12.29.2015

Tueday Jams #142




It's time to get back to the basics, so that is what we are going to do at BnB. Tuesday Jams is  back to is regularly scheduled post, lols. Without further ado...ado....

Want to share that song you been loving like crazy lately? Just grab the image above or make your own...and whether you have a blog or not; you can show a video, a music player..whateva suites your fancy. Just remember to have fun!


Continue Reading...

12.25.2015

Happy Holidays!!


We wish and your family a very Merry Christmas. Whether you celebrate the day or not, remember what the day is about. Have a blessed and peaceful day!










*remember to click on the blog post to share it...many thanks!
Continue Reading...

12.16.2015

#BookReview ~ Miranda's Delimma by Natasha Blackthorne (#HistoricalRomance)


Source: Author
Format: Mobi (Kindle)
Series: NA
Heat: Strong Sexual Content
Genre: Erotic Historical Romance
Available: Amazon (US) | Amazon (UK) | +Goodreads (Blurb/Shelf It)
*Also available via Kindle Unlimited



My Review


Ah, a story of two people who despise the lifestyle of each other BUT their attractions towards one another will test their boundaries and question their dislike.


Continue Reading...

12.15.2015

Tuesday Jams #141




It's time to get back to the basics, so that is what we are going to do at BnB. Tuesday Jams is  back to is regularly scheduled post, lols. Without further ado...ado....

Want to share that song you been loving like crazy lately? Just grab the image above or make your own...and whether you have a blog or not; you can show a video, a music player..whateva suites your fancy. Just remember to have fun!


Continue Reading...

12.08.2015

Tuesday Jam #140




It's time to get back to the basics, so that is what we are going to do at BnB. Tuesday Jams is  back to is regularly scheduled post, lols. Without further ado...ado....

Want to share that song you been loving like crazy lately? Just grab the image above or make your own...and whether you have a blog or not; you can show a video, a music player..whateva suites your fancy. Just remember to have fun!


Continue Reading...

12.07.2015

Whine & Write #2: I'm a Reader and I Don't Have To Deal With The Nonsense


You know when Ana & I started this blog, the name Brazen Babe Reviews spoke to us because we wanted to be a little more Brazen in our thoughts in not just about the books we read but how we feel about blogging and other things. So we (well Ana really, lols) came up with the idea of Whine & Write, where we would talk or rant about things that are on our minds and the plus we get to share with you our favorite drinks, sort of like a bought to you by....lols. Fair warning these posts may sometimes be encouraged by our love of Wine/Booze/Liquor. 


I’m writing this post because I’m not particularly feeling a certain way but I am...get what I’m saying here? After talking with some fellow bloggers and seeing random posts *sigh*. Here is the thing, I’ve been at this blogging game for a minute now and no way am I an expert on the subject but it’s a space where I felt that there wasn’t so much drama in and when I say that, I mean no author drama, blogger drama...damn drama lamas. But of late, I’ve been seeing some things that have me like...



Mainly, a lot of folks be out here screaming *these ho's aint loyal*


Continue Reading...

12.05.2015

The Wiz Live!: What I Thought


The Wiz Live! aired on NBC December 3rd and it was everythang! I'm not even gonna go on about the racists tweets from dumb people that didn't realize that this was Tony award winning Broadway show and movie that debuted 40 years ago. I will not go on about the POC who complained about dumb shit like the costumes and other irrevelant nonsense once the production did air....Jeezus and lawt, I will not.  NBC won the day that day because they aired an all black production on prime time TV. Ya'll, I am damn impressed.

It was like going down memory lane for me, I didn't see the broadway play but I did see the movie that was adapted from the play. I was in awe! There were some subtle changes but the live version stayed true to the Broadway play roots and Stephanie Mills who played Dorothy in the original stage play returned as Aunt Em and ghurl, she still got dem pipes!

Continue Reading...

12.04.2015

#BookReview: Wrapped In Red by Mika Jolie (#ContemporaryRomance) #Giveaway



Hosted by Between The Sheets Promotions
welcome to our stop in Mika Jolie's tour for her newest release Wraped In Red



Wrapped In Red
Mika Jolie
Contemporary Romance
December 2, 2015

Book Deets

Christmas is a time to be merry and bright. For Minka Montgomery, it’s anything but.

While Martha’s Vineyard bursts with festive lights and good cheer, a black shadow parades around and within Minka. With her Christmas spirit conspicuously absent, her marriage to Jason Montgomery has snowballed and is spiraling out of control.

The weight of motherhood–and her new role as a wife–presses on her shoulders. Self-doubt creeps in and swiftly turns to hopelessness.


Continue Reading...

12.03.2015

His For The Night by Elle Wright (#ContemporaryRomance)


Hosted by Tasty Book Tours, 
welcome to our stop in Elle Wright's His All Night book tour. 



