reysa struggle to accept the undeniable bond between them, they must come together to stop the emerging terror that threatens to destroy all immortals. The lesser immortals – witches, sages, shifters, demons, hybrids, charmers and foreseers – have declared war against the pureblood vampires and lycans who have used their purity of blood and greater strength to enslave the weaker races. No immortal is safe. This is a fight for freedom and a fight against genocide. There can be no true victor as death looms for them all.

Amazon Kindle

Amazon Paperback

Barnes and Noble

Smashwords

About the Author:
J.E. Hopkins is a practicing attorney in New York and an avid fiction writer. Hopkins holds a Juris Doctor from St. John's University and a Bachelor of Arts from New York University.

J.E. Hopkins published her first novel, The Broken, in 2007. She subsequently published her first paranormal romance of the Misfits of the Lore Series, Lover's Betrayal, in 2011.

For more information about this author and upcoming works, please visit www.jehopkinsauthor.com

My Review:

Ok, this one started off a little slow to me, but gradually picked up. What I liked most about this book was the kick ass attitude of Reysa and her love for her family and friends. She was a strong female character and I enjoyed that.
Kaden was something else entirely. He was selfish and really didn't care for anyone else other than himself. But there was a reason for it. Abused by his father as a child and he doesn't trust most people.
The story between Kaden and Reysa starts in the first book in the series, which is about Kaden's mom. Reysa helps his mom get over a deadly drug addiction. From there Kaden wants her...badly and realizes that she is his mate. The problem is that he afraid of becoming his father. Reysa has a family to take care of. She has an adopted daughter with her childhood friend Chris in their home in New Orleans. With the ever growing threat of war between the purebreds and half-breeds, she can't deal with Kaden and his issues.
Like I said, love the story. There was a whole lot of sexual tension between Kaden and Reysa and OMG, did they both fight it. I was getting impatient, but when they did do the "do" there are sparks. Some things, I didn't like was the constant complaints against Kaden. It grated on my nerves and I didn't like it. I think the male and female leads should be equal in a story and I didn't get that in this one. I kind of thought Kaden was beat up on in the story an that turned me off.

I did like the strong relationships between everyone in the book. I thought the story was very well written and there was a lot of history in the pages, a good romance story and a kick ass action (for Reysa).
I'll be reading the third book in the series because I'm so anxious to find out about Kaden's brother Julian (who worked my nerves too). I also want to finish finding out about the war about to brew between the purebreds and half-breeds.

Loved the story and it characters and absolutely love that the main couple were interracial. I think there are very stories out there and I enjoyed reading this one. It was a good read.

My Rating

5 Black Orchids

Lata Days...MUAH!
Sharonda (SexxyBlogger)
Continue Reading...

Author interview: J.E. Hopkins

Hosted by Bewitching Book Tours, today I'll talking to J. E. Hopkins about her book We Shall Rise, the 2nd book in the Misfits of the Lore Series.

Please tell us about yourself J. E.?

I am a native New Yorker who could never live anywhere else. I just adore NY, especially the craziness of Manhattan. I am a lawyer by day, writer by night. I have been practicing law for about ten years now and although it has its ups and downs, I absolutely love being a lawyer. I equally enjoy being a writer which is a passion I’ve had since I was a child. To be able to realize both passions is such a blessing.

Can you give us a little background on the series Misfits of the Lore?

We Shall Rise is the second novel in my Misfits of the Lore Series. The first book, Lover’s Betrayal sets the stage for this series. Lover’s Betrayal involves a vampire couple, Olivia and Lucian, who were forced to separate for nearly two centuries, but are reunited with the task of solving a series of grisly killings, as the prime suspect is Olivia's son, Kaden. Olivia married Lucian’s enemy and bore him to sons, Kaden and Julian. It is this contentious brotherly relationship that plays a major role in Lover’s Betrayal as well as We Shall Rise.

In the course of proving Kaden’s innocence, there is a discovery of a drug, mescah, that is being used to destroy pureblood vampires and lycans. The drug was devised by witches and sages who are declaring war against the pureblood vampires and lycan who have used their purity of blood and greater strength to enslave the weaker immortals, including hybrids, shifters, demons, witches, sages, charmers and foreseers. The weaker races are uniting against the tyranny of the purebloods and mescah is their declaration of war.
We Shall Rise marks the beginning of this immortal race war, but underlying this plot is a burgeoning romance between Kaden and a half breed vampire, Reysa, who helped save Kaden’s life and prove his innocence in Lover’s Betrayal. Neither Kaden nor Reysa wants to embrace the bond growing between them. Kaden is still wrestling with the demons from the past caused primarily by his destructive and violent relationship with his father. Reysa is focused on creating a safe haven for her fellow immortal misfits who like her were rejected for their impurity by their clans, but have found a home among Reysa’s Misfits of the Lore.
It’s a series about love in the midst of war.

I love the idea of this series...the weak rising against the strong. What or whom inspired it?

History inspired it for me. I am a total history geek and I love stories about war and the reasons people decide to resort to violence to justify their ends. Like any war, no side is purely good or purely evil. Even those with righteous motivations can be corrupted. War seems to bring out the worst in both sides. Race and class wars are an unfortunate hallmark of history and I wanted to explore these concepts
within the paranormal world.

We Shall Rise is the second book and the series, do we get to look forward to more books in this series?

Absolutely. I am working on the next book now. I would like to do at least five for this series, but I want to be careful and avoid exhausting the series by keeping it going too long. I would hate to ruin it by ending it too late.

Very few stories are out there with an interracial couple and I love that you did this why did you decide to make your characters interracial?

In many ways, this series is about race, yet for immortals race has nothing to do with skin color. Skin color is a human obsession, as it unfortunately is in the real world for some people. For immortals, race is defined by genetics and the purity of one’s blood. That contrast is something I wanted to explore. There are so many different aspects to diversity whether it is racial, cultural, age, gender, religious etc. As an African-American woman, I am particularly interested in that dynamic.
So what is Kaden and Reysa's story? What make them the perfect couple?
Reysa understands Kaden in a way that others cannot. She stands up to him and doesn’t take his crap. She is forceful, strong and loyal—all traits that Kaden needs in a mate to help him battle his inner demons that cause him to lash out against those he loves. Reysa is tough enough to love the good and the bad in Kaden. For Kaden, as someone who doesn’t believe he deserves to be loved, it is even more important for him to have someone stubborn enough to love him even when he does everything possible to destroy it.

Can we find out whose book will be next in the series?

Sure. Julian’s book is next but it’s a tough road for him. There are a lot of obstacles ahead and no simple solutions. Love is no easy road for him. He’s in the midst of a love triangle. It’s a volatile situation that will definitely combust in his book.

Writers have always wanted to write, but you're also a lawyer. How do you balance the two? And will you start to write full-time?

Balancing the two is really challenging. I love both and have no desire to sacrifice one for the other, but it’s hard juggling these professions. The downside is that I cannot write as often as I would like. I try to make the most of my time although I never seem to have enough. There may be a time where I’m ready to give up being a lawyer, but that’s many, many years away. For now, the juggling act continues.

When you write, which do you prefer, quiet? Or noise?

I prefer quiet where I can get lost in the story. I need to picture it so that I can write it.

What do you like to do when in your spare time?

I am a huge sports fan so I spend countless hours watching football, tennis, soccer and many other sports. I also love photography. I wish I had more time to devote to that passion. I’m also a big fan of traveling and I try to go on at least two nice vacations a year. That’s when I get most of my writing done. There’s something very inspiring about being in a foreign country and culture.

Are you currently reading any books?

I have a long commute to work so I use that time to read a lot. My reading selection is all over the place. Sometimes I want a simple Harlequin romance. Other times, I want Stephen King or some tear-jerking nonfiction novel about war survivors or the crisis in Africa. I just downloaded Lara Adrian’s new book, Darker After Midnight, and I am very much looking forward to reading it. I love her Midnight Breed Series. Kresley Cole’s latest, Lothaire, is next on my list after that one.

I really love this interview, very insightful and I thank JE for stopping by and joining me today.

Be sure to catch my review later today on We Shall Rise.

