2.28.2013

Review: Wolf's Haven (Caedmon Wolves #1) by Ambrielle Kirk






Published: October 4, 2012
Series: Caedmon Wolves #1
Format: eBook
**My own Personal Copy
Available: Barnes & Noble / Amazon / ARe
 photo PNR.png photo Romance.png



 photo 5.jpg


Tamara would risk her life to gain freedom. She's finally built up the courage to escape from a world of abuse by the hands of man who promised her the world. One night she makes a break for it, but her plans backfire. She begins to believe that she was never meant to be happy. When all hope of freedom fades, she stumbles across a wolf that brings her to safety. She learns to trust the wolf, but has yet to trust the man.

Devin, potential future leader of the Caedmon Pack, returns to the foothills of his Virginia home after five long years as a lone wolf. Rivals within the circle challenge him and threaten to strip him of his true birthright. Being bound to lead the pack was not something Devin had planned for his life, but letting his people fall prey to turmoil under the rule of his cousin Darius is out of the question. The night of Devin’s rise to Alpha leader is approaching. Despite opposition, he’s gained an impressive following. That is until he brings a human among the pack.

Tamara can’t deny the attraction she feels toward Devin. The Alpha leader-to-be simply cannot resist Tamara’s lure. When they are together, their tribulations take the backburner. Their desire for one another grows as they consummate their passion in wolf’s haven. Will Devin forfeit the most coveted position within the Caedmon Pack to bond with his chosen mate? Can Tamara trust Devin with her mind, heart, body, and soul or will the memories of her abuse dissuade her from being bound to the wolf?


I'm never one to point race out in a book, but as a black woman...I have to admit that sometimes it's nice to read a romance that resolves around a character of color.

Wolf's Haven romance couple is interracial...she's black (of mix race) and he's white. But we won't leave the review at that. I stayed up until 3:45 in the am to finish this book. It was good...really good. There were some little hiccups as far a grammar here and there, but other than that, I thought this story was well worth the read.I discovered this little gem over at Two Fantasy Floozies. Author Ambrielle Kirk wrote how she came to write romances...interracial romances. My interest was piqued and I'm glad that it was.

What I like about this story was the flow of it...there was no rushing. The two main characters both had their issues, BUT Ms. Kirk allowed them to grow throughout the story. I loved how she positioned Devin to come into Tamara's life. Tamara's on the run and have to get away..she suddenly comes across Devin in his wolf form and the story takes off from there. Love...love...love. The world building was complex enough to keep me interested and the characters themselves were an added bonus. Both Devin and Tamra have issues that they don't want to put upon one another, but what I like about their relationship was the immediate liking of each other. We rarely see that in a romance...there's most of the time this angst that needs to be worked through (which is starting to drive this reader nuts). But here, although Devin & Tamara didn't "know" each other well, the way the author wove this tale made them very much likable...made this story likable.

All & all...a 5 five star read even with the little hiccups. I loved everything about this story, the pace of it...the characters. Truly a good read. I'll be picking up this series quickly.


 photo 4-1.jpg


I write romantic fiction, plain and simple, but with plots and characters that are neither plain nor simple. One day I might sit down to write a steamy contemporary romance set in a busy metropolitan area where opposites attract….And the next day I might find myself writing an urban fantasy based on complex mythology with non-human characters who don’t have anything else to do but prey on their next victim. I love weaving tales where romance is a main element. When I’m not writing, I’m plotting. When I’m not writing or plotting, I’m reading. Oh yeah...I also find time to indulge in chocolate and coffee.
Where To Stalk Her:


Photobucket  photo gickrcom_4e2d1ccc-36ca-6044-35d3-976397e53ac1_zpsdc63e994.gif




Continue Reading...

2.27.2013

VBT~The Couple by Harlie Williams (Interview/Review/Giveaway)



Welcome to my stop in Harlie Williams blog tour. There will be a Interview with the author, a review of The Couple and then a Giveaway.


Hi Harlie & welcome to Salacious Reads. I'm very honored to have you here.

Please tell us a little about yourself? I'm a stay at home mom with a very active second grader. He's into sports now, so we are constantly on the run. I live in East Texas after living in Dallas for 43 years. Glad that I don't have to drive in traffic anymore. Hubs and I have been married for almost 8 years and together since 1999.

Please tell us about The Couple? The book is a secret because of the twist at the end but my inspiration came from Phil/Claire from the television show Modern Family. Great show and I really wanted Phil/Claire to have a happy ending for once.

Who because your favorite while writing this story? The man actually. I had the perfect man for the story and could visualize him perfectly. I've had one reviewer fall in love with him already.