His All Night
Edge of Scandal #2
By: Elle Wright
Releasing November 24, 2015
Forever

Book Deets

THE PRICE OF PLEASURE

In relationships, Calisa Harper has clear rules: no expectations, no commitments, no one gets hurt. She doesn’t need a diamond ring to bring her happiness. She just needs Jared. Fine, fit, and ferocious in bed, Jared is Calisa’s ideal combination of friend and lover. But the no-strings status they’ve shared for years is about to get very tangled.


Continue Reading...

11.27.2015

Whine & Write #1: #DiverseReading (#RandomThoughts and #Givewaway)


Ana & I wanted to come up with something where we could whine about stuff but make it a bit fun, so the idea of Whine & Write was born. Fair warning these posts may sometimes be encouraged by our love of Wine/Booze/Liquor.



My whine today has to do with folks not doing what they're suppose to do.  My grandmother had a saying, "if you're going to do something, do it right...don't half ass do it". So due to lame excuses and general "I don't give a f**ks", I'm just going to talk about #DiverseReading. I'll share a couple of books I lurved so far this year and what I would like to see more in my reads.

Continue Reading...

11.23.2015

#BookReview: Chasing Day Series by Twyla Turner (#ContemporaryRomance)


Source: ARC Provided by Author
Format: ePub (NOOK)
Series: Chasing Day
Author: Twyla Turner
Heat: Medium to Strong Sexual Content
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Available: Amazon | +Goodread (Blub / Shelf it)

My Review
I liked...no, I will say I loved this story because it gives you such a indepth look into these two people who are trying to make a relationship work despite “life” coming in and fudging it all up.

Take Chase and Day who have known each other since childhood...next door neighbors and all that. So, yeah...you would think this would be easy, right? well whoever said loving someone was easy just straight lied. And it’s not like these two had issues dealing with their race because this is a interracial romance. I’m going to go off key for a moment and say that I’m glad this Ms. Twyla didn’t get all racial on me.  I am still a firm believer in loving who you want no matter their skin complexion but unfortunately in this world we live it...that is a wet dream that is NOT good. But the author didn’t focus so much on that, you just knew that Chase is white and Daylen is black...that’s it.

Now their relationship? ghuurll! *let just pull up this damn chair and speak candidly* and I’m not going spill too many secrets but here go my issues and likes.

Continue Reading...

11.19.2015

#CoverReveal: Wrapped In Red by Mika Jolie (#ContemporaryRomance)


Hosted by Book Enthusiasts Promotions, we are excited to be a part of the Cover Reveal for Mika Jolie's upcoming release...take a look ;)

WrappedinRed_fullres


Book Title: Wrapped in Red (Martha's Way) 
Author: Mika Jolie 
Genre: Contemporary Romance 
Release Date:December 2, 2015 
Hosted by: Book Enthusiast Promotions

Goodreads Button with Shadow

Book Deets 

Christmas is a time to be merry and bright. For Minka Montgomery, it’s anything but. While Martha’s Vineyard bursts with festive lights and good cheer, a black shadow parades around and within Minka. With her Christmas spirit conspicuously absent, her marriage to Jason Montgomery has snowballed and is spiraling out of control. The weight of motherhood – and her new role as a wife – presses on her shoulders. Self-doubt creeps in and swiftly turns to hopelessness. As her anxiety level rises, can she share what’s in her heart with her husband? Is there a branch of hope to hold on to? With Christmas only twelve days away, can she find her Christmas spirit and rediscover the true meaning of the season?


Continue Reading...

11.16.2015

#BookReview: A Virtuous Ruby by Piper Huguley (#HistoricalRomance)



Source: Purchased
Format: (Kindle)
Series: Migrations of the Heart #1
Author: Piper Huguley
Heat: Sweet Romance
Available: BN | Amazon  | Kobo | Goodreads (Blurb/Shelf it)

My Review

A Virtuous Ruby is the story of Ruby Bledsoe, a young black woman in a small town in Georgia who is when we come into the story just starting to show her face again. After months of hiding after being attacked and having a son from that bad experience, Ruby is trying to get her life back. She is also trying to help the black people in Winslow by starting her own chapter of the NAACP because of the injustices that they are facing. But Ruby runs into opposition not only from the Whites and the towns richest family, the Winslows....she also faces backlash from some of her people.

In comes Adam Morson, the illegitimate mixed race son of the towns proprietor, Paul Winslow. Adam has been summoned to Winslow by his father because the town needs a Doctor for its colored residents. Adam being a Doctor comes at his fathers request but also initially comes with the hope of having some type of relationship with the man he never knew.


Continue Reading...