Lata Days....MUAH!
Sharonda (SexxyBlogger)
Continue Reading...

1.27.2012

Weekly Blog Song is Up

I love Beyonce! and I thought this song just went with all of the books I've been reading lately. All of the women in had their mans back or visa versa. You tell 'em B! Lata Days! MUAH! Sharonda (SexxyBlogger)
Continue Reading...

Author Promotional Spotlight & Giveaway: LJ DeLeon

Hosted by Bewitching Book tours, today my salacious spotlight shines on LJ Deleon...take a look...


WARRIOR’S RISE (Warriors for Light, Book 1)

For Fae-human half-breed Deva Morgan, life as she knows it changes on her thirtieth birthday. One moment she’s a barkeep, the next she is a warrior fated to save Earth from the Dark Lord and his demon horde. Shunned by both her races, she faces a danger-filled quest with few allies. Too bad her powers haven’t fully emerged or stabilized.

For Deva it is life or death, on-the-job training with her companion, Padraig O’Neal, a Fae warrior with a shadowed past. Can he quiet the storm raging inside her, help her harness the growing power within her, and provide a barrier between Deva and a fatal outcome? Will their love be enough to save Deva and stop the Dark Lord’s demons from entering Earth?


WARRIOR’S RISE Excerpt:

Padraig ignored the snarling werewolf in front of him, the throbbing beat of ‘70’s rock, the whirling of the ceiling fan, and scanned the near-empty bar. No human norms present. Good, it made his job easier, cleaner.
His gaze locked onto the woman behind the aged mahogany counter. She was beautiful, almost ethereal. Strange, considering she was about six feet and all angles. Even her face was a series of planes. Yet it all fit together in a unique, mesmerizing image.
Inhaling, he filtered out the residual odor of norms and their stale cigarette smoke. Her scent of summer with just a hint of wisteria, drew him, enveloped him, singed him with the heat of her presence.
Her bored expression didn’t hide the quick assessing look in her cool hazel eyes, then dismissal.
Damn it to the Abyss. Her icy disdain combined with the unfamiliar pull of her sensuality were complications he did not need.
Not now. Not ever.

Amazon http://www.amazon.com/Warriors-Rise-Light-Book-ebook/dp/B004T39Y88/
B&N http://search.barnesandnoble.com/Warriors-Rise/LJ-DeLeon/e/2940012338020/
ARe http://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-warrior039srise-528182-140.html
Smashwords http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/48517

DRAGON CHILD (Warriors for Light, Book 2)


A fire-breathing dragon, Moira O'Neal, was exchanged at birth for a Fae princess. Discovering the truth, she escapes the cage of the royal court and joins forces with the sexiest wereleopard on Earth. She fights the urge to mate and the trap that comes with it as they race against time to find the missing princess and a master of the black arts who covets her power.

Major Steve Taylor, a wereleopard in the Army For Light, partners with the impetuous Moira in the middle a dangerous mission where failure means all their deaths. Worse, his leopard decides Moira is his mate, leaving the man at war with his cat.

DRAGON CHILD Excerpt

Never one to ignore a warning, she inched forward, preparing to make her escape. The door opened and Ma entered followed by Major Steve Taylor, a wereleopard visiting from Earth.
Moira shivered at the sight of the tall, lean, hard-muscled warrior’s unflinching moss-green stare. His scent of laurel and crisp mountain air mixed with a hint of musk wafted over her, exciting every nerve ending. It drew her, enveloped her, melted her where she sat. Good thing she’d never gotten this close to him at her brother and Deva’s wedding. She inhaled again. Goddess help her, she would have fallen at his feet and made a fool of herself.
Moira gnawed on her lower lip. What was it about this hard, closed-off Were? What made her look twice at him when no other male triggered her interest?
A second later, a guard in the hall pulled the door shut, sealing them inside.
Moira eased back into her corner and prayed she escaped discovery. They couldn’t see her, but she could observe and hear everything from her location. . . .
He placed a finger to his lips and scanned the room. His eyes phased to those of a leopard, fitting seamlessly into his human face—unblinking, soft grass green with a narrowed black iris. His mouth opened slightly, his tongue pressed against his teeth, as if tasting the air. His head made small abrupt movements, taking in the room.
Moira’s eyes widened at his mouthed, “We aren’t alone.”
She froze as he turned and prowled toward her. Damn his wereleopard nose. She squeezed her eyes shut and prayed to the Goddess with every cell in her being she were invisible.
Goose bumps broke out all over her body. The air in front of her stilled. Nothing moved. Only his scent touched her.
He’d found her.
She opened her eyes and stared into his. Her chest constricted with dread. He stood, fully alert, feet planted directly in front of her. If he’d been in cat form, she suspected his ears would tip forward to catch the slightest breath. Whiskers would twitch, testing for any change in the air.

Amazon http://www.amazon.com/Dragon-Child-Warriors-Light-ebook/dp/B004THDM6Y/
B&N http://search.barnesandnoble.com/Dragon-Child/LJ-DeLeon/e/2940012342584/
ARe http://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-dragonchild-529004-140.html
Smashwords http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/49045


ABSOLUTION (Warriors for Light, Book 3)


He did the unforgivable. Druid Lucan Woods killed his surrogate father and best friend for the greater good. Wracked with guilt, he infiltrates a brotherhood of evil, hoping the mission is one way. Absolution may come from a missing Fae Princess, if he will accept it. Or will he reject her love and use her as a pawn in his drive to destroy the leader of the brotherhood?

Fae Princess Alanna has just learned her twin daughters are alive. She leaves hIfreann to search Earth for them. Only she can touch Luc’s heart. But will he let her? Will he open his stained soul and allow her to enter in time to save them both?

ABSOLUTION Excerpt:

For a short interim, she had felt nothing from him and feared he had succeeded. Then his pain speared her heart and, when she had touched his mind, she learned he had been in Otherworld. That his life and soul survived was a balm. Now, in this room, his self-loathing dominated to a degree she’d never encountered or dealt with in her years as a healer.
His bleak devastation battered at her, driving her to her knees. Unable to bear his oppressive grief, she crawled to him, and curled her hands over his knees, forcing a touch, a rush of compassion, anything to save him. The reason didn’t matter, only the certainty that to do nothing, to allow him to be consumed, would be disastrous for both of them. He would suffer, as would she and her daughters.
He stared at the gun then sighed. “If you’re going to do it, Luc, get it over with.” He placed the weapon in his mouth, aimed up and back. His finger slid off the guard and onto the trigger.
No! She squeezed her fingers hard around his knees. Her hands didn’t pass through his flesh, despite their non-corporeal composition, reassuring her that she had gained complete control over traveling the astral plain.
Waves of energy rushed from her and enveloped him.
He stilled. Slowly he removed the weapon, his finger poised on the trigger.
She moved to the bed and eased behind him to cradle his head between her palms. She bent, her lips to his ear. It wasn’t your fault. Hear me, warrior. Do not burden yourself with this weight.
His gaze searched the room as he raised the weapon toward the door.
This wasn’t your fault.
“Wasn’t my fault? If not mine, then whose?” His voice rasped harsh and raw with pain.
He had heard her. She had time and a link to stop him. One she wouldn’t drop. Never again would she be this close to losing him. Nate’s death was due to manipulation by the parasite inside of him. He was an innocent caught in the crossfire. He would be saddened to have you lose your way like this. Please, I need you.

Amazon http://www.amazon.com/Absolution-Warriors-For-Light-ebook/dp/B0050D8OPU/
B&N http://search.barnesandnoble.com/books/e/2940012411082/
ARe http://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-absolution-547230-143.html
Smashwords https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/58695


Bio: Bestselling author, LJ DeLeon is an Army brat and a world-traveled former CIA Intelligence Analyst who has seen enough of this world to appreciate other worlds. Working for the CIA was great training for writing fantasy, paranormal, and futuristic romance--and understanding the warrior mentality--amazing how real life and fiction overlap. Honor: the ultimate seduction.

Contact information:
http://www.warriorsforlight.com

Now for the Giveaway...1 $25 gift card to be given away to one lucky winner- winner's choice of Amazon, ARe, or B&N gift card, so leave a comment for your chances to win!