Do you have any other upcoming writing works? Actually I have a contemporary romance that is set in small town Oklahoma and a romantic suspense with a paranormal thread that is set in Chicago. I will say that the heat levels in both of these books is tame compared to The Couple.

What would you like for readers to take with them after reading your book? Never neglect your partner. Communicate and remember why you are together.


The Couple
by Harlie Williams
Contemporary Romance
Published by MuseitUp Publishing
Release Date: December 28, 2012
Heat Level: Steamy
Word Count: 3,200
Buy Links
MuseitUp Publishing
Amazon
ARe
BookStrand
Smashwords



 photo 3.jpg


A woman has one thing on her mind tonight…sex. Dirty, sweaty, kinky sex with a cowboy. With her man gone more than he is at home, she needs the release.

After being away for two weeks, a cowboy goes looking for someone to play with for the night. Being away is part of the job but not having someone to come home to is hurting his soul. Feeling disconnected in his love life, the red head will be perfect.

Once they meet, can one night of pure passion led to more than just a one night stand for either of them? Communication is the key to every relationship. Can these two find a way to connect emotionally or are they destined for heartache.

Warning: This title is intended for readers over the age of 18 as it contains adult sexual situations (including BDSM/light bondage) and adult language and may be considered offense to some readers.


The Couple is a short and oh so very erotic read. It's also straight and to the point...20 pages long, I finished this one in 45 minutes. Needless to say, it was a nice train ride to work today.

When you first start reading the couple, you think that this is a one-night stand, but Ms. Williams offered a very nice surprise at the end of this story, which I thought was very good. I was like...oh, okay...I didn't see that coming. This story is just as it blurb states, it's dirty,kinky and all kinds of sexxy...my kind of read.

All and all, I thought that this story was well-executed and the characters well written. I can't say too much without given away too much...but if you're looking for a hot read with a sex scene that will surely make you want to go take a cold shower, then The Couple is just for you.

 photo 5-1.jpg


“What’s a girl like you doing at a bar like this?” he asked.

Her voice was a purr, like a cat well satisfied with its stolen pitcher of cream. “I’m looking for someone special.”

Hoping that she meant him he asked, “Did you find him yet?”

“Maybe.” The glint in her eye told him he was definitely in the running. However, I’m not looking to hook up with just any old cowboy. He must be able to go the full eight seconds and come back for more.” She eyed him from head to toe. “Think you can handle that?”

Oh, I can most definitely handle you sweetheart.

Not wanting to seem too eager he replied, “I’m not sure but I’m willing to try.”

“Do or do not. There is no try.” He struggled not to let his grin escape. The fact that she was trying to seduce him made his dick twitch.

“Let’s just say I’m looking to burn off some pent up frustration. A little excess energy. And I’ve got plenty to burn.”

The way she shivered at his words, he knew he almost had her. He winked as she licked her crimson lips and blew out a small breath. Damn what this woman is doing to him.

He pushed her knees apart with his left leg and was rewarded with the amazing scent of her arousal. The knowledge she was wet for him had him close to going off in his jeans.

Houston, we have lift-off!

“Why don’t you have a seat cowboy and we’ll talk about it.”

She gasped when he shocked her with a brush of his lips against hers; fighting with everything he had not to deepen the kiss.

Patience, patience.

He would play her game for the moment but sooner or later, she would be his. Tied up and begging for more.

He asked her, “Now about that eight second ride?”

I’m just a city girl living in a small East Texas town. As a child, I devoured books but writing a book was never in the equation. Teaching literature to high school students was my goal. After being in a corporate cube for over 25 years, I’m a stay at home mom. I started writing as a dare and here I am. I’m married to my own hero and a mother to an awesome son. He has no idea that his momma wrote a book. He just knows that momma spends a lot of time on the computer.

Connect with Harlie Williams
LinkedIn

 photo Giveaway.png
Prizes are: Grand Prize of a $25 GC; secondary prize of 3 eBook copies of "The Couple" (1 each to 3 winners). Contest is tour-wide, open internationally and ends Mar 6. Must be 18 years of age or older to enter. Make sure you stop by the other Blogs in the Tour for more chances to win. Link is Here



Photobucket  photo gickrcom_4e2d1ccc-36ca-6044-35d3-976397e53ac1_zpsdc63e994.gif
Continue Reading...

Blog Tour: Series Spotlight + Giveaway: Surrounded by Secrets by Mandy Harbin

Series Spotlight + Giveaway
Hey!! Thanks for stopping by! This tour is brought to you by: Book Monster PromotionsDon't forget to enter in the rafflecopter below for a chance to win:
  • Winner's choice of eBook from THE WOODS FAMILY series. 