11.10.2015

#BookReview: A Demon In Waiting by Holley Trent (#ParanormalRomance)



Source: Purchased
p/o box set
Format: Mobi (Kindle)
Series: Sons of Gulielmus #1
Author: Holley Trent
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Heat: Light Sexual Content
Avaialbe: Amazon | BN (Box Set)
Amazon | BN  
Goodreads (Blurb/Shelf it)


My Review

A Demon In Waiting was a quite the read. There is a virgin half incubus, a woman who doesn't know she half angel and a whole sort of other Supes. The virgin is John, coming into his incubus powers when he turns twenty-eight...John who is raised in a cult is offered a job by his real dad Gulielmus. Gulielmus who is a fallen angel turned Incubus and just so happens to work for #TeamEvil recruits John to work for him. Basically to go around the world corrupting women, taking their souls, tainting them...yada yada.


Continue Reading...

11.03.2015

#BookReview: Deeper Than Need by Shiloh Walker (#RomanceSuspense)



Source: via author assistant
Format: ARC
Series: Secrets & Shadows #1
Author: Shiloh Walker
Genre: Romance Suspense
Available: BN | Amazon | ARe | Goodreads (Blurb/Shelf it)

My Review

I enjoyed this, it was good blend of romance and suspsense. Noah has been fighting his demons for a long while but he's getting better. The women and the booze have stopped completely, all he does is work now. He still mourns Lana...his high school sweetheart who went missing years ago along with the David, the son of the town's richest family. Drowning himself in work, Noah tries to forget but can't.

In comes Trinity Ewing, moving in from New York to Madison. Trinity wants to start over, leave her past life and her ex-husband back in the city. Madison seems like a good place to start over. Two things though: One, the gorgeous contractor who is fixing up her fixer-upper. Two, the dead body that turns up in the house she now owns.


Continue Reading...

10.31.2015

#CoverReveal: Chasing Day Series by Twyla Turner (#ContemporaryRomance)




Hey Girl Hey!

Today, yes today! We have a cover reveal by Ms. Turner. You have seen us review and spotlight some of her previous works but this woman is keeping it a trucking. She has a new two-series coming out soon and, and she will be releasing it as a Box Set! so, yeah enough of me talking. Please welcome Ms. Twyla back to Brazen Babe Reviews.


Continue Reading...

10.21.2015

#MovieReview: Beasts Of No Nation






Director: Cary Joji Fukunaga
Drama
Length: 2 hrs, 17 mins
Starring: Abraham Attah | Edris Elba | Emmanuel Affadzi | Ricky Adelayitor

About: A drama based on the experiences of Agu, a child soldier fighting in the civil war of an unnamed African country.







My Review


This is going to be a simple review although this is not a simple movie. When I heard about Beasts of No Nation, I was excited about it because Idris Elba was going to play a character in the movie and I have to take that back (but not so much because ya’ll know I love me some of that man!)...I take it back because I had no idea the movie would have such an impact on me and really the character Mr. Elba plays has little to do with this move. I mean he does as his character affects the young boys and men around him, their actions. But its not about him or his character, this movie is about Agu, a child soldier. This movie is about all of the child soldiers like Agu we hear about but know nothing of at all.


I don’t want to give spoilers for the folks that have not watched this film as of yet. But I will tell you that this is a heavy, deep and oh so very emotional drama. It follows Agu as he loses his family in war and becomes one of the many soldiers under “Commandant” played by Mr. Elba. You watch in muted horror and dismay the reality these young boys and men have to face as they are given no choices. It was either become a soldier or die. The violence is unspeakable and heartbreaking. You watch as they become desensitized to death and the very world around them.


The boys are taking advantage of by many and mainly by the men who they come to look up to as father figures. I can never fathom what goes on in wars that young children have to deal with on a daily basis, my children will never know it either. But after watching Beasts of No Nation, I pray to God that we will never have to face it. Because any child or adult that lives through THAT and comes away from it with their mind, body and very soul intact is nothing short of amazing. I can remember always telling my son “You think you have it hard, take a look at some of these children around the world faced with nothing”. Shit, I’m making him watch the movie this weekend. You upset because you couldn’t get the latest whatever. Look at what these boys have to face just to eat!


The acting is superb and Mr. Elba is the only “known” star you will see in Beasts of No Nation. But again, this movie is not about him. The young man that played Agu, give him the Oscar this year...he deserves it. The scenery is telling, you are there for everything. You feel the terror of the victims, the menace of the perpetrators, the despair of everyone.


I’ve seen some reviews where folks are complaining about why wasn’t a country in Africa named, why this and why that? I just shake my head. Because I don’t think this director wanted that. I think he wanted anonymity in certain things AGAIN because, I believe he wanted you to focus on these young boys. Their situations, what they have to deal with when given no other options, when they lose so much and gain so very little.


I was an emotional mess while watching this. You see most movies like this and you think “oh lawd, they gonna Hollywood it up”. I can’t say they did that here, there is no glamorization of anything at all. It’s all ugly and after watching, you sitting there thinking...just “damn”. To see this from a child's perspective is...I don't even have the words, I just don't. But I will tell you this, after watching Beasts of No Nation, it will be a movie you'll never forget. It will stay with you.