Guys...leaves lot of comments..a sista could win a gift card too!

Lata Days...MUAH!
Sharonda (SexxyBlogger)
Continue Reading...

1.26.2012

Dirty Little Secret


Dirty Little Secret is a weekly meme hosted by us at Under the Covers. Every Thursday we get to know other bloggers and our readers more intimately by asking them a question hoping to reveal their dirty little secrets. We hope that you will all join us!
To participate in the meme all you need to do is:
1. Be a follower of Under the Covers.
2. Create a post in your blog taking the meme image, and copy instructions.
3. Answer the question we propose! This can be done in any way you like, post a video, write a post etc.
4. Then add your link.
Non-bloggers: We want to hear from you as well!!! Let us know your answer in the comments!

This weeks Question is...

In honor of the recent release of LOTHAIRE by Kresley Cole and our love of G.A. Aiken's Dragon Kin series, we want to know...
What moniker would you have if you lived in those worlds?

Sharonda the Bold....
strong, sexy, fierce and a ass for days...lol!



Lata Days....MUAH!
Sharonda (SexxyBlogger)
Continue Reading...

1.25.2012

Review Request: Blood & Bullets


Review requested by Author (James R Tuck)
Format: eBook (ARC)
Release Date: 02/07/2012
Kensington Books

Book Blurb:

He lives to kill monsters. He keeps his city safe. And his silver hollow-points and back-from-the-dead abilities help him take out any kind of supernatural threat. But now an immortal evil has this bad-ass bounty hunter dead in its sights. . .
Ever since a monster murdered his family, Deacon Chalk hunts any creature that preys on the innocent. So when a pretty vampire girl "hires" him to eliminate a fellow slayer, Deacon goes to warn him--and barely escapes a vampire ambush. Now he's got a way-inexperienced newbie hunter to protect and everything from bloodsuckers to cursed immortals on his trail. There's also a malevolent force controlling the living and the undead, hellbent on turning Deacon's greatest loss into the one weapon that could destroy him. . .

Availabile at
Amazon
Barnes & Noble

My Review:

This ain't your romantic vampire novel. This is exactly what the title says it is...it is blood and bullets. And I loved every word in the story. Theres a whole lot of gore, but a gal can't read romance all the time, right?
Meet Deacon Chalk, Bounty Hunter and he kills Vampires. Monsters as he calls and know them only to be. The vampires in his world are evil. Vampires killed his family and he wants them all dead.

This story was like reading a screen play for a movie. It was fast paced and the action started at the beginning all the way to the end! A bounty has been placed on Deacon's head and he uses what he does best to find out who and why. There is a great supporting cast here as well and Mr Tuck leaves out no details. Everything and everyone in this story is explained to the T, you are never left guessing...hell, Deacon won't let you. And his take in how vampires were created...just mind blowing. You have to get this book, trust me, it will be worth it.

I will definitely be reading more of Deacon Chalk and more books from this author. He has opened up a whole new world to me and I LIKE IT!

My Rating
5 Black Orchids
Photobucket

Lata Days...MUAH!
Sharonda (SexxyBlogger)

Continue Reading...

1.24.2012

Sexy Snippets




Tuesdays have never been so sexy!
Sexy Snippets is a weekly feature hosted by Reading Between the Wines for the 18+ crowd. To join in just grab the button, post a sexy paragraph or two from your current read and share the author & title so other participants can add the book to their TBR list if they like. Then add your post to the linky back at RBTW (http://readingbetweenthewinesbookclub.blogspot.com)
so everyone can follow along. Have a sexy good time!

Right now I'm reading We Shall Rise by J.E. Hopkins


Kaden could not keep his eyes off those statuesque, delectable milk chocolate legs that he knew led to secrets his body craved to discover.

mmmm....mmmm....love it!

Lata Days...MUAH!
Sharonda (SexxyBlogger)
Continue Reading...

Guest Post: Lawna Mackie

Hosted by Bewitching Books Tours, Lawna Mackie will take over and talk about her book Enchantment.

ENCHANTMENT is my first book and very near and dear to my heart. The heroine, Meeka, starts off as a young woman dealing with the heartaches of parents who have been alcoholics all her life. Her escape is falling into daydreams where she fantasizes fairy tales can be real. After a fall into the water by a magical beaver dam she is transported to the world of Enchantment where she eventually realizes fairy tales do exist…with some big differences.

This world has talking beavers and magic abound, such as an automatic bath brush that looks like a rabbit. While Meeka has always dreamed of a knight in shining armor, she didn’t expect him to end up being a dragon!
Kerrigan has a hard time controlling the beast within him especially where Meeka is concerned. With just a mere touch from her, his eyes change to an eerie reptilian shape and color. His fingernails disappear, replaced by claws.

Of course I couldn’t leave Meeka plain and simple. She is actually a sorceress and her powers grow daily while on Enchantment. With power comes danger and evil. Meeka is the target.
There is another character in this novel that I’m absolutely in love with…well, actually a couple. Threeo, is a Hippo-Dog-Burrowing Owl. In my novel he is called a Hipodogwl. What does that mean?

About five years ago I had a bizarre dream. In that dream I somehow managed to create the Hippo-Dog-Burrowing Owl. He is part hippopotamus, part dog, and part burrowing owl…go figure! Chocolate and Milk at bedtime does it to me every time. Here is a photo of Threeo I hope you’ll like him.

ENCHANTMENT is due to release any day from Muse It Up Publishing. I hope you’ll enjoy the read, and send me some comments about the critters I’ve invented.
Happy reading everyone!

QUINN’S CHRISTMAS WISH – December 1, 2011 available through Amazon and Smashwords. http://amzn.to/AforX1
IMPOSSIBLE TO HOLD – December 19, 2011 released through Liquid Silver Books http://www.liquidsilverbooks.com
ENCHANTMENT – January 13, 2012 released through Muse It Up Publishing http://museituppublishing.com

About Lawna:

I have always believed in fairy tales and when I got tired of the old ones I made up my own. Each story would have a hero and heroine, but they were anything but typical.

I devoured my first romance novel when I was a teenager. I couldn’t read them fast enough. Years later I stumbled across my first paranormal romance…an injustice would be done if I tried to explain my joy when I found this genre of romance. My passion was finally in print.

Now, with the help of my bizarre dreams and crazy imagination, I have started to write and intend to share my stories with you. I hope you’ll love them as much as I do.

I am truly blessed. My husband and my animals are my inspiration. We live on a small acreage in Didsbury, Alberta, with our most beloved companions, Dozer, Daisy and Mandarin.

Happy reading everyone, I sure would love to hear from you.

www.lawnamackie.ca

Thank You Lawna for that awesome post!

Leave a comment, I love to hear from you guys.

Lata Days..MUAH!
Sharonda (SexxyBlogger)
Continue Reading...

1.23.2012

Author Interview: Deena Remiel


Hosted by Sizzling PP...Today, Deena Remiel has graciously given her time with me today to talk about her up-coming book Relic.

Welcome Deena and thank you so much for taking the time to talk to me.
Thanks for having me. I’m thrilled to be here.

I've been reading some pretty awesome reviews on the Book 1 in the Brethren series. Can you give us a little background in this series?
Thank you! I sure can. The Brethren Series starts with Trinity, and an apocalyptic war between Good and Evil. We see a mother and her daughter thrust right into the thick of things because of their special lineage, and an Angel Protector who must carry out a prophecy with them.

So Relic, which is Book 2, will be available Jan. 27th. Please tell us about the story and its characters.
I think I’ll share the blurb with you and your readers for the best description of RELIC…

Raphael, a Brethren Savior, an angel with a forgotten past, has lost his power to heal and is on a self-imposed guilt trip to get it back. If he can’t, his tour of eternal duty as Brethren Savior will be revoked. On his journey, he winds up enmeshed in a web of attempted murder and resurrection all thanks to a woman he’s only seen in a photograph and by chance on an Arizona desert hiking trail.

Serena Sikes is a wanted woman. Desired by “undesirables” for a gift her brother gave her- a stolen relic with suspected healing powers. Hunted down in the Arizona desert and left for dead, she is found by none other than the angel who cannot heal.

