7.30.2015

Caged Magic by Jennifer Lyon: #Spotlight


Welcome to our stop in Jennifer Lyons Caged Magic Tour! Hosted by HCBS Promo's, we will be spotlighting Ms. Lyon's newest release.

The Book
Risa Faden is a witch whose ultra-powerful shield magic is slowly breaking her mind. But when her beloved goddaughter is snatched by a demon, she’ll risk anything to rescue the baby—including lying to the handsome, intriguing stranger who has the power to help her keep her sanity, save the child…and steal her heart.

Linc Dillinger is a Wing Slayer Hunter whose sexy, rich, bad-boy charm hides a treacherous betrayal that left him emotionally scarred. As a result he risks his life to protect innocents, but is incapable of love—until he meets a beautiful witch who can save his cursed soul. Risa’s fierce courage and loyalty reaches past his barriers and he begins to believe she has the magic to free his caged heart.

But Risa’s lie explodes into dark danger that forces Linc into a hellish high-stakes gamble: He must either win the witch he loves and her godchild…or endure a loss that will destroy them all.

Available: Amazon | BN | iBooks | Google | Kobo | Goodreads

Teaser


Jennifer Lyon, who also writes as Jennifer Apodaca, lives in Southern California where she continually plots ways to convince her husband that they should get a dog. After all, they met at the dog pound, fell in love, married and had three wonderful sons. So far, however, she has failed in her doggy endeavor. She consoles herself by pouring her passion into writing books. To date, Jen has published more than fifteen books and novellas, including a fun and sexy mystery series and a variety of contemporary romances under the name Jennifer Apodaca. As Jennifer Lyon she created a dark, sizzling paranormal series, and The Plus Once Chronicles, an emotionally sensual adult contemporary series. Jen’s won numerous awards and had her books translated into multiple languages, but she still hasn’t come up with a way to persuade her husband that they need a dog.


Giveaway
**There are 3 tour wide giveaways!
Open to US, CAN, UK 
(1) grand prize $50.00 electronic gift card (Amazon or B&N)
(2) runner up winners of one $25.00 electronic gift card each (Amazon or B&N)







*remember to click on the blog post to share it...many thanks!
Continue Reading...

7.28.2015

Tuesday Jams #133


Want to share that song you been loving like crazy lately? Just grab the image above or make your own...and whether you have a blog or not, you can either leave your link in the linky below OR in the comment section.  You can show a video, a music player..whateva suites your fancy. Just remember to have some fun!
Hello! This week I thought I'd change it up. A bit drastically at that. I originally heard this song in a video of an interracial couple dancing (first below) and I absolutely fell in love with the song. So instead of spending 10 min searching the comments for the song, I took my phone out to shazam it and within 2 seconds I had the name of the song. And I LOVE IT! Makes me wanna get up and dance. :)

This is the video from Facebook :) Aren't they just kaaaa-ute?! 

And this is the song :)
What to go with this week?....Well for me, I've been listening a lot of 80's music. We went to my Aunt's house this past weekend (and even though she don't grill like my uncle, lmbo!) and she had it on the Prince station and omg, the songs! ya'll. But I rather show off the girl singers/groups from the 80's. Such diversity, such powerful voices...man, the  80's were everythang! LOLs! I can remember doing every move in these video's....lmbo!













If you have a Jam you would like to share with us, comment below in the comment section.
Leave a video, blog, Facebook, or Twitter link.






*remember to click on the blog post to share it...many thanks!
Continue Reading...

7.26.2015

#BookReview: The Scale by Mika Jolie (Contemporary Romance)








Source: Author
Format: Mobi (Kindle)
Published: July 21, 2014
Publisher: Secret Cravings Publishing
Series: Martha's Way #1
Author: Mika Jolie
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Heat: Strong Sexual Content
Available: Amazon | BN | ARe | +Goodreads
*Rating will Appear in Video





Youtube Video


I only wish there had been a conversation between Minka and her mother. Like how she and Keely talked. Also, I had this gif on my mind during the entire read

Minka's sister & Jason kept telling her this and I was like "Can I get a Amen?!"


              Books N Tunes Challenge

          









*remember to click on the blog post to share it...many thanks!
Continue Reading...

7.22.2015

#SeriesReview: F.I.T Trilogy by Rebekah Weatherspoon (Contemporary Romances)




This review is going to be a bit different, well maybe not so much...lols. Im going to review/rate each book in the trilogy and then I’m going to rate it as a whole. I'll try to make each review short, but ya'll know how I get, lmbo! The trilogy also deals with different levels of BDSM….light to heavy. Each male in their story is a dominant except for the third book, where dude is a switch but we’ll get more to that in “that” review :D 
So I’ll let you know a little bit about the level in each review. All three males are part of the same BDSM club as well.


