6.28.2014

Photo-A-Day Challeng ~ All the Rest of It



Hosted by my girl Anna over at Herding Cats & Burning Soup, this is a different challenge. Post a photo everday following the prompts Anna has listed back at her blog. Today is...Everything (June 14-June 30).




this pic encompasses friendship & childhood (my sisters & cousin)






        

Inspire/Stripes


Obsession

Self






Nature (my nephew Keeshawn - our day at the aquarium)

Favorite Color (black)

Movement (another pic at the aquarium..that stingray was moving!)
                                                                          Toys                                  

Looking Out
Hero? Anyone/anyting can be my hero as long as they go by the definition below
  1. A hero or heroine refers to characters who, in the face of danger and adversity or from a position of weakness, display courage and the will for self-sacrifice—that is, heroism—for some greater good of all humanity.Wikipedia

My Handwriting (this is it...lols)








 photo 20140113_153938_zps3906a419.jpg I'm a avid reader who enjoys a good book, good music, loves red wine and has an unhealthy obsession with the sexxy alpha males she reads about. You can find me on Twitter and Facebook.
Continue Reading...

SalaciousRandomness



How I feel about my latest read







 photo 20140113_153938_zps3906a419.jpg I'm a avid reader who enjoys a good book, good music, loves red wine and has an unhealthy obsession with the sexxy alpha males she reads about. You can find me on Twitter and Facebook.
Continue Reading...

6.26.2014

#99cent Deals-Freebie-Book Sales







What can you catch on sale or a freebie in the interracial/multicutral romance genre right now? well...take a look see.






Check the prices and the book length to see if the items above are something you're interested in, the links take you to Amazon. I'm going to do this every Friday so if you see a book on sale or a freebie in the IR/MC genre...hit your girl up. Authors, want to spotlight your sale/freebie book in this post? email me at salaciousreads@gmail.com. 





 photo 20140113_153938_zps3906a419.jpg I'm a avid reader who enjoys a good book, good music, loves red wine and has an unhealthy obsession with the sexxy alpha males she reads about. You can find me on Twitter and Facebook.
Continue Reading...

6.25.2014

Review: Hold On by LaVerne Thompson







Source: Purchased
Format: eBook (Mobi-Kindle)
Published: June 5, 2014
Isisindc Publishing, LLC.
Blurb
Series: No
Author: LaVerne Thompson
Genre: Romantic Suspense/Interracial Romance
Sex: Sexual Content (18+)
Available: Amazon





I'm going to start by telling you exactly why this book didn't work for me. The plot was not believable, the love scenes I just wanted to be over and the romance happened too fast, I mean these two were in love with each other within a week..seriously? I stopped complaining about insta-love in novella's but this one was just...

I'm all for hero worshipping the guy that saved you, but a week?

Stephan Grayson saves Lena Douglas from a very horrible home invasion and a possible rape. From here, the story takes a crazy left turn. Lena finds out that she's being stalked and she doesn't know why. All she knows is that Stephan saved her life and now they are trying to keep the crazy person from attemping to hurt her again.

This story is so far fetched, that is the only word I can say for it. The perp that attacked Lena gets away AFTER he's arrested. Find out that her ex-fiance is the one who hired the perp to stalk and oh yeah rape her too! Find out that her ex is crazy (well that's a no brainer especially if you hire someone to rape your ex). Find out that the man is a big ol freak, like a whips and chains kind of a freak...it wasn't Lena's thing so this is why she broke off her engagement with him. Find out she only knew the fiance for a year...*sigh*

Stephan and Lena were not convincing as a couple, they were awkward and stiff. Stephan wasn't convincing as a strong male lead, he was unforgettable and Lena? ugh, her off and on feelings towards Stephan got on my nerves. Oh I love him...I have such strong feelings for him BUT then it was Oh, I'm moving too quick...I only knew him for a week. You think? Lena cried too dang on much...like every five minutes, this chick was crying. I'm not sure how the author wanted her to portray her to readers because one minute she was this crying mess and then the next she was all like I am woman hear me roar.

I rolled my eyes so many times while reading this story, I thought I was going to get a eye cramp.