Raphael and Serena are inexorably bound together, for locked deep within the relic’s heart had lived the soul of his long lost wife. Now, it resides inside Serena. Evil lurks around every corner as Raphael tries to keep both Serena and his dead wife’s soul alive and lustful temptation at bay.

Three souls bound together by an ancient relic, bound by a timeless gift, and bound by a love that is eternal.

Did you always want to be a writer?
I’ve wanted to be so many things over the course of my lifetime! Never thought I would say I’ve been teaching for over 20 years now, either. But being an author has been the only thing I truly felt passionate about. Someone said to be truly happy with your work, work your passion. They were right!

What or whom inspired this series?
I was inspired by angels! I just made them sexy and hunkalicious. ;)

I love to get lost in the story when I'm reading a book. Will readers get lost in Raphael's story?
Oh, yes! I’M still lost in it! There’s one scene that I frequently go to sleep dreaming about. Your readers will have to let me know which scene they think it is after reading it. 

How long can we expect the Brethren series to go on? And do you plan on writing a new series?
I have the third book, Elixxir, nearly done. Then there are three more books planned. After that, there’s a spin-off involving a grown up Hannah, the child from Trinity.

Tell us about yourself Deena.
Nope, I’d rather remain an enigma. Baaah! I will tell you and your readers that I’m an optimistic person who enjoys laughing at jokes. Can’t tell a joke to save my life, but boy can I laugh at them! I can’t live without chocolate or my husband and two daughters. Put on some music and I’ll be up dancing regardless if anyone else is. I crave alone time, but love being social.

I’m getting in the habit of asking this, when you're writing, do you prefer quiet? Or noise?
I prefer SILENCE when I can get it. If not, I put my headphones on and listen to white or pink noise very loudly.

Are you currently reading any books? And who is your favorite author?
I’m in between books right now because I’m busy writing Elixxir, BUT I usually read historical romance while I write. Then, I love romantic suspense for when I have time to get psyched out and dig in to a good long read. My favorite author… there are far too many, but I will mention Linda Howard, Jayne Ann Krentz, Sherrilyn Kenyon, and Heather Graham.

Besides your own book, ate you looking forward to any new releases this year?
I had been looking forward to Laura Wright’s Eternal Captive, but it’s out now. I see Jayne Ann Krentz’s Copper Beach is out now, too. So I’m happy.

Thanks again for stopping by Deena and I'm looking forward to getting lost in the pages of the Brethren series this year.
Thank you for a great interview! Don’t worry about getting lost. One of the Brethren will be sure to find you… ;)

About Relic and its Wonderful Author


Raphael, a Brethren Savior, an angel with a forgotten past, has lost his power to heal and is on a self-imposed guilt trip to get it back. If he can’t, his tour of eternal duty as Brethren Savior will be revoked. On his journey, he winds up enmeshed in a web of attempted murder and resurrection all thanks to a woman he’s only seen in a photograph and by chance on an Arizona desert hiking trail.
Serena Sikes is a wanted woman. Desired by “undesirables” for a gift her brother gave her- a stolen relic with suspected healing powers. Hunted down in the Arizona desert and left for dead, she is found by none other than the angel who cannot heal.
Raphael and Serena are inexorably bound together, for locked deep within the relic’s heart had lived the soul of his long lost wife. Now, it resides inside Serena. Evil lurks around every corner as Raphael tries to keep both Serena and his dead wife’s soul alive and lustful temptation at bay.
Three souls bound together by an ancient relic, bound by a timeless gift, and bound by a love that is eternal.


It was the mystique of Arizona’s history and landscape that called to Deena and catapulted her career as an author. When she’s not writing romance novels and poetry in the wee, small hours of the morning or in the deep, dark of night, Deena teaches language arts to middle school students. She currently lives in Gilbert with her husband and two children, but New Jersey will always tug at her heartstrings. She loves connecting with her fans, so find her at deenaremiel.com.

Website / Blog / Facebook / Twitter

Book Except:

Serena lay asleep in her hospital bed, a small, seemingly fragile wisp of a woman. The way the setting sun cast a glow about her face, she looked enchanting and more like a delicate flower. He could almost smell the sweet scent of a Lily of the Valley in the air. He shook himself free of his musings as he moved into her room and quietly took a seat next to her.
Glancing around the room, he found the sweet-smelling culprit that had captivated him—a small bottle of perfume. Returning to gaze upon his enchantress, he noticed the bruising along her jaw line much more pronounced since he’d first come upon her. A cold, steel anger welled within him. His eyes trailed down to her slender arm outfitted with an IV, and to all the machines with their bells and beeps.
“I’m sorry, Serena,” he whispered. “You wouldn’t have needed all of this if I could’ve done my job properly.” He bristled in frustration and leaned his head against his arms resting on the bedrail. He noticed her stirring in her sleep. She seemed agitated and surprised him by blindly reaching out to grab hold of his hand.
“Mmm…I cannot die. I am immortal. An feidir le heinne cuidiu liom? Can anyone help me? Graim thu, Raphael, anam chara. I love you, my soul mate.” Serena whimpered and fell silent once again.
The chair screeched across the floor as Raphael sprung out of it like a Jack-in-the-box. Her hand stayed firmly gripped around his, and a flood of memories—well-hidden for centuries—came crashing through unbidden. Sirona, Goddess of Healing—the love of his immortal life, his wife—smiled at him as they walked in the mountains. She bathed him in the hot roman baths. She made love with him under the stars. She was lifeless in his arms as he carried her to her temple. He was asking E.L. to wipe his memory clean of all remembrances of her and to harden his heart.
Raphael wrenched his hand away from Serena’s tight grasp, involuntarily backing up to the door. He clutched his chest over his racing heart, now filled with centuries of unresolved anguish, his mind buzzed with too many questions.
Serena’s eyes fluttered open. He must have had a look of utter horror on his face because she raised her hand to her face shielding the bruise. “It appears worse than it feels,” she stated quietly. “Really. Have you come to fix the TV? They told me someone would be coming by this afternoon to fix it.”
“Uh…no,” Raphael croaked. “I, uh…I’m sorry. I didn’t mean to make you uncomfortable. I’ll be on my way.” I have to get out of here. Who the hell is she, some kind of witch? Why is this happening now? And where do I begin to process what I just experienced?
“But wait. Who are you? Why did you come to my room?”
Now she doesn’t know who I am? What gives? “I’m the one who found you and brought you here to the hospital, actually. I was checking to see how you were doing. Now I see you’re doing much better, so I’m going to leave you to your rest.” Raphael headed to the exit.
“Wait! Please, before you go I’d like to say something.” He turned around slowly and stood transfixed by her glittering emerald eyes. “Thank you. You saved my life, and I’m forever grateful.” She smiled, and her eyes brimmed with unshed tears.
“Make no mistake,” he grumbled. “I didn’t save you. The doctors did. But you’re welcome for bringing you here. Now, I really must go.”
“Hey,” Serena shouted as he walked out the door, “what did you say your name was?”
He stopped but couldn’t face her again. “I didn’t.”

Be sure to catch my review of Relic, which will be posted shortly.

Lata Days..MUAH!
Sharonda (SexxyBlogger)
Continue Reading...

1.21.2012

Author Interview: Hildie McQueen

Hosted by Bewitching Book Tours, today the lovely Hillde McQueen has graciously let me interview her about her book Desperate Betrayal.

Welcome Hilde and thank you so much for taking the time to talk to me.

Hello Sharonda *waving* I’m glad to be here visiting Salacious Reads!

Can you give a little background on this series?

The Protector series is about an army of immortal demon slayers that are dispatched all over the world to different large cities in an effort to control the ever-growing demon population that is threatening to overthrow the natural order by killing humans and other innocents. I start off with Cynden Fraser’s story, a Highland warrior. I love Scots!

Please tell us about the story of Desperate Betrayal and its characters.

When her sister is captured and held prisoner by a nasty master demon, Emma has no choice but to lure Protector warrior Cyn into a trap. Determined to follow through and save her sister, Emma couldn’t have known her feelings for the sexy Protector would be so intense or her imminent betrayal of him so incredibly difficult. Emma and Cyn must work together, each trusting the other through impossible circumstances, if they’re to protect their loved ones and head off one of the most ambitious world domination plans the demons have ever attempted.