Surrounded by Death
(Book #0.5 in the Woods Family series)

Purchase for FREE:
 Amazon | BN | ARe 
Author: Mandy Harbin
Publisher: Self Published (September 11, 2012)
ASIN: B0099GXQYS

SUMMARY:


His family speaks of his death as a tragic example of why it’s too dangerous for the Woods men to be around available women.
Eric Woods is now dead, but was his last night as a living, breathing mountain lion shifter as horrible as his family has always believed?
Experience Eric’s last night with Simone--a woman whose need for carnal pleasures for exceeds all rational thought.
Reader advisory: This book contains graphic language and explicit sex. It is meant as a bonus read in the Woods family saga and should not be viewed as a typical romance.








Surrounded by Woods
(Book #1 in the Woods Family series)

Purchase for FREE: 
Amazon | BN | ARe
Author: Mandy Harbin
Publisher: Amira Press (July 28, 2011)
ASIN: B005F6E7Z8
SUMMARY:

When Mikaela Patterson must take on a client with specific requirements that no single women be allowed on his property, she keeps her broken engagement a secret. She doesn’t realize her client and his sons are mountain lion shifters whose instinct to mate with any available woman turns deadly.

Josh Woods is her client's eldest son, and he is immediately drawn to Mikaela. Knowing his father would never allow an available woman on the property, Josh doesn't understand his fascination with her. Josh and Mikaela fight their attraction because of their own secrets, but when the truth comes out about Mikaela's true availability and Josh's animal instincts, they must be prepared to face the consequences.
Reader advisory: This book contains graphic language and explicit sex.



Surrounded by Pleasure
(Book #2 in the Woods Family series)

Amazon | BN | ARe 
Author: Mandy Harbin
Publisher: Amira Press (October 12, 2011)
ASIN: B005VFDD7Q

SUMMARY:



Krista Owens is an attorney who works too much and plays too little. When her colleague, Mikaela, requests her assistance for a month on the Woods estate, hinting that her brothers-in-law are all hot with commitment phobias, Krista agrees to tell the guys she has a boyfriend, hoping to finally lose her virginity.

Toby Woods doesn’t want anything to do with Krista, but watching his brothers fight over her ignites his feral side. He wants her, and he’ll stop at nothing to have her.

He knows it’s temporary, but will he be able to let her go when it’s time?
Reader advisory: This book contains graphic language and explicit sex.







Surrounded by Temptation
(Book #3 in the Woods Family series)

Amazon | BN | ARe
Author: Mandy Harbin
Publisher: Amira Press (October 10, 2012)
ASIN: B009P8NJBU
SUMMARY:


When Krista needs Ariel's biochemical expertise because her new boyfriend can turn into a mountain lion, Ariel thinks her sister has lost her mind. But the possibility of a major discovery like this is too much of a temptation to ignore. Create a drug to stop a shifter from forcing a mating? Only if she got to test his sexual limits herself.

Rob thinks Ariel is an angel in disguise, and he immediately knows she's the one for him. But is he strong enough to resist his animal's need to claim her once the temptation begins?

Warning: This book contains a shifter who must resist his feral need to mate and a biochemist who is hell-bent on testing his sexual limits. You'll never look at science the same way again.


Surrounded Secrets
(Book #4 in the Woods Family series)

Amazon | BN | ARe 
Author: Mandy Harbin
Publisher: Amira Press (January 16, 2013)
ASIN: B00B2B6MNU

SUMMARY:




Lillian Caldwell has eyes on the hottie with the body, Jack Woods, one of the men who bought her family land and now new boss. She has big plans for Jack, including the getting-him-horizontal variety, and she always gets what she wants.

Jack is the family hard ass who’s trying to make amends. His plans of digging into the family secret he discovered are thwarted when he’s forced to work with Lillian, his gorgeous, pain-in-the-ass neighbor.

But a night of passion will unlock the secrets surrounding them and change both their lives forever.

Warning: This book contains a spitfire woman who doesn’t take no for an answer and a strong alpha mountain lion shifter whose preverbal bark really is as a bad as his bite.



Mandy is giving away any eBook from THE WOODS FAMILY series to one lucky winner! To enter for a chance to win all you have to do is fill out the rafflecopter below :) 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

GRAND PRIZE GIVEAWAY:
Mandy is giving away a $100.00 Gift Card to either Amazon or B&N (winner’s choice) to celebrate the release of SURROUNDED BY SECRETS.

TWO runners up will receive an eBook of SURROUNDED BY SECRETS.

