12.31.2014

#BookReview: Finding Us by Janet Eckford



Source: NetGalley (ARC)
Format: Mobi (Kindle)
Series: Destined for Love #4
Published: October 3, 2014
Author: Janet Eckford
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Heat: Medium to Strong Sexual Content
Available: Amazon | BN | ARe

My Review

You know looking at the cover of this book, I totally did not know what to expect. Funny, quirky, cussing ass characters?...definitely not!

Finding Us give us the story of Ella Daniels and Ian Nelson who have been fucking...*clears throat* I mean sleeping together for the past two years. They work together, can't really stand one another (not true) or so it seems. These two deciding that when they first started fucking...sorry, sleeping together, it would be no strings attached. Oh funny, how things start to change when folks start catching feelings.

When we go into this tale, Ella has decided that she must get her shit together and sleeping with Ian has to stop. Ian is use to temporary relationships but when Ella tells him that he basically has to get his shit and get out of her apartment, he is pissed and doesn't understand why. It's what he was expecting right? maybe not.

Ella has some fairy tale thoughts of how she thinks a man should be (daddy treated her like a princess issues) and Ian doesn't fit that mold and it's not like dude was a bad person. Ella made him into one because she couldn't deal with her own insecurities. To her Ian was a asshole, but he really wasn't.

Ian grew up with a mother who wasn't very much of one. He fought his way to the top in Hollywood becoming a well known and famous producer. Years of therapy has prepared him for rejection or did it? Ella breaking off their two year affair should have been okay...fine. So why is he so damn mad? Ian had is own issues, his mom pretty much fucked up his perspective early and as much as he hated to admit it, the man wanted to be loved (classic mommy issues).

The lines between these two especially Ella had be cracking up in my room. They were friggin hysterical.

"Ella's hand curled around the spatula she was holding. He'd eat it all, too. That's what really pissed her off. It was a shit of a omelet, like every shit omelet she'd ever made, but the big-headed bastard would eat it all." Ella

"If I make the the bed, you're just going to complain I didn't do it right. Which means I'll deny it. Which will only result in a fight and that's just a waste of time." She opened her mouth to complain more, but was stopped by him waving his fork at her. "You're making the bed means I get to finish my pie, which will give me more energy to go down on you longer." Ian

I don't think I laughed so hard while reading a book in a long while so thank you Ms. Eckford for that. Ian and Ella were good and bad for each other which in turn made them perfect for each other. I loved the realness of their "relationship"...how they argued back and forth and then would be texting each other about things. Finding Us is the perfect title for this story. Because these two? They needed to find themselves and maybe a little bit of jeezus too, lols.

Looking for a short, funny story with totally off the wall characters..you got it in Finding Us. Also, even though this is the fourth book in the series, I wasn't lost as each book deals with a new couple. I'm seriously going to have to go back and read the rest of the books.

My Rating

*books 1 & 2 in the series are .99 cents and books 3 &4 are $1.99. 








*remember to click on the blog post to share it...many thanks!




Continue Reading...

12.30.2014

Tuesday Jams #108

  

Want to share that song you been loving like crazy lately? Just grab the image above or make your own...and whether you have a blog or not, you can either leave your link in the linky below OR in the comment section.

You can show a video, a music player..whateva suites your fancy. Just remember to have some fun!


Okay...my other man crush beside Lenny K is Jared Leto. He is so damn sexxy and my goodness him with that hair and beard. Meow! I would tear his ass up girl! Yeess honey, he would be very very in love with me...LMBO!!!  Now before I get man stalker on ya'll, I do love his band. Thirty Seconds to Mars has always been a favorite of mine and below are some of their songs that I listen to most.











Linky up Ya'll
okay, I took a clue from my buddy Braine over at Talk Supe. With this meme, I've decided to just have folks add there label link. Instead of posting every Tuesday, just add  your label link for this meme and that way whenever you choose to do a Jam, it will show here regardless. Let's make this easy eh?








*remember to click on the blog post to share it...many thanks!




Continue Reading...