Who became your favorite character while writing Desperate Betrayal?

I’m torn on this question because Kieran, Cyn’s brother began to stand out more and more as I wrote this story, I had to be careful not to let him become too strong of a character, I even deleted an entire chapter about him! But of the main characters, I’m a man’s woman, so I absolutely love Cyn, he is awesome and hot too.

Did you always want to be a writer?

No when I was a kid I wanted to be a mercenary, I joined the army as soon as I was old enough only to be placed behind a typewriter as an administrative assistant, I never got to shot anybody. Seriously, I’ve always written, from as long as I can remember I was making up stories.

What or whom inspired this series?

My love of paranormal romance and wanting to know the characters that I read about on a more personal level is what drew me in. As a writer you really get to dissect these people’s personalities. I wanted to write a series that does not apologize for its overabundance of Alpha Males.

Tell us about yourself? What do you do when you’re not writing?

I’m just a regular Jane, married to my best friend, live with two little dogs in a small city in Georgia. I work hard and play hard too. I am in love with my church; I’m always hanging out there and am blessed with tons of amazing friends.

In my free time, I read, shop and spend time hanging out with my girlie-friends. I adore traveling whether it’s across town, the state, the country or the ocean! My hubby calls me Road-Dog-Woman.

I’m getting in the habit of asking this, when you're writing, do you prefer quiet? Or noise?

I write at the dining room table amongst Chihuahuas barking, the hubby’s TV competing with the country music on my kitchen radio and an occasional phone call. I’m pretty good at blocking everything out. So the answer is noise, I suppose.

Are you currently reading any books? And who is your favorite author?

Yes! I am always reading. I just finished re-reading Curse of Gremdon by my BFF Ciara Knight and Embers by Laura Bickle. I am about to start reading The Last Rising by Rachel Firasek, another pal.

I have too many favorite authors to pick just one, but okay. I’ll have to say J.R. Ward.

Thanks again for stopping by Hilde.

I appreciate you welcoming me to do so.

Enjoy a Excerpt from Desperate Betrayal

“Turn around.” His smooth voice flowed over her like velvet.
Emma tried to swallow but her mouth went dry. She turned to find he stood very close.
God help her, she’d never seen a more handsome man than the one who stood before her now. Her body screamed for his touch. She wanted to be with him, her skin against his. But she wouldn’t sleep with him as a form of payment.
What if during sex he sensed that she was part demon and killed her on the spot? But, then again, maybe he would kill her just for saying no.
She forced herself to remain calm, and placed her hand on his chest only to draw it back when the urge to caress him became too strong.
“Listen Cyn. I know most women throw themselves at you. I mean you’re extremely good-lo… but, I, – I am not going to have sex with you, right now. What happened before between us, out there in the alley was because of the rush from the adrenaline after your encounter with the demon…,”She stopped babbling, at a loss for words.
Cyn stood back with his arms crossed while he stared down at her, one eyebrow cocked. His lips curved into a crooked smile.
“I was going move the chair for you and ask you to come sit by the desk, so I could get some more information from you. But I see your mind is on other things.” He leaned in closer to her and his smile widened. “You said ‘not right now’, does that mean we’ll have sex later?”

About the Author
Hildie McQueen is a whirlwind who refuses to wear anything but jeans and heels.

She grew up on the San Diego/Mexico border, joined the military at seventeen and never returned. After living in Germany, Texas and Hawaii, she finally settled in the beautiful southern town of Augusta, Georgia.

Biracial, half Mexican and half African-American, Hildie’s native language is Spanish, but English is her favorite way of communicating now.

Her mission in life is to make as many people as possible to feel normal. It’s an easy thing to do, for others to feel normal around her, because she’s anything but.

www.hildiemcqueen.com

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/HildieMcQueen

Twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/HildieMcQueen

Blog: http://www.hildiemcqueen.com/

Did you catch my review of this fabulous book yesterday. If not, you should....

Lata Days...MUAH!
Sharonda (SexxyBlogger)
Continue Reading...

1.20.2012

Review: Desperate Betryal

Hosted by Bewitching Book Tours, today I have another awesome review. This one is Desperate Betrayal by Hilde McQueen


Book Blurb
Format: eBook
Published: 9/17/2011




Cynden Frasier (Cyn) is a member of a group of immortal warriors, the Protectors, assigned to protect humans in Atlanta, Georgia, the epicenter of a major uprising in demon activity. When Cyn is approached by a beautiful woman in a dirty alley, he is intrigued by the fact that she can see him for what he is, a terrifying demon slayer, and still dares to approach him.
Emma Blake, a half-demon, has to convince Cyn to help rescue her sister from powerful demons. Terrified that the Protector will kill her if he realizes what she is, she still goes against every instinct and approaches Cyn for help. Despite knowing that she is leading them both into territory so wrought with treachery, neither of them may survive.
Can Cyn and Emma overcome betrayal, the ancient rules that prevent Protectors from taking a wife, unless she is his one true mate? And if they do, will it even matter?

My Review:

Desperate Betrayal is just that Book!...You know the book that just can’t put down. It’s set in Georgia and takes the reader into a dark urban world where demons and guardians battle for the greater good.
There characters I read in this book are surreal and I can't wait to read more of this wonderfully dark work that this author has created.I enjoyed this story immensely and its characters.

Hildie does an excellent job connecting the reader with the characters. You won’t be disappointed..get this book now & either read it or add it to your TBR pile.

My Rating

5 Black Orchids

Photobucket

Enjoy the a lil of the Chapter One:

Shadows.

Emma Blake always felt at home in the shadows. It was where she lived, always concealing the truth from those around her.

Now as she hid in the doorway of an abandoned building, she couldn’t help but compare the current situation to her life. The dampness of the brick wall behind her seeped through to her skin, as she pushed further into the dark to avoid being noticed. The putrid smell of trash and urine barely registered, as she was mesmerized by the scene unfolding before her.

The scene invoked images of the endless battle forces of dark and light had been waging since the dawn of time.

Although beautiful to behold, the warrior who fought before her wasn’t exactly an angel, but he was as close to one as she would ever get. In desperate need of his help, she took a big chance sticking around; because once he caught her there were only two possibilities for her.

He’d either help her or he would kill her.

The air blew chilly on this damp, drizzly day in Atlanta, a city that for some unknown reason, in the last few years, had become a hotbed for demons. With such an influx of demons, human assaults were on the rise.

Emma continued to watch from the shelter of the doorway, as the Protector fought his aggressors. Ten huge low-level demons armed with medieval-type swords.

She tensed, but didn’t flinch as a demon’s severed arm flew past her and hit the ground next to her foot with a sickening thud.

Emma had no doubt as to whom the victor would be in the end. The fluidity of the Protector’s movements and the speed of the fight enthralled her. Her gaze locked on his biceps. Muscles bulged on his right arm, as he swung his sword in a way that seemed almost effortless. Impressive, for the weapon he wielded had to weigh at least twenty pounds.

He dodged a blow and struck out with his sword to slash through one demon’s chest. A dagger flew from his left hand and found its target in another’s heart.

Available now at Amazon and Barnes & Noble

Be sure to catch my interview tomorrow with Hilde.

Lata Days...MUAH!
Sharonda (SexxyBlogger)
Continue Reading...

Review: Dry Creek Series

This is review part of the Bewitching Book Tours Virtual Tour for Avery Flynn's A Dry Creek Bed.


Review: Avery Flynn
Up a Dry Creek and A Dry Creek Bed

Well I thought both books packed plenty of suspense and romance (hot ass romance at that).

Up A Dry Creek (Book 1)

Format: eBook
Published: 6/15/2011


Book Blurb:

Dry Creek has been home to the Layton family for generations, a heritage Claire Layton and her brothers Hank, Chris and Sam all appreciate. Claire is a successful, though somewhat debt-ridden, restaurateur who minds her own business—literally. She has enough on her plate between an irascible chef, an abandoned sous-chef, and the pressure of running her highly praised eatery, Harvest Bistro. But when she discovers one of her customers dead in her dumpster, her world begins to unravel.