This movie is about War and it's effects on the people surrounded by it both Adults and Children. This movie is about Agu, a child soldier and his experiences while at war. It’s worth seeing.


Rating

Movie Trailer









*remember to click on the blog post to share it...many thanks!
Continue Reading...

10.19.2015

#BookReview: Dutch (The Keeper Series #1) by Madhuri Blaylock




Source: Provided by Author 
Format: Mobi
Series: The Keeper #1
Heat Level: Strong Sexual Content
Genre: Dark Paramormal Romance
Available: TBD (Definitly in October)
GoodReads (Blub/Shelf It)


My Review

Hey Girl Hey! It’s been a minute right? But that long tedious story is for another day but it is good to post again. To get my thoughts down about a book that I enjoyed, really enjoyed.

So what book am I talking about today? Dutch, yes Dutch. Dutch is a paranormal, dark, freaky and sexy story. Let me just say right off the back that I love when I can dip into a paranormal story and just fall into the world. Because sometimes I feel like most stories are just the same ol regurgitated mess right? It’s very rare when reading these type stories that your are moved...most the time you are rolling your eyes (or at least I am…) and thinking “I’ve read this before”. But Dutch? shit and nizt!


Continue Reading...

10.08.2015

A Dose of Passion by Sharon C. Cooper: #BookSpotlight

A Dose of Passion 


by Sharon C. Cooper
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo Books | All Romance Books
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Published by: Harlequin Kimani Romance
Release Date: October 1, 2015
Length: 224 Pages

Book Deets
A prescription for sweet satisfaction…

Pediatrician Macy Carter has been so busy expanding her practice she’s had no time to build the family she craves. Her late, much-loved surrogate father apparently had some matchmaking in mind when he arranged for a sexy architect to take over his home and company. Too bad Derek is a single dad who’s been there, done that, and intends to remain unattached. Their priorities are totally out of sync. Their chemistry? Unbelievably potent.

Thanks to his former mentor, Derek Logan just inherited an architectural business, a house and the gorgeous client next door. He’s keeping away from forever relationships, but this doctor’s sensual touch is addictive. Helping Macy build her dream medical complex awakens Derek to how much more he now wants out of life. But has he hesitated too long to prove he’s ready for and deserving of her love?


Excerpt
Derek stepped out of the shadows just as she crossed the invisible property line, giving him a better view. Desire traveled through his body as she moved closer and he got a better look at her appearance. Her hair, curled at the ends, covered part of her face as she monitored each step she took. Normally, she sported a ponytail, but he loved seeing her hair hanging loose around her shoulders. The sheer blouse covered a camisole, and that damn skirt that had him salivating earlier was shorter than he’d originally thought.

His traitorous body reacted immediately when his gaze finally landed on her toned thighs and killer legs.

“What the hell were you doing with that guy?” The words flew out of his mouth before he could stop them.

Macy stopped short. “Excuse me?”

“You heard me.”

She gripped her clutch purse tighter. “Are you drunk?” She studied him with concern.

“No. I’m not drunk.” He rubbed a hand across his forehead and released a noisy breath. He stood only inches away, his hands itching to touch her. “How are you just going to go on a date? What about us?”

“What?” She narrowed her eyes and stared at him as if he had lost his mind. “There is no us. Besides, the last time I checked, I was a grown woman who could go out with whomever I want.” She huffed, pushing hair away from her face. “You know what? Coming over here was a bad idea. I’m going home." She turned to leave.

“Don’t.” He reached for her hand and she stopped. He knew he wasn’t thinking straight, but at the moment he didn’t care. He was tired of denying his feelings for her, and it was time he did something about them.

Copyright © 2015 by Sharon C. Cooper



About Sharon C. Cooper

Sharon Cooper - Author Picture

Award-winning and bestselling author, Sharon C. Cooper, spent 10 years as a sheet metal worker. And while enjoying that unique line of work, she attended college in the evening and obtained her B.A. from Concordia University in Business Management with an emphasis in Communication. Sharon is a romance-a-holic - loving anything that involves romance with a happily-ever-after, whether in books, movies or real life. She writes contemporary romance, as well as romantic suspense and enjoys rainy days, carpet picnics, and peanut butter and jelly sandwiches. When Sharon is not writing or working, she’s hanging out with her amazing husband, doing volunteer work or reading a good book (a romance of course). To read more about Sharon and her novels, visit www.sharoncooper.net

GIVEAWAY LINK
Sharon is giving away a $5 Amazon e-gift card AND an autographed copy of Sin City Temptation (Harlequin Kimani) to one lucky winner. NOTE: For U.S. entrants only






Sin City Temptation (Kimani Hotties)

Former police officer Trinity Layton will do anything to keep her personal security business afloat—even babysit professional poker player Gunner Brooks. Bizarre incidents have been plaguing the poker tour, and Trinity has been hired to keep Gunner safe. But when the gorgeous playboy convinces her to pose as his girlfriend, she might be the one who needs protecting, as their passionate charade quickly becomes all too real.