12.29.2014

#BookReview: The Christmas Tree Guy by Railyn Stone


Source: Purchased
Format: Mobi (Kindle)
Series: NA
Published: November 4, 2014
Author: Railyn Stone
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Heat: Mild to Medium Sex
Available: Amazon | BN | ARe | Kobo

My Review

Sydnee who is eight years older than Quinn is recently divorced and is adjusting to being a single mom to her twin boys. She meets Quinn when she takes her boys shopping for a Christmas tree. Quinn works at his uncles tree farm every year to help out, he is also a fitness trainer full time.

I liked the story because of Quinn to tell you the truth, he was younger than Sydnee but he knew exactly what he wanted. He was a straight shooter and he told Sydnee upfront that he didn't play games. So why she gave him such a hard time throughout the story? IDK, but I do know that ol' girl worked my damn nerves. She was too much with the back and forth about her feelings. I mean I got her reservations about dating a younger dude...and he is white...and she has kids and what will her family & friends think, but my gawd! and then there was her mother...

jeezus take the wheel

I just felt that she was giving way too many bs excuses not to be with Quinn mainly because of their age difference even though he proved time and time again that he was a stand up dude.

Overall? The Christmas Tree Guy is a good story with decent characters and just enough angst in it. Drove me more than a little nuts at times, but I still enjoyed it. Sydnee had to realize that sometimes what some folks think isn't good for you is exactly what you need. This is a nice pick you up for the Holidays.

My Rating







*remember to click on the blog post to share it...many thanks!
Continue Reading...

12.28.2014

Bought, Borrowed & Bagged #15

BB&B (Bought, Borrowed & Bagged) is a weekly meme, inspired by The Story Siren and Pop Culture Junkie, where we share with you the books that we have bought, borrowed or bagged (won or gifted) plus a recap of the previous week's review, upcoming reviews, on going events and book movie or television news.

BB&B is an homage Barron's Books & Baubles from Karen Marie Moning's smash hit series, Fever.

To link up with BB&B head on over to Talk Supe!

Happy After Christmas! We hope ya'll enjoyed your Holiday and got some pretty awesome stuff! 
A lot of authors had some good sales over the week and I went a little crazy...the new year is looking very good as far as books go, lols! 







This pass week I binged on another Anime, recommended by Yvonne Nicholas...an author I follow on FB. She's a big fan of it and she now tags me in shows she watched and loved. Psycho-Pass was awesome and I'm glad I got to watch it. I wasn't a fan of the ending though...it just rubbed me the wrong way. 


Our exciting posts!
  • Not a lot went on last week Beautifuls and probably not a lot this upcoming week. We do have a couple of reviews that will be posted...Happy New Year!
 
Stay Tuned Brazen Babes....

  • None ATM!

Thanks for stopping by our BB&B! Make sure to link up at Talk Supe and if you participated feel free to leave your link in the comment section below xoxo. 

And as always check the prices before you click!





*remember to click on the blog post to share it...many thanks!
Continue Reading...

12.23.2014

Tuesday Jams #107

  

Want to share that song you been loving like crazy lately? Just grab the image above or make your own...and whether you have a blog or not, you can either leave your link in the linky below OR in the comment section.

You can show a video, a music player..whateva suites your fancy. Just remember to have some fun!


More Azealia Banks...yo! I'm straight digging this chick. Lyrically, she reminds me of a Queen Latifah, Eve...old skool chicks.







Linky up Ya'll
okay, I took a clue from my buddy Braine over at Talk Supe. With this meme, I've decided to just have folks add there label link. Instead of posting every Tuesday, just add  your label link for this meme and that way whenever you choose to do a Jam, it will show here regardless. Let's make this easy eh?








*remember to click on the blog post to share it...many thanks!





Continue Reading...

12.19.2014

#CoverReveal: Masquerade: Scandalous Ballroom Encounters by Victoria Vale


Coming Valentine’s Day 2015
Scandalous Ballroom Encounters is a series of erotic romances set against the dazzling, opulent backdrop of the Regency era in London, England. Lords and Ladies were expected to behave with propriety during those times … but what happened behind closed doors, when no one could witness the debauched and lusty encounters between members of the nobility?