Even as her County Sheriff brother Hank and his team are still swarming the property looking for evidence, Claire receives a threatening call. It seems there’s a slight problem involving the dead young woman in the dumpster. She doesn’t have her phone and her flash drive with her. The killer makes it clear that Claire better find them by noon the next day or he’ll go after her and her entire family.

With the clock ticking, Claire searches for the missing items to no avail. Complicating matters is the arrival of Jake Warrick, a hotshot security expert hired by the dead woman’s father to find her killer. Claire’s trying her best to get Jake out of her restaurant when her Jeep goes up in flames. The noon deadline has passed.

Determined to find the killer and to keep her family safe, Claire refuses to back down, even as the murderer continues to terrorize her. Jake isn’t backing down either, and the tension between the two—sexual and otherwise—continues to mount. Jake has no intention of leaving Claire in danger—or of leaving at all before he gets to know her much, much better.

Clues, most leading nowhere, pile up, and the threads of the mystery are becoming still more complicated, even as the killer comes closer and closer to claiming his prize—and his prey.

My Review:

Claire Layton can't cook worth a damn BUT she owns one of the most popular restaurants in Dry Creek. All is good until a young college student is murdered and her body is dumped in the restaurants dumper. In walks Jake Warrick who is investigating for the murdered girls father. There is instant attraction between Claire and Jake from the start and their both fighting it until Claire is targeted by the murderer and Jake takes it upon himself to be her protector. Protector with Benefits that is (Claire's words, not mine)This was a really good romance story. There is murder, lies and of course the love story in between. And you know what, it all balanced out.

My Rating:

5 Black Orchids


A Dry Creek Bed (Book 2)
Format: eBook
Published: 1/14/2012


Book Blurb

"I do believe I can arrest you for looking at someone like that. You've got to be breaking some indecency laws."

Taking a deep breath, she recovered her bearings. Mostly. "You're out of your jurisdiction, sheriff."

Dry Creek County Sheriff Hank Layton is the stuff of dreams. Nasty, steamy, delicious fantasies that leave Beth Martinez weak-kneed and desperately wanting the man she can never have.

Hank can’t stop thinking about Beth to the point where he’s afraid of becoming permanently bowlegged. And even though the sexual tension between them is thick enough to trip over, she runs every time he chases.

But when a mysterious developer forces her neighbors off their land, Beth becomes the one person standing between the scoundrel and millions of dollars. Only Hank can help her uncover the truth. Together they risk their lives exposing decades-old secrets and learn that everything is not as it seems in their rural Nebraska town.

My Review:

So you ask, Sharonda is book 2 just as good a the first on? And my reply is going to be Hell Yes1

Again, Avery drew me in again with the romance and suspense. This time, the romance is between Sheriff Hank Layton and Lawyer Beth Martinez.

Beth is an estate lawyer who is has always been attracted to her best friend Claire older brother Hank. But she keeps her distance, not because of the rumors flying around Dry Creek about him, but because she doesn't want to get too close to him in fear of losing him like she lost her family at a very young age.

But Hank is a man on a mission, he is wildly attracted to Beth and know she's attracted to him. He just doesnt know why she fighting it so hard. So he comes up with a plan to find out why and get the sexy lawyer in his bed because fantasies just ain't doing it anymore.
While at a conference in Las Vegas Beth is drugged and kidnapped, but Hank comes to her rescue. As they spend more time together Beth not only finds out that she is caught in the middle of a vicious game of revenge, but she starts to realize that she's in love with Hank, has always been. But can she get over the pain of her past enuff to not let the best thing to happen to her walk away?

My Rating

4 Black Orchids


Read both books, you will definitely enjoy. These are for sure GOODReads! The stories were good and the sex was good too!

Lata Days...MUAH!
Sharonda (SexxyBlogger)
Continue Reading...

Promotional Spot - Avery Flynn


Hosted by Bewitching Book Tours, today I'm shining my salacious light on Avery Flynn's Dry Creek Series (Book 1 & 2). My review of both books will be a separate post.

Book Blurb (A Dry Creek Bed):

"I do believe I can arrest you for looking at someone like that. You've got to be breaking some indecency laws."

Taking a deep breath, she recovered her bearings. Mostly. "You're out of your jurisdiction, sheriff."

Dry Creek County Sheriff Hank Layton is the stuff of dreams. Nasty, steamy, delicious fantasies that leave Beth Martinez weak-kneed and desperately wanting the man she can never have.

Hank can’t stop thinking about Beth to the point where he’s afraid of becoming permanently bowlegged. And even though the sexual tension between them is thick enough to trip over, she runs every time he chases.

But when a mysterious developer forces her neighbors off their land, Beth becomes the one person standing between the scoundrel and millions of dollars. Only Hank can help her uncover the truth. Together they risk their lives exposing decades-old secrets and learn that everything is not as it seems in their rural Nebraska town.


About the Author:


Avery Flynn, the author of UP A DRY CREEK and A Dry Creek Bed, books one and two in the Dry Creek series set in Nebraska, grew up in a small town in the western part of that state, a far cry from her present day home just outside of Washington, D.C. It was no accident that she went back to her roots for the small town setting for her romantic suspense.

“When I graduated high school,” she says, “I couldn’t cross the state line fast enough. The older I got and the farther I moved away, the more I realized what a wonderful place Nebraska had been to live. I swore I’d set a novel there as a way to give people a look into the amazing folks that live in my home state.”

The name Avery Flynn is a pseudonym for the author who, at least for now, prefers to remain behind the scenes. She believes having Avery as her alter ego is a very good thing because, as she says, “Pen name Avery is way cooler than me. Her favorite color is hot pink. She drinks single malt scotch on the rocks. She loves the Argentinean tango and stays at Iceland’s Ice Hotel.”

Author Avery has been writing since she was a child and her father gave her a baby blue Brother typewriter. She couldn’t read but nonetheless wrote numerous stories about her stuffed animals in gibberish. She hasn’t stopped since, though she maintains that her spelling has gotten much better and she now prefers to write in English.

Today she’s enjoying her own happily ever after with her dashing husband, three crazy kids and two arthritic dogs. She dreams of one day having a floor-to-ceiling library à la Beauty and the Beast and is working to perfect the coffee IV drip.


http://www.averyflynn.com
http://www.evernightpublishing.com
Twitter: @averyflynn
Facebook: www.facebook.com/pages/Avery-Flynn/177161972329973

Lata Days...MUAH!
Sharonda (SexxyBlogger)
Continue Reading...

1.18.2012

Winner: Blood of Anteros

I'm announcing a winner for the Blood of Anteros Giveaway a few weeks back. Winner was chosen through Rafflecopter.



a Rafflecopter giveaway


Thanks to all that entered!

Lata Days....MUAH!
Sharonda (SexxyBlogger)
Continue Reading...

1.15.2012

Review: Bound

Book Blurb

Sixteen year old Arelia LaRue lives in New Orleans where the music is loud, voodoo queens inhabit every street corner, and the ghosts are alive and well. Despite her surroundings, all she wants is to help her Grand-mere Bea pay the rent and save up for college.

When her best friend Sabrina convinces her to take a well-paying summer job at the infamous Darkwood plantation, owned by the wealthy LaPlante family, Arelia agrees.

However, at Darkwood strange things start to happen, and gorgeous Lucus LaPlante insists that he needs her help. Soon, the powers that Arelia has been denying all her life, come out to play and she discovers mysteries about herself that she could have never imagined.

My Review

Bound was hard to put down and I loved the book from beginning to end.

I always say that I love YA novels with a adult feel to it and this was one of those books.

Arelia LaRue is 26 years old and takes care of herself and her grandmere in New Orleans. They are struggling and when Arelia is offered a summer job at Darkwood Plantation where the wealthy LaPlante family lives, its a job she cannot pass up.

I liked Arelia's character. She was 16, but very much the adult. She was the adult because she had to be, she is the primary caretaker of herself and her Grandmere. She also comes from a long line of voo-doo queens and Arelia is a very powerful one, as she was blessed as a baby.

Her grandmother has reservations about Arelia going to the LaPlante Plantation because it is considered to be haunted. But she goes anyway along with her rich friend Sabrina. The longer she stays at the plantation, she will have to use her voodoo powers and now she is also starting to fall for the LaPante heir, Lucas.