A gambler in the game of life, Gunner has made his fortune playing for the greatest prizes. The last thing he needs during this tournament is a bodyguard hanging around, especially one as alluring as Trinity. And being together 24/7 just tripled their odds of falling for one another. Now, as Gunner prepares for the championship of his career, he's playing for the highest stakes of all: Trinity's heart.







*remember to click on the blog post to share it...many thanks!
Continue Reading...

9.10.2015

#BookReview: SECRETS by M.O. Kenyan


Source: Kindle Unlimited
Format: Mobi
Series: No
Author: M.O. Kenyan
Heat Level: Medium Sexual Content
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Available: Amazon | +Goodreads (Blurb/Shelf It)

My Review

So I decided to try this through Kindle Unlimited, I signed up for it (first 30 days free) to see how I would like it and if I will be keeping it. I have enough subcription services to drive a sane person looney but a book subription I haven't tried so why not this one?

So anyhoo's, this one? well, I could sugar coat it and split my thoughts between what I did and and didn't like but there weren't many things I liked. Charlie is a undercover agent who goes after two Italian mobster brothers. But in order for her to earn her respect in the agency when she goes undercover, she also leaves behind her fiance' Reese who is a top agent for the FBI or something, can't remember right now. She wants to earn her spot in the agency without his backing or her fathers influence who just so happens to be on the Joint Chiefs of Staff. So she leaves behind her boyfriend to go undercover for six years to capture these top mob brothers, well mainly one...Alexandra.

Six years later Reece gets a call or more of a demand from Charlie's father telling him he as to safe guard a little girl close to him. Yep, that little girl is Reece's daughter but he don't know that but everybody else in the damn book did. So yeah, seems Charlie was pregnant when she left Reece but she still went undercover to capture the big bad mob boss. Reese is confused as hell because no one would tell him why he needed to keep this little girl safe. The protection attempt fails and the little girl is indeed kidnapped by Alexandra's brother who wants his brother out of jail. Charlie comes back into the story and she's all shocked to see Reese but not once during the time they are working together to get their daughter back did she tell him, the girl was his. She kept telling him that she would tell him everything after, but before they get the kid back...Reece does indeed find out that the she is his.

Here were my issues.
  • Ya'll know I dislike baby secrets and if folks have to add them in their stories, please for all the love of crackers and cheese, let it make sense. Not one story have I come across where the chicks reason make sense. Now take Charlie, okay...you keep the little girl a secret while the big bad man is after you, I get that. But after he's locked up, you don't tell the man you have his kid? for six years? and your excuse is that since his brother is still out and about, it STILL wasn't safe. But as I read more into the story, neither brother even knew about the kid...huh? 
  • Charlie claimed that she left Reece because she didn't want his or her fathers influence when she signed up to be a agent. Okay...but you got your father's help to get you on the assignment to go undercover to capture the mob guy. Say what now? That didn't make any sense to me at all. 
  • Her fathers attitude towards Reese through the whole book. Dude was mad at this man for straight nothing. How you making demands of this guy and when he ask questions you get angry. You would have thought Reese left Charlie high, dry and pregnant. Uhm, sir didn't your daughter leave him and keep a big ass secret? You help her keep that secret, so why you mad at him? 
  • I didn't get Reese's hot and cold feelings, I didn't get Charlie's either. They confused the shit out of me for most of the read.  Chicks always get mad when dudes are upset because they didn't tell them about a long lost kid, didn't tell him he was your baby daddy. Why you mad? You kept the secret. Reese wasn't angry enough for me especially with nobody giving him information, keeping secrets and shit. I was more mad than he was. Charlie wasn't convincing as a bad ass undercover chick, no she wasn't. 
  • So Charlie was pregnant while she was undercover. Told the mob boss it was his but she had a miscarriage. She went through this unbelievable delivery which lasted 32 hours (yeah, okay...) but was able to get away from the mobster and his goons, contact her father after giving birth to have him come pick up the baby and go back to her job *rolls eyes*
  • Charlie had feelings for the mob boss? Because from the way the writing went, I wasn't sure and I don't think she was sure either. One minute, she was calling him a cruel bastard but there was another part in the story where his blue eyes "did something to her" when he looked at her. Say what now? It was like the author couldn't make up her mind about these two or there was going to be a love triangle. 
  • The story was a all over the place, I didn't know what I was reading at times. Charlie had another name and just not her undercover name, she had the name of Lee. I didn't know who was who at times. I didn't like the jumping around, the break up the chapters...it was choppy. There were typos which I don't usually mind but this isn't a ARC, an editor would have done her good.
The book is $2.99, 82 pages...I read it in a hour. All I'm saying is I'm glad I was able to read this one through KU. I've read Ms. Kenyan's work before and loved it, this won't stop me from reading her other works but this story just wasn't my cup of tea. In my humble lil ol opinion, this book was a mess. 