*um, I have a thing for Dean it seems these days ;)

I've read LaVerne Thompson before and loved her other work, but this story. It was not to my liking at all. There is no character development and the world building happened too quickly and it is vague, there was no rhyme or reason to any of it. This is a romantic suspense, but oh man...there is a passe romance and the suspense? well it wasn't suspenseful at all, it was a little boring and quite predictable.




 photo 20140113_153938_zps3906a419.jpg I'm a avid reader who enjoys a good book, good music, loves red wine and has an unhealthy obsession with the sexxy alpha males she reads about. You can find me on Twitter and Facebook.
Continue Reading...

Hump Day @ Salacious Reads

Hey Sexxy's!

This is just a random butt post. Happy Hump DaY!

Love those SomeeCard? enjoy ;)



*source





 photo 20140113_153938_zps3906a419.jpg I'm a avid reader who enjoys a good book, good music, loves red wine and has an unhealthy obsession with the sexxy alpha males she reads about. You can find me on Twitter and Facebook.
Continue Reading...

6.23.2014

Tuesday Jam #86 ~ Adele's Someone Like You

Want to share that song you been loving like crazy lately? Just grab the image above or make your own...and whether you have a blog or not, you can either leave your link in the linky below OR in the comment section. 

You can show a video, a music player..whateva suites your fancy. Just remember to have some fun!




Today, I've decided to go with the video of the song I thought fit perfectly to my latest read that I just finished. Tethered went so well with the words in Adele's song...anyway's enjoy beautifuls!









 photo 20140113_153938_zps3906a419.jpg I'm a avid reader who enjoys a good book, good music, loves red wine and has an unhealthy obsession with the sexxy alpha males she reads about. You can find me on Twitter and Facebook.
Continue Reading...

Vlog Book Review ~ Tethered by L. D. Davis









Source: Purchased
Format: eBook (NOOK)
Published: April 4, 2014
Series: No
Blurb
Self Published
Author: L.D. Davis
Genre: Contemporary Interracial Romance
Sex: Strong Sexual Content (18+)
Available: BN / Amazon





Teary lines that had me looking like Dean in Supernatural











Donya to Emmet
"We're eternally joined, Emmet," I sobbed softly. "That will never change. I will always love you, but this is not our time. Our time is not now."

Emmet to Donya
"I am ingrained in you. I am woven into every cell of your body. You cannot eradicate me without losing yourself, too."

Emmet & Donya towards the end
"Why were you outside?" I asked again when he settled his eyes on me.
"You called me."
I gasped and said "Wh-what?"
His big, damp hand connected with the skin over my heart. "You called me," he said again, in a softer tone.
Whatever power that made my crying cease minutes before was gone. A loud sob tore through me and before it could even fade, Emmet had pulled me into his arms. I held onto him fiercely and sobbed uncontrollably. He released me but cupped my face in his hands and bent slightly to look me in the eyes.
"I heard you baby," he said as his voice cracked. "I heard you."

Now tell me that shit ain't tear jerking...man...*sniff* I'm right there with you Dean, right there *sniff*.







 photo 20140113_153938_zps3906a419.jpg I'm a avid reader who enjoys a good book, good music, loves red wine and has an unhealthy obsession with the sexxy alpha males she reads about. You can find me on Twitter and Facebook.
Continue Reading...

Cutting the Budget - The Rest of June


Hosted by Shari over at Delighted Reader. It's a great way to keep track on that book spending limit we alwasy set ourselves up on, but never seem to follow.
(*taxes are included in book prices)

I haven't forgotten about my book budget...I really haven't. As far as posting my posts on Sunday, well...that folks is a whole nother story. The books I brought are below.

Secret Love Affair by Sondra Wells - $1.06
Betting the Billionaire by Avery Flynn - $1.06

Cover Krack




That folks is a total of 3 books brought in the month of June totaling $3.18 which......leaves me with the amount $26.82 left. I've been trying to get my review books & tbr list down so I've been also collectively staying away from book websites AND only trying to purchase books I really want to read. This also means my wishlist is growing.......

Besides the prices of some of these books make you want to just put your money away real quick, lols. 





 photo 20140113_153938_zps3906a419.jpg I'm a avid reader who enjoys a good book, good music, loves red wine and has an unhealthy obsession with the sexxy alpha males she reads about. You can find me on Twitter and Facebook.
Continue Reading...