The story was very intriguing and appealing. Like I said, I loved Arelia's story. She was a strong person for a girl her age and I liked that. There were some moments when she was the typical teenager (the reason why I don't like reading YA books).

My only complaint is that the book was way too short and I'm looking forward to reading the next book in this series. I'm inching to find out how Arelia is going to help Lucas free himself of the curse that was cast upon him.

My Rating ~ 5 Black Orchids

Book Information
Format: eBook
Author: Kira Saito
Published Date: October 28, 2011
YA Paranormal
Arelia LaRue #1

Lata Days...MUAH!
Sharonda (SexxyBlogger)
Continue Reading...

Author Promotional Spotlight: Bound ~ Kira Saito

Hosted by a Bewitching Book Tours, today's salacious spotlight will be on Kira Saito's Bound

Book Blurb

Sixteen year old Arelia LaRue lives in New Orleans where the music is loud, voodoo queens inhabit every street corner, and the ghosts are alive and well. Despite her surroundings, all she wants is to help her Grand-mere Bea pay the rent and save up for college.

When her best friend Sabrina convinces her to take a well-paying summer job at the infamous Darkwood plantation, owned by the wealthy LaPlante family, Arelia agrees.

However, at Darkwood strange things start to happen, and gorgeous Lucus LaPlante insists that he needs her help. Soon, the powers that Arelia has been denying all her life, come out to play and she discovers mysteries about herself that she could have never imagined.

Book Excerpt

It had to work. It just had to. After repeating the chant at least six times, it still didn’t work. “Fine you greedy spirits!” I yelled. It was clear that they wanted more blood. In a rage, I drew more blood, this time slashing my palm. I brought my dripping palm up to Ben’s neck and repeated the chant. After a few minutes, I felt a distinct energy. It was a force within me so incredibly strong that I was convinced that I was able to move a mountain if I wanted to or even get Sabrina to stop talking about boys.

“Arelia what are you doing?” Ben’s voice forced me to open my eyes.

“You’re strangling me.”

I realized my hands were gripped a bit too tightly around his neck. I unwrapped them to find that his wound had completely healed, and his fever was gone. “Ben, you’re okay!” I exclaimed. I gave him an enormous hug.

“Of course, I’m okay,” he said. “I’m just sleepy it was a long night. Tell the alligators and ghosts that I’ll see them tomorrow.” He closed his eyes and fell into a deep sleep.

In my excitement, I leapt up, and by sheer impulse gave formerly-shirtless guy a hug. As my body touched his, I could smell him and felt my skin tingle.

Delicious chills overtook my body. He wasn’t wearing any cologne, but he smelt lovely. Warm and familiar mingled with a dash of sadness and danger. I caught myself clinging to him and took a step back in embarrassment. My moment of conquest had quickly passed, and I realized that I was standing next to a swamp, in front of a stranger in a corset and petticoat which basically translated to a bra and underwear. I was horrified.

Formerly-shirtless guy looked at me like the existence of Santa Claus had just been proven before taking off his jacket and wrapping it around me. “You must be cold,” he observed. “Your hand is bleeding.” He ripped a sleeve off of his shirt and covered my palm.

In my state of absolute exhilaration, I had failed to acknowledge the fact that the night had gotten a bit chilly. My entire body was covered in goose bumps, and my hand was leaking blood everywhere. “Why did you follow me?” I wrapped his jacket around me realizing that I was standing in the middle of nowhere with someone who could be a psychopathic, serial killer.

His lips broke out in an amused smile. “Do you think I’m stalking you?” He asked hovering over me. It really sucked being short sometimes. Standing at a measly five foot three inches made me feel as if I lived in a world full of giants. At this moment, formerly-shirtless guy looked like a giant even though he wasn’t freakishly tall or anything, maybe slightly over six feet.

“Well, how else can you explain being here?” I stated what I thought was the obvious. I tried to stand on my toes, hoping to make myself appear taller.

You can buy it here!
Amazon
http://www.amazon.com/Bound-Arelia-Paranormal-Romance-ebook/dp/B0060EHJX6/ref=pd_rhf_gw_p_t_1

Smashwords
http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/101051

Author Bio

Kira is a magic junkie and loves writing YA paranormal romances. Some of her heroes include: Jack the Pumpkin King, Willy Wonka, Larry David, Princess Tiana, the vampire Lestat, Andy and her Maltese Costanza.

http://kirasaito.blogspot.com/

Twitter @KiraSaito

Facebook ~ http://www.facebook.com/pages/Kira-Saito/216126158450770

Catch my review up next. This is a really good YA Paranormal read. My only complaint...it was too short!

Lata Days...MUAH!
Sharonda (SexxyBlogger)
Continue Reading...

1.12.2012

Review Request: Sex, Life and Hannah

Updated on 3/8/2012 (Correction of Book Title) SEX, LIFE AND HANNAH

Format: eBook (98 pages-Review Copy)
Novella, Volume 1 Winter Season
Print Length: 73 pages
Publisher: the adventures of hannah - concept publishing
Author: Dorota Skrzypek
Available: Amazon

Book Blurb

When Hannah’s boyfriend of five-and-a-half years breaks up with her on New Year’s Eve, Hannah is shocked, and stunned…before picking up a glass and throwing it at him. Forced to search for love in the battlegrounds of L.A. she finds herself agonizing over The Ex, trying to comfort herself in the neighbor’s bed, and falling in love…again? Surrounded by a colorful cast of characters, Hannah treads the infamous waters of heartbreak and heartache.

The inaugural volume of the Sex, Life, and Hannah book series is a colorful palette of stories about the aftermath of a major break-up. Everything from the pros and cons of rebound sex, to navigating manic mood swings over The Ex, and whether a leather harness and latex can help distract you enough to finally move on. A fun and fictional expose about a pivotal moment in life.

My Review

Funny smart and hip. Hannah is me, she is you, she's every woman. I didn't quite know what to expect when I started reading this one but, I instantly fell in love with Hannah. I didn't know if I wanted to be mad at her for desperately wanting the Ex back or if I wanted to be happy for her once she decided to forget about him and move on. She was Lonely, depressed and on the rebound and I was right along with her. And her supporting cast? Well they were just as bad as Hannah and all combined, this made for one of the best stores I've read an a while. I simply cannot wait for Vol 2 and to read the rest of Hannah's story.

My Rating ~ 5 Black Orchids
Photobucket

Book Information

Lata Days...MUAH!
Sharonda (SexxyBlogger)
Continue Reading...

Dirty Little Secret


Dirty Little Secret is a weekly meme hosted by us at Under the Covers. Every Thursday we get to know other bloggers and our readers more intimately by asking them a question hoping to reveal their dirty little secrets. We hope that you will all join us!

To participate in the meme all you need to do is:
1. Be a follower of Under the Covers.
2. Create a post in your blog taking the meme image (code above) and copy instructions.
3. Answer the question we propose! This can be done in any way you like, post a video, write a post etc.
4. Then add your link below back at Under the Covers Blog.

Non-bloggers: We want to hear from you as well!!! Let us know your answer in the comments!

We hope you join us and let us know your Dirty Little Secrets!

This week's question:

Do you prefer your heroes dark and broody? or blonde and boisterous?

Me?...I'll take dark & broody please. hmm...Vishous~BDB, Wraith~Demonica Series (I means he's blond, but tortured). I absolutely love reading dark and tortured males. IDK, just something about them gets me all hot & bothered. Okay I'm off to fantasize.....




Lata Days...MUCHA MUAH!
Sharonda (SexxyBlogger
Continue Reading...

Author Guest Post: Kenya Carlton (Jaded)


Hosted by Bewitching Book Tours, today Kenya Carlton will take over an tell us about her latest book Jaded and ghosts...

