12.22.2016

Wishing You a Brazen Holiday and New Year!


Hi!

This will be our last post to the blog until January 2017 so we wanted to wish you all a very Happy Holiday and New Year! When the new year comes in, we will be more proactive with the blog and our social media accounts (we promise). Thank you to everyone who continues to follow us and comment here, YOU are the best <3 p="">
download.jpg


We will talk with you guys then...enjoy your Holiday :) 


download.png







*remember to click on the blog post to share it...many thanks!
Continue Reading...

12.06.2016

Tuesday Jams #166 ~ My Dog Ate My Glasses & Bunch of Other Stuff....




Want to share that song you been loving like crazy lately? Just grab the image above or make your own...and whether you have a blog or not; you can show a video, a music player..whatever suites your fancy. Just remember to have fun!


So yeah, just like the title say. Yup, my dog ate my glasses and I have to get a new pair of specs *sigh*. It's been a rough week. BUT I refuse to wallow in self pity so I pulled out the big guns and listened to some meditation music.

The music that calmed me....

and the culprit that pushed me over the edge....

Oscar016.png




Grown ass woman, Mother, reader, drinker of the red wines, not so serious makeup enthusiast and finally...a habitual procrastinator. I read just about everything but I really do love my romances. HEA’s are optional because hell sometimes, Prince Charming really is just a frog. Don’t asked if I finished *that book* yet...because I didn’t.
Find me out here in these eStreets:









*remember to click on the blog post to share it...many thanks!
Continue Reading...

11.30.2016

Brazen Random Thoughts: My Reading Mood


How I'm feeling...my reading mood is just in the pits right now, I literally haven't picked up a book in about two weeks. #readerslife #notinthemood #fuckthisshitImout

I've been lazy in visiting blogs too, but I do plan on fixing that situation this weekend. Anyhoo's have a great week beautiful people and I'll talk to you soon.

In the meantime, Mandy created a list on Goodreads that features diverse books, I've added to. If you have any recommendations, please let us know in the comments and we'll add them to the list.

Link to the list is:

#POC in Romance/UF





Grown ass woman, Mother, reader, drinker of the red wines, not so serious makeup enthusiast and finally...a habitual procrastinator. I read just about everything but I really do love my romances. HEA’s are optional because hell sometimes, Prince Charming really is just a frog. Don’t asked if I finished *that book* yet...because I didn’t.
Find me out here in these eStreets:




*remember to click on the blog post to share it...many thanks!
Continue Reading...

11.29.2016

#EarlyReview : Max by Sawyer Bennett


Max (Cold Fury Hockey, #6)


Source: Net Galley
Format: ePub
Series: Cold Fury Hockey #6
Author: Sawyer Bennett
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Heat: Yes, there is Sex
Available: Amazon | Goodreads




My Review

Max is the sixth book in the Cold Fury Hockey series by Sawyer Bennett. I started reading these books around 4 or 5 months ago and have been hooked. I do love a good hockey sports romance book and this is a pretty decent series in this sub-genre. This installment while not my favorite was pretty solid. I enjoyed it and it was pretty heartwarming. Not a whole lot of conflict except schedules and a bit of fear on Jules end. It was pretty refreshing that the male was the one that was looking for a relationship and had no fear of commitment. Jules sister's kids were pretty cute. I'm not usually a fan of kids in a book but they didn’t overpower the story line so in this case it was fine. We got to revisit a bunch of the previous couples in the series. It’s always nice to catch up with past characters. One complaint I think I have with this book, was there wasn’t much hockey in it. It was mostly just mentioned in passing like after a game. But other than that, it was a good book.

ARC was provided through NetGalley for an honest review. No other compensation was provided.

Amanda



*remember to click on the blog post to share it...many thanks!


Continue Reading...

11.22.2016

Tuesday Jams #165



Want to share that song you been loving like crazy lately? Just grab the image above or make your own...and whether you have a blog or not; you can show a video, a music player..whatever suites your fancy. Just remember to have fun!

I love me some Green Day...



OR...





Grown ass woman, Mother, reader, drinker of the red wines, not so serious makeup enthusiast and finally...a habitual procrastinator. I read just about everything but I really do love my romances. HEA’s are optional because hell sometimes, Prince Charming really is just a frog. Don’t asked if I finished *that book* yet...because I didn’t.
Find me out here in these eStreets:






*remember to click on the blog post to share it...many thanks!
Continue Reading...

11.21.2016

#GuestReview by @sophiarose1816:The Utterly Uninteresting and Unadventurous Tales of Fred the Vampire Accountant by Drew Hayes, Narrated by Kirby Heybourne

The Utterly Uninteresting and Unadventurous Tales of Fred the Vampire Accountant
by Drew Hayes, Narrated by Kirby Heybourne
#1 Fred the Vampire Accountant
Urban Fantasy
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Published: 2.24.15
Time: 7 hours 2 minutes
Rating: 5
Flames: 2
Format: Audio
Source: Self
Sellers:  Amazon | Audible | Barnes & Noble | +Google
GoodReads Blurb:
Some people are born boring. Some live boring. Some even die boring. Fred managed to do all three, and when he woke up as a vampire, he did so as a boring one. Timid, socially awkward, and plagued by self-esteem issues, Fred has never been the adventurous sort.