Rating








*remember to click on the blog post to share it...many thanks!
Continue Reading...

9.07.2015

#BookReview: The Ultimate Betrayal by Kimberla Lawson Roby (Contemporary Womens Fiction)



Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Format: Mobi (ARC)
Series: Reverend Curtis Black #12
Genre: Contemporary Womens Fiction/Fiction
Heat Level: None to Medium Sexual Content
Available: BN | Amazon | +Goodreads (Blurb/Shelf It)

My Review

I won't lie and say that I did not have some issues with The Ultimate Betrayal but Ms. Roby was still able weave a very good story. Why? because these characters had real life issues, struggles some might say that we call can relate too. This story revolves around two best friends Alicia Black and Melanie Richardson, both in for all intents and purposes are suppose to be in healthy relationships. 

Alicia Black is the daughter of Reverend Curtis Black and you meet her in book six of this series. Now the series itself is focused on Curtis Black and all of his "preacher ways" but book 11 and 12 focus on his adult children. Do I say read it in order? idk. You may want to read book 6 before you go into book 12 to get a bit more information on Alicia but this one, I will say this can be read as a stand alone because the author does give you a good background on these characters and their issues. 

Alicia is set to re-marry her first husband Phillip , they divorced the first time because she cheated on him and now in this book, she's cheating on him again with the same dude that broke up their first marriage. 


Melanie  and her husband  Brad are having a different set of issues.  Melanie who has been verbally abused by her parents, mainly her mother since she was a child has morphed into something all together different and it is affecting her marriage to Brad and friendship with Alicia. But Brad has a secret, a big one. 


Lawt and Jeezus where to start with this one? I will say that I felt more sympathy for Melanie than I did for Alicia. In my eyes while reading this book, Alicia was weak...oh so very weak. Her guilt from betraying Phillip during their first marriage drove him to the brink of insanity in The Ultimate Betrayal. I couldn't get behind her excuse to marry this man again when she KNEW that she did not love him, at least not in the way a woman is suppose to love her husband. Her excuses to continue to sleep with the man who broke her marriage in the first place were just unforgivable. You haven't seen this man in SIX damn years since his conniving (which I just felt he was) butt got locked up but you see him again and you feel some sort of pull? sorry but fudged all that nonsense. AND if you felt some strong ass feeling towards this man, then at least be woman enough to break it off with your fiance'. Her lies and deceit pissed me off to the high heavens and all the praying and crying she did DID not sway her in my favor. Asking God for help and then to continue to cheat on your now husband (because her and Phillip did remarry) is something I can't abide with. She knew, KNEW she did not love Phillip so why even remarry when she was cheating AGAIN with that man? I didn't get it, I refused to get it and I was just done with her character. 


Melanie. Ugh, Melanie was messed up. Her parents were not good people, they just weren't. Her mother in particular would fuck with Melanie about her weight even as an adult and it affected her, her entire life. Now, Melanie is in crisis mode...not eating to the point where she becomes anorexic. Her abuse of her own body is ruining her life, her career and her marriage. Brad is trying to be there for his wife as he knows the hold her mother has on her but he has is own secret, a secret he knows that will for sure drive Melanie away from him forever. The lies and secrets are breaking this marriage apart and  both Melanie and Brad aren't sure if their union will survive it. The ultimate betrayal with this couple is more than Brad's secret and Melanie's eating disorder, it's Melanie's mother too. As Melanie deals with her sickness, her mother is betraying her in the most worse of ways and I will tell ya'll I was shocked...mind fucking blown. I could not believe someone would do this to their own child but reading this woman's character throughout the book, I can't say that I wasn't surprised

Ms. Roby throws enough scriptures around in The Ultimate Betrayal but I don't think she was preachy. Her goal I would like to believe is to get you to see how even "church folk" ain't all that divine, holy...perfect. Good story with enough drama to make your head spin, but what stopped me from giving this a 4 or a 5 is Alicia's character and I explained that enough. 


One story I felt something for, the other? well the person I felt bad for in all of it was Phillip as he was a innocent victim to a woman who couldn't make an adult decision. I had many issues with this one...oh so very many but it does not take away from Ms. Roby's writing...she did that cause let me tell you if Alicia was real and my friend? girl bye! we would be fighting. 


Rating










*remember to click on the blog post to share it...many thanks!
Continue Reading...