Margaret Seymour is bored by the stifling constraints of society dictating her behavior as a debutante in search of a husband. Her prospects are promising by the standards of London society, yet, not one of them causes her heart to flutter, or her head to fill with scintillating, forbidden fantasies. Those feelings are reserved for Camden Rycroft, Duke of Avonleah—a man who isn’t even aware of her existence.
While attending a scandalous Vauxhall Gardens masquerade, Margaret finds herself in the duke’s arms. His promise of a night of pleasure is tempting, but is it worth it when Avonleah is a known rake notorious for his short attention span and avoidance of marriage?
Camden Rycroft is intrigued by the masked vixen he encounters in the Gardens. After one night with her leaves him hungry for more, his desire for her turns into a fiery obsession. Despite the scandal that could ensue from their affair, he finds himself unable to extract himself from a situation destined to end in pain. When faced with losing Margaret to a potential husband, will he rise to the occasion, or risk living without her?


Her breath caught in her throat as his hand came up to her face, thumb stroking her cheek before finding her lower lip in a gentle caress.
“Maggie,” he whispered. “How is it that I have managed to go so long without knowing you? I feel certain I could never have forgotten you if we’d met.”
She swallowed past the lump in her throat, her chest heaving as her breath raced between her parted lips. “I-I do not know,” she stammered. “We have never been properly introduced, but have attended many of the same functions. B-but, I’m not … that is to say … I am not always so daringly dressed, nor are my parents as wealthy or titled as you. We may occupy the same ballrooms, but we are not within the same circles, I’m afraid.”
He creased his brow at that. “Still, it was wretched of me not to notice you. Now that I’ve seen your face, I feel certain I’d never forget it.”
A half-smile pulled at the corner of her lips. “You cannot know how long I have wanted that,” she said, her voice dropping to a near-whisper as she lowered her eyes.
He chuckled. “Surely my notice is not worth so much.”
She shrugged. “For a young debutante prone to flights of romantic whimsy, it is,” she admitted. Maggie knew she should not say these things. Beyond this night, she could not fathom anything more coming of their little liaison. To bare her secrets to him would only leave her vulnerable to the pain to be endured when it was over. Yet, she could not stop now that she’d given voice to her deepest desires. “You must know how many hearts you’ve stolen simply by walking into a room. Many a night, I have watched you take a lady into your arms and waltz with her, wishing that I could be her. To be so close to you, moving together … to know your scent and your touch …” She paused, realizing that she’d said far too much.
Camden circled behind her, placing his hands upon her shoulders. His lips brushed the back of her neck and she shivered. “I cannot deny that knowing you have watched me from afar all this time does not bring me pleasure, Maggie,” he murmured, his lips tracing a path toward her ear. “When you watched me with those women, did you wonder if there was more to our association than a simple waltz would suggest?”
She nodded in response, unable to speak when he was nibbling at her neck, teasing the most deliciously sensitive spot just beneath her ear.
“You wondered if any of them would accompany me home, didn’t you? You thought about what I might be doing to them once I got them here.”
Maggie groaned as he took the shell of her ear between his teeth. “Yes,” she sighed. “I did.”
“How did you feel when you thought about it—when you imagined all the wicked things I did to those other ladies?” His hands worked at the buttons running down her back, sliding them loose one by one, opening her gown.
“Jealous,” she admitted.
He gripped the sleeves and pulled, lowering her gown to the floor and leaving it in a pool around her feet. He grasped her waist and pulled her against him, his lips trailing along her shoulder. “Did you fantasize about me, Maggie? Did you wonder what it would be like to be one of them?”
“I did,” she said, her voice low and husky. “At night, alone in my bed, I closed my eyes and tried to imagine what it was like to be with you.”
“Oh Maggie,” he said, his voice tinged with amusement and mock horror. “Never say you were ever so naughty.”
She giggled, biting her lower lip and leaning back against him, resting her head on his chest. “I was.”
“You touched yourself when you thought about me, didn’t you?” One of his hands slid across her stomach, lowering slowly toward the apex of her thighs. “Did you pleasure yourself to your fantasies of me?”
She gasped as he cupped her mons, his fingers massaging gently and drawing moisture from within. “Yes,” she said, her voice strained as he continued to tease her. “Yes, I did.”
“Show me,” he whispered, removing his hand.
Maggie groaned in agitation, wishing for his touch again. Yet, he seemed to be waiting for her to fulfill his command.
“Show me how you pleasured yourself, Maggie,” he said, his voice a bit rougher this time—a demand she dared not refuse. Not if she wished for more of the pleasure he could give her.