Available: Amazon | Barnes & Noble 
*each book is currently #99cents

Book 1, Fit (+Goodreads-Blurb/Shelf it):
Published: June 3, 2014

This story centers around the couple Grant and Violet, which I enjoyed immensely together. Violet is a TV producer for a cooking channel decides she wants to lose weight while the network is on hiatus. She gets a recommendation from another trainer whose VERY intense workout class she signed up for and could barely get through (because her friend was a jerk) to see Grant who co-owns his own gym with his friend Armando. He has a reputation of being a bit more gentle with his clients and this trainer thinks that is what Violet needs, hell it was exactly what she needed.


Grant decides to take Violet on as a client but he also likes her. She's funny, smart, sarcastic and he really does not mind her curves at all. The thing will be convincing Violet to mix a little workout time with play time. Also, Grant is a dominant, he is part of the kinky community. Violet is not, so when he approaches her on their initial meet up about her not just working out with him but also uhm getting a little kinky with him. Violet wants to run for the hills but Grant ain’t so bad to look at either, lols and he likes her with her curves. She’s curious, a little scared but decides to take the Grant up on his offer.

Continue Reading...

7.21.2015

Tuesday Jams #132


Want to share that song you been loving like crazy lately? Just grab the image above or make your own...and whether you have a blog or not, you can either leave your link in the linky below OR in the comment section.  You can show a video, a music player..whateva suites your fancy. Just remember to have some fun!
I have so much I want to post I don't even know what to choose. lol. Gotta love music, right? For the last few weeks I've been in a rock kind of mood. So what I do when I'm feeling a certain genre of music and really want to listen to anything new, or rather new to me, is go to Pandora and type in an artist in said genre and let Pandora take it from there. So with Pandora's help I've been listening to a lot of Daughtry :) Albeit, Daughtry isn't new to me, but I did get a lot of great music out of it (old and new) but since I haven't heard this song, I thought I'd share it and the whole album with you. Enjoy!

UPDATE: I listened to the entire album. loooooooooove ♥♥♥ Fave songs would have to be Baptized and Waiting For Superman.


Hey Ya'll! Been a minute right? Anywhoo's, I saw this dude perform on the BET Awards (which was like really? ugh!). I liked the video, but I ain't gonna lie...some them dude looked like old ass pimps...lmaooo! But at least they were clean dressed, no pants hanging off their asses and all that other nonsense. The song has a good beat and it's easy to jam too, I like it :D





If you have a Jam you would like to share with us, comment below in the comment section.
Leave a video, blog, Facebook, or Twitter link.






*remember to click on the blog post to share it...many thanks!
Continue Reading...

7.20.2015

Random Brazen Thoughts: #WeNeedDiverseBloggers


A blog I follow came up with a great hashtag and I wanted to share it. Musings of Romance Junkie wrote this post Follow These Blogs where she gave a shout out to diverse blogs/bloggers and we can't thank them enough for giving Brazen Babe Reviews a shout out. But you know, I don't think her hashtag #WeNeedDiverseBloggers received enough attention, so I'm sharing it here.

I follow a good amount of Diverse bloggers, Marcia at BookSwagger, Braine at TalkSupe, Melissa at Lily Element and a host of others. We are out there, we just need to take the time to look. I'm black and Ana is Samoan so you see, we are very diverse, lols. But you know I would like to see more of us because at the end of the day, we bloggers need one another. I read this post that Anna over at Herding Cats and Burning Soup put up and it got me to thinking that, we bloggers get the royal shit end of the stick sometimes and that makes me sad. Because something that most of us view as a hobby or as something where we use our blog to spotlight a certain reading genre or for whatever reason you run your blog...our love for blogging is getting bogged down with nonsense.

So before I get all off the point, I want to take this time and this post to give a shout out to Musings blog and #WeNeedDiverseBloggers, because we do. We need more diverse blogs, blogs that focus a mirage of diverse books. If you run a diverse blog, if you are a diverse blogger no matter what genre you read, I'm going to ask you to leave your link below and if you know of a diverse blog or blogger...share this post. Hell, share this post regardless and tweet this hashtag and please give credit to @musingsirj, which is a awesome blog to follow. They give it to you straight, no chaser :)

This is my commitment to doing just that, finding and following more diverse blogs. I just don't want to talk, I want to walk the walk (as my grandmother use to say, lols). Join me?





*remember to click on the blog post to share it...many thanks!
Continue Reading...

7.17.2015

#AuthorInterview: Kola by Kiru Taye (Contemporary Romance)



This post is late, my apologies to Love, Bites & Silks and to Kiru Taye. No excuse, I simply forgot...sorry! Please welcome Kiru Taye back to our blog. You've seen her books reviewed here plenty of times and I enjoyed them all, today I got a chance to ask Ms. Kiru a couple of questions about her newest book Kola.