9.05.2015

#AudioBookReview: Jungle Fever Duology: A Ghetto Girl Romance by L.V. Lewis (Contemporary Romance)



Source: Purchased
*ARC of the Duology (eBook) provied by author for review
Format: Audio Books
Series: The Ghetto Girl Romance Quadrilogy
Author: L. V. Lewis
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Heat Level: Strong Sexual Content
Available: BN | Amazon | +Goodreads (Blurb/Shelf it)

My Review

Fifty Shades of Jungle Fever, starts off this duology with Keisha Beale meeting Tristan White who will be backing her and her friend Jada's new business venture, a music store and recording studio. Upon their first meeting Keisha and Tristan are attracted to one another but Keisha is not going to ruin this opportunity for their new company or else Jada will kick her ass. But Keisha being who she is (the kind of educated ghetto girl that speaks her mind) does that anyway when she all but basically tells Mr. White to kiss her ass when their first meeting doesn't go well.

To make up for her lack of professionalism when they initally met, Keisha is offered a deal so that Tristan will back their business but she also agrees to become his submissive AFTER they do the first do to squash that heat and pull they both experienced upon first meeting. Jungle Fever goes into the start up of the uncoventional romance that Keisha and Tristan both agree upon. Keisha goes in as a newbie sub but she has the help of her friend Jada (who is already in the lifestyle as something of a switch but more of a dominant female) and of course Tristan. He guides her into it smoothly, I won't lie when I say the sex scenes (BDSM and vanilla) had me sweating and panting like a woman starved (I seriously need a new boyfriend, lols), it was erotic as all hell and I will tell you that I was there for it all, okay?!

But both Keisha and Tristan have secrets and those secrets will threaten the somewhat shaky relationship these two started in the first place with Keisha pulling out of their agreement as her past comes back and bites them both in the ass something fierce. Jungle fever is told from Keisha's POV.

Exit Strategy, picks up where the first book left off. Keisha pulls out of the relationship and Tristan is pissed. He shouldn't be but he is. He's usually the one to pull out, not the submissive. He knows there is more to what Keisha is keeping from him but she won't divulge that information. But it's not like Tristan hasn't been fully open and honest with her either. He is starting to feel more for Keisha more and more by the day and that is so NOT what he was looking for. Feeling for someone and loosing them is something that Tristan does not want to go through ever again...he went through that when he lost his mother to Cancer. He refuses to do it again. So he lets her go when she leaves even though it is crushing him something fierce.

Keisha loves Tristan that much she is certain of. But she won't let him find out about her abusive past, she won't have him feeling pity for her. So when her panic attacks start to happen again while she and Tristan are in scenes, she wimps out of telling him and forces herself out of their agreement. She also knows that he doesn't want a relationship with any woman and Keisha even given her childhood still wants a future and a family with someone. Yes, she would rather have it with Tristan but she is not going to force herself on him even though it is killing her on the inside.

Exit Strategy, both Tristan and Keisha use it more than once in this second book as they break up, get back together and break up again. They attempt to finagle this relationship and as secrets come out, they are trying to handle a threat that is adding to the strain of their fragile bond. Keisha decides to tell Tristan her feelings for him and it is not the good outcome she expects.With her heart broken and the threat against her life still out there. Will they survive it all? Will Tristan pull his head out of his ass and realize that he is loosing the love of his life? Exit Strategy is told from both Tristan's and Keisha 's POV.

Now usually I avoid books that even reference FSO anything. But I am so mad at myself for taking so long to read/listen to this one. Funny, quirky and cleverly written I can only say that this author has outdone herself with these books. Fifty Shades of Jungle Fever starts off as a parody of the whole FSOG phenom. Take a biracial woman with all the edu-macation her college studies have afforded her and throw a lil ghetto up in her, you have Keisha Beale who cracked me the hell up more times than I can count. I didn't know how to take her at times and trust me, neither did Tristan. Keisha goes into the whole BDSM thought with all of the "oh hell nah, you ain't beating on me" attitude when Tristan offers her the contract but I'm glad after she talked with Jada that she got the whole idea of it right in her head. You get alot of Keisha in this first book and you also meet her faires whom Keisha has made up in her head, her sort of evil/good little angels sitting on her shoulders, Triple G (the good fairy) and Fairy Hoochie Mama (the bad fairy). All through both books they had me dying, doing things like taking swan dives off her shoulders when she broke it off with Tristan, dressing up like little subs when Tristan was dicking her down "really good", fainting and fanning each other with "church" fans...I was done, just done. Exit Strategy moves away from the parody (but it is still prevalent) and takes on the seriousness of both Tristan's and Keisha's dsyfuctions. And they both were tore up from the floor up. Tristan can't and won't commit, Keish can't and won't tell Tristan about her abusive childhood EVEN though it forces triggers out that effects their D/s relationship. You get alot more of Tristan in the second book and why he is so not getting into any serious relationships. It's sad and heartbreaking.