*click on the words to enter the giveaway

In celebration of her debut release, Victoria’s author friends have donated various ebooks and audiobooks to her cover reveal giveaway!



Victoria Vale has written over two dozen Romance and Young Adult novels under various pseudonyms. As a lover of erotic romance, she enjoys nothing more than a sexy hero paired with a sassy heroine, flavored with a dash of spice and lots of heat. A wife and mother of three, she enjoys reading (of course), cooking, sewing … and other activities that aren’t appropriate for inclusion in a biography.
Visit her online 
Like her on Facebook
Follow her on Twitter
Friend her on Goodreads 
Sign up for her mailing list 





*remember to click on the blog post to share it...many thanks!
Continue Reading...

12.17.2014

#BookReview: Junglecat Honeymoon (Manattan Ten 3.5) by Lola Dodge


Source: Author
Series: Manhattan Ten 3.5
Published: December 2, 2014
Genere: Superhero Romance
Available: Samhain (free)

My Review

So you marry the man that completes you and you complete him. He is the only one that can deal with your ice and he loves you fiercely for it.

Everything is good. The wedding was perfect, the dress is perfect, the guest were perfect, your friends are perfect. Your mother-in-law?....not so much.

She decides that she must challenge you...that you must prove that your are worthy of her son, that you will protect her son. Pfft! did this woman not know who Ivory is? smh, I don't think she does.

Oh, but she will learn and so will the rest of Panther's tribe when they decide to kidnap Ivory and drop her in the hot ass jungle somewhere in friggin South America and then...then they had the nerve to take her ice, her power. Well! Ivory needs her power, but she is still kick ass without it. On the eve of her wedding day, she has to fight her way to her new husband and battle some of Panther's people to get to him...including his hot as hell muthafudging brother, Quan.

This was a quick and fun read, I absolutely loved it. Ivory and Panther are just so hot and cold together...I love their love. And I just adored how all the time Ivory was fighting her way to her man, she maintained her warrior instincts and didn't kill any of Panther's people, but I bet none of them won't mess with her anymore, lols.

Junglecat Honeymoon is a great addition to the series. Ivory has grown so much...she seriously reminds me of Storm from X-Men, a warrior queen just kicking ass when it needs to be kicked. I do suggest that you read Panther's and Ivory full length tale, Ivory first before you jump into Junglecat Honeymoon...it gives you so much more about both of them.

So we now have a new character in play, Quan...Panthers brother and I'm willing to grant him a little lead way because he's hot and like to walk around without a shirt on. Melissa over at Lily Element and I get to share brothers now, no more fighting over big ol sexxy ass Panthers ;D. Thank you Lola Dodge...you are the best. I look forward to reading more about him...he's describe as a bit wild, so I'm wondering what female is going to tame this jungle cat.

And I end with this. I get that what his mother was trying to do BUT if old girl would have kidnapped me at my wedding reception and dropped my ass in the hot ass jungle, after all is said and done...she would have gotten more than a icy stare.

drop me in the hot muggy ass jungle...oooo, lady! straight Bruce Lee on that butt!


My Rating

*Bonus Round
I haven't done a review inspired song in a while now. So I'm listening to Nicki Minaj & all I could think of was Only when I was reading this..I think it fits Ivory perfectly, I mean she is a bad mojo. What do you think Lola?











*remember to click on the blog post to share it...many thanks!
Continue Reading...

About

Just a couple of Brazen ladies sharing the love of our favorite things...books, TV and a lil bit of other things. Relax, have a glass of wine (or whatever your poison is) and enjoy! *Note, we are currently not accepting Review Requests.

Blog Archive

Popular Posts