Hi Kiru! And thank you so much for talking  to us here at Brazen Babe  Reviews :). Okay, first can you tell us something about Kola that isn't in the blurb?

Kola was an orphaned boy in a street gang before he was adopted by Chief Essien. He's been in love with Tari, his pseudo-cousin since she was a teenager.

Intriguing! Kola gets his own story, I loved this because he was such stand out character in the Essien Brothers trilogy. Was he always going to get his own story?

Yes! The truth is I started writing Kola's story after I wrote the first draft of Felix's story, even before I wrote Mark's or Tony's stories. Kola has always been a vivid character living in my head and his story needed to be told.

What can we expect from Kola and his love interest?

'Chaos to order' is the phrase that comes to mind when I think of Tari and Kola together. The two of them set off all kinds of fireworks in the bedroom and out of it.

Oh! I love a lil chaos, lols. After Kola, can we expect more stories to come out of the Essien world?

I love how much the readers love the Essiens and I've been asked to write a story for Freddie and even for the parents. There's definitely a story for Freddie in the pipeline and we may well see more Essien stories. Let's hope my muse agrees.

A majority of your stories are set in Africa, which I totally love btw. Will we ever see a Kiru story where the characters are say set in the states?

It's a possibility. I love New York so much I'm sure I'll write a story set there one day.

I love the fact that you write stories in different sub-genres of romances. Does this reflect your reading taste?

Yes. I love reading so many different romance sub-genres, so it reflects on my writing. Give me a good story and I'll read it. I don't mind if I'm reading about billionaires or soldiers or cowboys or knights or warriors or aliens or shifters or fallen angels. Okay, I draw the line on reptile/bug shifters and sparkly vampires. But hey, you can't love everything, right? LOL

What is a good writing day for you? and if any, a bad one?

It's a good writing day when I accomplish the goal I set out that day. I don't write every day but on a good day I could easily write 5000 words. The best days will have to be when I get feedback from readers about my book they've just read. It motivates me to write more.

As for bad days, well sometimes stuff happens that screws with my head and I have to take some time out and just chill. I read or watch movies and then I get the spark back and return to my laptop and start writing again.

Tell us something about you...anything :D?

I love to write in total silence. *smiles*

And finally, what would you like for readers to take away with them after they've read one of your books?

I'd love readers to feel two things.

One: to be totally entertained. To get that rush of excitement from reading a great book.
Two: to learn something new and positive about Africa and Africans. We are just like everyone else in the contemporary world.

Thank you so much for having me on your blog, ladies.

Kiru xx

Title: Kola
Series: The Essiens, book 4
Genre: Contemporary, Erotic Romance

Blurb It Up

When sassy heiress, Tari Essien, needs a place to escape the pressures of the hounding press, she turns to Kola Banks, a deeply scarred ex-soldier who's also the Essien chief of security. Kola can't offer Tari anything more than his protection. She's family for goodness sake, even if they share no blood ties.

It’s a weekend of lessons for both of them. Together they can't avoid the explosive heat that sizzles between them, nor help pushing each others' boundaries physically as well as emotionally.

But when the weekend ends and Tari's life is in danger, will Kola put his body as well as his heart in the line of fire to keep her safe?

Available:
Amazon US  | Amazon UK | Amazon CA  |Amazon FR  |Barnes & Noble Smashwords | iTunes |Kobo

Kiru is the award winning author of His Treasure and bestselling author of The Essien Trilogy series. She writes sensual and passionate multicultural romance stories set mostly in Africa. When she's not writing you can find her either immersed in a good book or catching up with friends and family. She currently lives in the South of England with her very own alpha husband and three children.

Kiru Socially


I will have a review for Kola shortly, make sure you stop back by and check it out. I am expecting a very hot read! I'm all excited. In the meantime, I highly recommend you check out her work. She writes in bit of everything, so there is something for everyone with a Kiru story.






*remember to click on the blog post to share it...many thanks!
Continue Reading...

7.15.2015

#BookReview ~ The Delicate Matter of Lady Blayne by Natasha Blackthorne (A Erotic Historical Romance)



Source: Author
Formate: eBook (ePub)
Published: June 12 2015
Series: Intimate Secrets #1
Hearts Aflame Press
Genre: Erotic Historical Romance
259 Pages
Heat: Strong Sexual Content
Available: Amazon | +Goodreads (blurb/shelf)

My Review

Ah, I love this woman’s work! The Delicate Matter of Lady Blayne started of a bit shaky but in true Natasha Blackthorne style, she moved this reader. By the middle of the story, I was taken with both Catroina and James.