They were both just dumb sometimes despite being the very smart people that they are. I wanted to beat them both up and that is what kills me about romances at times, right? Like these two people love each other to death but won't tell each other *insert eye roll here* lols.  Like I said Keisha moves away from the standard and tells Tristan her feelings so I was feeling that but of course, ya'll know it has to be drama and craziness...man, I just couldn't at times. If I was into BDSM, I would have flogged them both. Anyhoo's I can't say enough good things about these books. Anything that has me at work cackling like a fool gets all kinds of props. Hell, add in the imaginary faires of Keisha's? shitniz! I had too much fun while listening. I have to say I appreciated the funny and the seriousness all thrown up in here. This is a highly recommended read/lisen too at BnB.

As I said Ms. Lewis provided the ARC of Jungle Fever Duology but I purchased the audio's as well. The narrator, Marie Hélène was perfect as she was able to switch between Keisha's and Tristan's voices as well as the side characters. She also pulled off the spanish that Keisha often spoke too being that she was of African-American & Brilizan decent. She very much pulled me into the audio's. Somebody need to contact Ms. Lewis and make her a offer, turn this into a movie or TV show because this I will watch.

I know that review is long but being that I listened to both audio's that couldn't be helped ^-^. And I'll be going out of this one in Triple G & Fairy Hoochie Mama style.

via Giphy

Rating

*Currently Jungle Fever Duology is on Sale for #99Cents at Amazon
*Currently Fifty Shades of Jungle Fever is Free via Amazon & BN









*remember to click on the blog post to share it...many thanks!
Continue Reading...

9.01.2015

Tuesday Jams #139


Want to share that song you been loving like crazy lately? Just grab the image above or make your own...and whether you have a blog or not, you can either leave your link in the linky below OR in the comment section.  You can show a video, a music player..whateva suites your fancy. Just remember to have some fun!
This week I'm going with a song that I absolutely adore. I heard this song a while back (again, back to my found it on Pandora game). I was walking to school and it played and I was like daaayum. Can I love this more? haha. It's catchy and cute. I like catchy and cute. xD

Timeflies - I Choose U


More 80's music...more music to make you feel and get into yourself and feel, lols. This was another one of my favorite songs, another slow jamming group ;D




If you have a Jam you would like to share with us, comment below in the comment section.
Leave a video, blog, Facebook, or Twitter link.








*remember to click on the blog post to share it...many thanks!
Continue Reading...

8.29.2015

#BookReview: Wolf's Honor by Ambrielle Kirk (Paranormal Romance)



Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Format: Mobi (Kindle)
Series: Caemdon Wolves #6
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Heat: Medium Sexual Content
Available: BN | Amazon | +Goodreads (Blurb/Shelf It)

My Review

This is a novella length story so I'll try not to give to much away. Connor is a wolf shift who has never really affiliated himself with either the Caedmon or the Arnou packs. He and his human father were always the middle men, the negotiator between the human world and the wolf one. Connor who runs a top notch security firm is now needed in the most important of ways. The US government has given himself, his father and the wolf world three days to solve the murders that are going on. Wolves are being murdered in droves, their bodies being laid out where humans can find them. The government is giving them three days or else they step in.

Asked to look further into things by Devon, the Alpha of the Caedmon pack; Connor goes undercover to investigate. He finds out information but he also finds his mate. In comes Antonia Trudeau who is unwillingly caught up on Connors investigation.

A struggling college student, Antonia no longer wants anything to do with the criminal doings she and her brother use to do. But she refuses to let her brother go into this latest job by himself or with someone she doesn't trust. The job is suppose to be simple, drop off the packages and be out but that simply does not happen.

Bad things go down and now both Antonia and Connor are caught up in a situation that is way above both their heads.

I really enjoyed the story, A. Kirk really has a great way of drawing you into her stories. The most thing I loved about this one was that Connor and Antonia grew into their relationship, there was no rushing. Connor was very aware of Antonia's misgivings of her being his mate and I like that he took his time cause she was skittish, lols. Antonia's didn't think she deserved Connor or anyone like him because of her past so of course, she fought him most of the way but I'm happy that she finally came around.

The story tied up nicely although, I was a bit confused as to why Tristan the Arnou pack Alpha knew what was going on in a way and didn't really step in especially with so many wolves being killed but I'm sure the full story will come out soon enough.

I was very excited to dive back into the Caedmon world, six books in and I'm still loving this world that Ms. Kirk has created. The only thing I wished we got more of was more of Antonia's and her brothers past. They were abandoned as children and grew up in the foster care system, their parents not wanting to give any information about themselves at all. But from reading it seems there is more there...

Anyhoo's another great addition to the Caemdon world. If you like your wolfy reads, then I recommend the Caemdon pack!

Rating






*remember to click on the blog post to share it...many thanks!
Continue Reading...

About

Just a couple of Brazen ladies sharing the love of our favorite things...books, TV and a lil bit of other things. Relax, have a glass of wine (or whatever your poison is) and enjoy! *Note, we are currently not accepting Review Requests.

Popular Posts

Blog Archive