6.22.2014

Quote-tastic #23 ~ When You miss Your first Kiss

Hosted by Anna over at Herding Cats & Burning Soup, join us every Monday and share a favorite quote from a favorite or current read. 

This weeks quote is courtesy of Tethered by L.D. Davis. I really liked this book...although I will say that the characters frustrated me to the nth power. The story starts in the present...skips back to the past and get us right back to the present, the quote below is from Donya's & Emmet's past. Catch my video review later today.


So....Donya feels she lost out on her first kiss because of Emmet. She & her best friend Emmy who is Emmet's little sister got a little tipsy at their first party. Emmet and his cousin Tack are trying to get them home.



"Hey," I said, smacking a hand against the glass. "Tack!".
He looked at me expectantly.
"Emmet stole my first kiss!"
"What?"
"Emmet stole my first kiss!"
He looked confused. I motioned for him to open the door. He opened the door and leaned down to see and hear me better.
"Emmet stole my first kiss," I said one more time.
He raised an eyebrow. "You're drunk."
"No, listen, listen, listen," I said waving a hand and swaying in my seat. "Jorge was about to kiss me. His lips were on my lips and Emmet punched him. Gave him a bloody mouth. I didn't want to kiss a bloody mouth, but then it didn't matter because Emmet got all caveman on me and dragged me out of the party."
"Uh," Tack said and scratched his head. "Isn't Jorge a little old for you? I mean, you're Tabby's age."
I rolled my eyes. "We're all about the same age," I said. "You're not that much older than me. I'll be fifteen in days. We're all still in high school. It's no big deal that he's a little bit older. What I'm trying to say is you can kiss me instead and make up for my lost kiss."
Tack looked very uncomfortable. He backed away from me and closed the door.
"Awww," I whined and rested my head against the cool glass.


bwahahahaha! oh goodness, that was frigging funny when I read it. Because I can see that happening, I swear I can...LOLs!!!!





 photo 20140113_153938_zps3906a419.jpg I'm a avid reader who enjoys a good book, good music, loves red wine and has an unhealthy obsession with the sexxy alpha males she reads about. You can find me on Twitter and Facebook.
Continue Reading...

6.21.2014

Happy Saturday!!!



Hey Sexxy's

this weekend Im off to do family stuff :) We're off to the aquarium...its going to be a fun day! Talk to you guys on Monday...have a great weekend!




Sharonda



 photo 20140113_153938_zps3906a419.jpg I'm a avid reader who enjoys a good book, good music, loves red wine and has an unhealthy obsession with the sexxy alpha males she reads about. You can find me on Twitter and Facebook.
Continue Reading...

6.17.2014

Video Book Review: Harmony by Sienna Mynx




Hi Beautifuls!

Below is my video review of Sienna Mynx's Harmony. This is a historical interracial romance set in 1920's. It is gooooooddddd!





Souce: Purchased
Format: eBook (NOOK)
Published: May 17, 2012
The Diva's Pen, LLC.
Blurb
Series: No
Author: Sienna Mynx
Genre: Historical Interracial Romance
Sex: Strong Sexual Content (18+)
Available: BN / Amazon / ARe











Favorite line/Part
I had many favorite sections of this book, but this one was tops. Vinnie has decided to give his life to save Harmony's...but she's not having it and they have a exhausting emotional fight.

"Don't punish me." he captured her lips and tried to force her to respond. "I love you so much," he said against her tightly pressed lips, then eased this tongue between her teeth. "The last thing... I want... is...to lose you," He breathed between deep throating her. If she stayed, he couldn't protect her. And if she left his death would be the only guarantee that she'd be free--he'd seen to it. 





 photo 20140113_153938_zps3906a419.jpg I'm a avid reader who enjoys a good book, good music, loves red wine and has an unhealthy obsession with the sexxy alpha males she reads about. You can find me on Twitter and Facebook.
Continue Reading...

About

Just a couple of Brazen ladies sharing the love of our favorite things...books, TV and a lil bit of other things. Relax, have a glass of wine (or whatever your poison is) and enjoy! *Note, we are currently not accepting Review Requests.

Blog Archive

Popular Posts