To Enter:
Fill out the Rafflecopter widget below.  The more tasks you complete, the more points you get.

a Rafflecopter giveaway




Mandy Harbin is the author of several books across multiple romance genres that range from contemporary to paranormal erotic romance. Her books include the award winning Darkest Sin, an erotic romantic suspense and first in the new Darkest series. Mandy also continues to work on her Possession series, which explores BDSM elements with Digital Possession being the series starter, and the ever popular Woods Family series, which began with the best seller Surrounded by Woods. She lives in a small Arkansas town with her family and can be reached via:

Continue Reading...

2.26.2013

Tuesday Jams #22


Tuesday Jams is a weekly post hosted by Sharonda @ Salacious Reads. This is a way to share with others your love (other then books of course) for music! Want to participate? Easy! Head on over to Salacious Reads & link back up with her Tuesday Jams post in her comments section!
So, last week I was listening to a lot of old school and was stuck for a good long while listening to disco music. AAANND you know what that means! DISCO WEEK! Oh, yeah! *turns up the speakers and starts dancing* 
This week, I decided to go with ABBA! I absolutely love this group ^_^ I remember listening to them growing up and *cough* performing a dance or two at weddings and talent family gatherings *cough* lol. My sister and I were grocery shopping the other day and Dancing Queen came on the speakers and we were dancing up and down the isles trying to remember the dance we learned when we were kids. Yeah, my family was big on entertainment lol. Elementary school talent show champs! lol 

Click play on the music player below to listen to a few songs by ABBA! Enjoy :)


Continue Reading...

Manicure Monday #1

Manicure Monday is a meme hosted by Nite Lite Book Reviews. Take your current read and give yourself one fantastic manicure! 
Hi guys! I know this is a whole day late, I was just super busy on Monday *le sigh* Anywho... on to the meme!

So, I saw this fantabulous meme while browsing blogs and I just HAD to participate. I LURVE nail polish (anything girly, really) So, I figured I'd challenge myself to give myself mani's to go with the book I'm currently reading. This is a fairly new meme on NLBR, but if you're a tote girly girl like myself, jump right on in and share your awesome mani's :)

This week I'm currently reading two books, but I figured I'd do my nails based on the physical book, rather then an eBook lol. I'm currently reading Three Sisters by Susan Mallery.

SUMMARY:

After Andi Gordon is jilted at the altar, she makes the most impetuous decision of her life – buying one of the famed Three Sisters Queen Anne houses on Blackberry Island. Now the proud-ish owner of the ugly duckling of the trio, she plans to open her own pediatric office on the first floor, just as soon as her hunky contractor completes the work. Andi's new future may be coming together, but the truth is she's just as badly in need of a major renovation as her house.


When Deanna Phillips confronts her husband about a suspected affair, she opens up a Pandora's Box of unhappiness. And he claims that she is the problem. The terrible thing is, he's right. In her quest to be the perfect woman, she's lost herself, and she's in danger of losing her entire family if things don't change.

Next door, artist Boston King thought she and her college sweetheart would be married forever. Their passion for one other has always seemed indestructible. But after tragedy tears them apart, she's not so sure. Now it's time for them to move forward, with or without one another.

Thrown together by fate and geography, and bound by the strongest of friendships, these three women will discover what they're really made of: laughter, tears, love and all.

Alright, as some of you know, I'm not very good with taking pictures of my nails *sigh* It's like...a mission for me to get a dang good picture lol. So, I took a picture and did a lil mini video for y'all to see :) 

See? Horrible lighting >.<

(sorry for the music...I was on a country high that night lol) 

And here's the video :) Gah. I'm so regretting clipping and filing my nails >.< They feel uber weird. They're usually way longer than this, but ehhh >.< So, on the cover, it's kind of like a sunset kinda thing and the book is set on Blackberry Island, so I figured I'd do a ombre (hence the messiness) background (light blue, white and yellow) and then on my ring fingers I attempted to make little birdies. lol. It's a total fail. I don't have a nail art brush, or a fine paint brush for that matter, so I used a toothpick....and failed. lol. But, it's still cute, que no?
Continue Reading...

About

Brazen Babe Reviews begin its inception in the Year of Our Lord 2014. It's the brain child of two bloggers Ana (Beach Bum Reviews) and Sharonda (SalaciousReads). Here in our lovely little corner of the inter-web, we will share our love of pop culture which will encompass books, movies, TV, make-up and you know life...

Sooo...Relax, have a glass of wine (or whatever your poison is) sit back and enjoy!

*Note, we are currently not accepting Review Requests.

Instagram