Black People and Ghosts

Spoiler alert: At the end of the movie The Skelton Key, the Kate Hudson’s character Caroline has been possessed by a black maid that worked for a wealthy white southern family in the 1920’s. As she tests the nice fresh skin of her new body, her brother whose soul has already gotten settled within the shelter of a young lawyer’s bones asked why can’t they ever be black? Caroline replied, “You know the black ones don’t stick around.” (Sic)

The above quote is the crux of the problem with writing African-American ghost stories. There’s no right or wrong; it’s just culturally—black people don’t do ghost.
I have a friend who lives next to a house that’s on the haunted house tour for the lady in white, a woman who had years ago been so despondent after her third miscarriage that she hung herself in the attic. Wrangled into the duties of pet sitting one day, my friend heard something in the attic. I asked her, “Oh God did you go and investigate?” and she replied, “Of course I did, honey. I was really hoping to see that ghost.” Now if this friend had been black, the conversation would have gone more like this. “What did you clock running out of the house?” Reply: “About 80 to 85 mph give or take a couple. I hope those cats have enough to eat for the week.”
In my ghost story Jaded my lead character Mia James is a journalist suffering from symptoms of PTSD and she actually has no idea if what she is seeing is real or if her mind has finally snapped from the pressure. Her cousin Tracy decides to tag along with Mia for her assignment, and when Tracy finds out they are living with a ghost, she is ready to leave that cartoon dust poof in her wake and never look back.
The do we, help the ghost cross over, or don’t we, question is looked at as purely ridiculous by Tracy which causes her to ask, “Why is this our problem?” Her reasonable reaction should probably be explored by more characters in horror books and movies. If everyone asked themselves ‘why’ then there probably wouldn’t be one person to shudder in fear or jump from a shadow. What’s the fun in that I ask you?
Now I don’t want you thinking there is a right or wrong look at my unscientific study, but let’s face it culturally black people and white people are just different when it comes to ghost.

“I was watching poltergeist last night. I got a question, why don’t white people leave the house when there is a ghost in the house...In Amityville Horror the ghost told them to get out the house. White people stayed in there. Now that’s a hint and a half for your ass…” Eddie Murphy,Delirious, 1983

What’s your real life in action ghost story?

Now I have to agree with Kenya...black people don't do ghost, at least I don't. Main reason, I'm too damn scary. I'm leaving and that's it. I'm not asking any questions and I don't want to know if the ghosts is good or evil...nothing, nada. Have I had ghosts encounters...yes & what did I do? Just like I said, I kept it moving. I never gave or will ever give myself a chance to have a ghost story to tell...LOL!

Catch my review for Jaded tomorrow. It's a really good read and you will just love the characters Kenya created.

In the meantime enjoy the book blurb & excerpt below:


Jaded
By Kenya Carlton
Genre: Mystery/Romance with paranormal elements


Blurb:

War correspondent Mia James is back on US soil and ready to tackle a juicy political story that could make national headlines. A politician’s aid goes missing, and the son of the wealthiest family is the only suspect.

Determined to take down the mayor of the small seaside town, Mia comes up against an angry ghost with her own agenda.

Afraid she may be suffering from post traumatic stress Mia figures that she’s way over her head and enlists the help of resident black sheep Gabe Montgomery. Now, she must solve the mystery of her not so friendly ghost, stop herself from falling in love with the mysterious winery owner, all while making it out alive.

Excerpt:

Martin Conway didn’t know what to expect. He idled in his police cruiser on the curb in anticipation of a few ominous clouds or some menacing lightening to strike down on the house. He wasn’t quite sure since he avoided this place as much as possible.

The manor that sat above Vine was a picture of Victorian splendor. Or at least that’s what the welcome brochure to all new tourists had professed.

No one had occupied the oldest standing mansion in town permanently for years and the historical society made sure no one probably ever would. Restrictions had been placed on the home that most modern families weren’t willing to contend with and older homeowners would be too overwhelmed to be bothered. The most that could be hoped for was the occasional renter. So the mansion that encompassed every viable asset that a haunted house possibly ever could, sat empty.

It didn’t matter that the lawn was cut and the bushes were trimmed. Nor did it matter whether fresh paint was applied every other year or so. Right now all that mattered was that he, Martin Conway, had to get his butt in gear to welcome the new residence of Holloway Manor to Vine.

As Sheriff he took his job seriously. Crime was virtually nonexistent. A few run-ins with the local teenagers now and again were the worse offenses he imagined but that was expected in any small town.

Martin turned the ignition off and grabbed his hat. Vibes of intense displeasure seemed to waft his way from the house, with a deep breath he pushed his apprehension to the side and sorted through his thoughts of what to say to the new neighbors of Vine.

"Good Afternoon, Ma'am." Martin tipped his head to the cute little number at the door. Pleasantly surprised he greeted the woman with all smiles.

"Good afternoon, Officer-"

"Conway, Sheriff Conway," he introduced himself.

The look on her adorable face made him forget the regular spiel he had prepared for all the newbie’s that entered town. She was this tiny little thing with big boobs and a nice ass which was a win-win combination in his estimation. Her smooth cocoa skin made his mouth water not to mention her face was kewpie doll cute but her expression told him she was all about being bad. The pool of her brown eyes seemed to suck him into her.

"Where are my manners? Please come in Sheriff. My name is Tracy and this tired piece of trash over here is my cousin, Mia." He followed the woman into the Holloway home to find it was exactly as he had imagined.

Big and creepy!

The structure was the only house that could be seen from the Carlisle hilltop that looked down on Vine. From the door the stained glass windows cast a colorful dance of colors around the front room. A bright and cheery effect that should have appeared fun and joyful, but came across eerie and haunting instead.

White dust cloths covered what he could only imagine was antique furniture. The unlived look probably lent a helping hand to the spooky factor of the estate.
Entranced with the infamous inside interior of the Holloway mansion, he almost stumbled over this woman. Simply stunned into stupidity by her perfect face he missed the hand that she held out to him.

"Mia James, what can I do for you?" His tongue twisted around his mouth. Ordinarily he would be considered a man of authority but this woman made him babble like a fool.

"I uh, I wanted to welcome you to Vine. I saw your truck and thought I would be first to welcome you to our fine city."

"I appreciate that," she replied.

"We have a little picnic scheduled this evening at The Grove and we would be delighted if you could join us." He flashed his pearly smile in hopes it would be enough to persuade them to come.

"Who is we, Sheriff?"

"The Mayor is sponsoring this little shindig to extend his hand of thanks to the people of Vine."

"Special thanks for what?" Mia asked.

"Uh.” Both women stared at him with something crossed between humor and confusion.

"He wants to thank everyone for their support in Vine and continued support when he runs for Congress."

"Well Conway,” Mia began, “that's a mighty fine invitation but I think I'll pass." she touched his elbow, with the sweetest smile. He was so enchanted with the Egyptian shape of her brown eyes that he found himself outside of the front door without the faintest idea how he got there. "Thank you for keeping us in mind."

"But there's barbecue and fireworks," he stupidly stammered.

"Sounds like a true hootenanny of a good time. We will definitely give it some thought." He understood a polite brush off when he saw one. Mia was so gracious he almost didn't mind how she had just kicked him out of the house.

“Oh well.” He stepped off the wraparound porch. Most likely he would see her again around town. Of course, the lack of information about these women would leave room for the Mayor to be unhappy with his fact finding duties.

Martin headed to his cruiser and figured he would go check across town for those vandals that kept spray painting something as silly as ‘Water’ in the quarry. It was the perfect excuse that he was too busy to be nosey if the Mayor asked.

Author Bio

Kenya has a B.A. in Mass communication, Television and Radio. She has fifteen years in production of television and film and five in television engineering. In 2009 Kenya Produced Dawn a short film and Executive Produced Destination Everywhere the pilot for a travel series through her production company Black R.O.K Productions established in 2008.

Leave a comment below, I love seeing them ;)

Lata Days...MUAH!
Sharonda (SexxyBlogger)
Continue Reading...

About

Brazen Babe Reviews begin its inception in the Year of Our Lord 2014. It's the brain child of two bloggers Ana (Beach Bum Reviews) and Sharonda (SalaciousReads). Here in our lovely little corner of the inter-web, we will share our love of pop culture which will encompass books, movies, TV, make-up and you know life...

Sooo...Relax, have a glass of wine (or whatever your poison is) sit back and enjoy!

*Note, we are currently not accepting Review Requests.

Popular Posts

Labels