This is Natasha’s work but there is more to this one. It’s more emotional and so very heart wrenching. There is deception and manipulation almost everywhere for Lady Blayne. She doesn’t know who to trust and the one’s she should? Well, they are betraying her in the most hurtful of ways. The other twist here is that Catroina and James were always attracted to one another but circumstances and Catroina’s marriage to his wealthier cousin spoiled the budding relationship between them as young adults. James is now the family’s provider after the death of his cousin and he now has to figure out what is going on with the young vivacious woman he once knew. As I’ve said, deception runs amok here and James doesn’t quite know who to trust either...not even his own family. A trip away will help these two rebuild what they lost and of course old feelings start to emerge.

Yes, The Delicate Matter of Lady Blayne started off a bit slow for me. Catroina’s helplessness (what I would call it) irritated me to no end. Yes, she was manipulated but she at times had no problem giving James a hard time? smh. James...he is protecting himself (more his heart). He wants to help Catroina, but can he stop from falling in love with her again?

I enjoyed this story. There were literally so many things going on (in a good way) that were just mind blowing to me. Yeah, Catroina worked my nerves in the beginning but as I read this story, this woman ya’ll. I just...smh. Forced to feel less herself because of her desires, abandoned by her shiftless parents and left in the hands of people IMO that did not have her best interest at heart no matter how they tried to convince themselves that they did. I don’t want to tell the story but I will tell you that this is a must read. Natasha gives you so much of the feels here, you get overloaded at times BUT it is well worth it all.

If you are fan of historical romance with a bit of erotic edge to it, then I highly recommend you check out her work. Her writing style is easy to follow and she gives you characters that you will grow to adore.


The Delicate Matter of Lady Blayne's Rating














*remember to click on the blog post to share it...many thanks!
Continue Reading...

7.01.2015

#MovieReview ~ My Last Day Without You






Director: Stefan C. Schaefer
Romance | Drama 
Length: 1 hr/33 mins
Starring: Nicole Beharie | Ken Duken

About (IMDb)
On a one-day business trip to New York, a young German business executive falls in love with a singer-songwriter who exposes him to her Brooklyn world and emotions he's never experienced before.

Available: DVD (BN & Amazon) | Amazon Prime



My Review

So last night I was FINALLY able to watch My Last Day Without You. This is one of those movies where it’s a love at first sight kind of thing right? a real true romance you don’t see in movies much anymore.


Niklas who is a German business man is in NY for one day and that is to close down the NYC office of the company he works for. You can tell that he is struggling with this but he has a job to do and well as he says in the movie “It’s nothing personal”. A job needs to be done and he is the man to do it.


But it just so happens that on this latest trip of corporate shutdowns he runs into Leticia, a musician who just so happens to work in the office he’s been sent to close as a secretary. He doesn’t knows this at the moment. Ticia sees him sitting in a cafe and dude looks like he has something heavy on his mind so she talks to him and offers him her CD. Niklas is smitten from the door.


From here the movie follows the characters as they struggle with this instant attraction. Ticia not really knowing Niklas but there is something about him that is different, she sees it….feels it. Niklas pretty much feels the same but his problem lies in revealing to her that he is the man that has basically left her without a job.


I thought the movie was excellent. It wasn’t cheesy and overdone, it was just a beautiful subtle story of two people who have a chance encounter and fall instantly in love. Little things about each of them is what drew them to one another and me to this movie. There are great side stories as well. Ticia dealing with her father, her father finding love again after his wife’s passing and another part of the movie that was great for me was Niklas’s driver Mahdi, the man who kept telling him he can’t just “work” all the time, lols.


So, will Niklas and Ticia take a chance on love? Will we end up in NY or Germany? Ah I will never tell, lols. I waited a whole year to see this movie and I was not disappointed at all. I love Nicole B and Ken Duken was so easy on my eyes, lols. Also, just the fact that this was a interracial movie got the fire lit under me :D


So, don’t believe in love at first sight? finding love in maybe 24 hours? I believe My Last Day Without You will change your mind. It’s definitely a feel good movie, I smiled and laughed alot. It's also based on the true story of a man who met his wife on a Brooklyn subway during a business trip to NY...I totally love that!

This movie was hard for me to find, it's on DVD...but ya'll know I don't get out much and it wasn't on Netflix ): I finally took a chance and invested in Amazon Prime’s subscription and with it, I got to watch this and I get to watch other movies instantly. Lawd, I ain't never gonna meet a man, lmbo! seriously though...great movie.

Rating
Ah-MAAZZINNG, Go Watch It
*I only give it a 9 because I wanted a better ending. It was good but kind of sudden....

Movie Trailer








*remember to click on the blog post to share it...many thanks!
Continue Reading...

About

Just a couple of Brazen ladies sharing the love of our favorite things...books, TV and a lil bit of other things. Relax, have a glass of wine (or whatever your poison is) and enjoy! *Note, we are currently not accepting Review Requests.

Blog Archive

Popular Posts