One fateful night – different from the night he died, which was more inconvenient than fateful – Fred reconnects with an old friend at his high school reunion. This rekindled relationship sets off a chain of events thrusting him right into the chaos that is the parahuman world, a world with chipper zombies, truck driver wereponies, maniacal necromancers, ancient dragons, and now one undead accountant trying his best to “survive.” Because even after it’s over, life can still be a downright bloody mess.

Review:
If the title didn't already snag my attention then the droll humor Fred as the narrator of his own adventures does pull me in.  This is a series of novellas all highlighting a vampire named Fred's adventures.
Fred was killed and made vampire and left to figure it all out for himself.  Fred first figures out that being a vampire is nothing like the movies or the books though he does have a sun allergy and must have his liquid diet.  He's stronger and his senses are enhanced though he didn't suddenly become a hottie and fascinating to others or have a personality alteration.  Instead of his life suddenly becoming mysterious and glamorous, it stays the same and he doesn't mind.  Fred is an accountant and continues with his staid, sometimes lonely existence while curious about how the other half lives even while he has no desire for a crazy, dangerous life.
Fred is the least likely person to have adventures and his undead life doesn't change that perspective.  Only, he does- have adventures that is.  Fred seems to be something of a trouble magnet for all that he works hard to stay out of situations where he'll encounter danger.  A simple high school reunion, a trip to Vegas for Thanksgiving, a late night date, helping out a friend, and an interrupted Christmas Party all become something so much more by the time things get going.
With each adventure, Fred discovers the world is full of paranormal races and situations that he never expected- shifters, zombies, mages, dragons, and a whole secret government structure.  Life becomes interesting and exciting with a tough as nails gorgeous girlfriend who polices the paranormal groups and a new motley group of friends.  In the end, Fred learns why he was turned and that even an average guy can be a reluctant hero.  I loved Fred and his friends.  There is a ton of humor, but a touching and sweet quality to Fred.  He embraces who and what he is and that is why he ends up with the relationships he could only dream about as the awkward and bullied geek he was before.
I experienced this book in audio format and absolutely loved Kirby Heybourne's narration.  I will always hear his voice as 'Fred' even if I switch to get the rest of the series in written format.  He told a good story with tone, pace, emotion, and variety of characters so well.
All in all, I think fans of paranormal and Urban Fantasy stories who like a bit of humor and some excitement should give Fred's adventures a try.


Many thanks to Sophia for stopping by BnB Reviews!

About Sophia:

Sophia is a quiet though curious gal who dabbles in cooking, book reviewing, and gardening. Encouraged and supported by an incredible man and loving family. A Northern Californian transplant to the Great Lakes Region of the US. Lover of Jane Austen, Baseball, Cats, Scooby Doo, and Chocolate.  Associate Reviewer for Delighted Reader blog

Where You Can Find Sophia via Social Media: Facebook | Goodreads | Twitter







*remember to click on the blog post to share it...many thanks!
Continue Reading...

11.18.2016

Book Thoughts: The Sacred Bombshell Handbook of Self-Love




Source: Purchased
Format: ebook (NOOK)
Series: NA
Author: Abiola Abrams
Genre: Self Help, Spiritually, Health, Mind & Body
Available: Barnes & Noble | Amazon | +Goodreads


My Thoughts

I’ve never been one to read self-help books or any type of books where folk feel like they have to give another advise on how to get where they’re at. I’ve always felt like, who are you to tell me what I should or shouldn’t be doing. I’ve always felt like, I should be doing things on my own and for the most part I’ve have. Buuutttt, I’m also they type of person who lives inside her own head too much especially when things don’t work out how I expected them to. I’ve also felt like you know just because something worked for the person who wrote that book...doesn’t mean it’s to going to work for me? What if I fudge it all up? Then I would be back where I was wondering what the hell happened.

So what changed you ask? Well, it goes back to that little thing I said earlier about me being inside my head too much and I do...still do at times. I have this very bad habit of worrying about what folk think, you know? Why didn’t that relationship work out? Why doesn’t that person like me? If I only had been this way, would it had worked out different, things like that. So I felt like I had to do something, like something for me...in me had to change.

I came across Abiola Abrams via Instagram. A co-worker of mines recommended that I follow her and I must say, it has been a wonderful experience. Abiola is a life/spirit coach and motivational speaker. Following her on Instagram and eventually Youtube, she’s very much into meditation and healing your soul and mainly getting women back to loving themselves. I came across her book The Sacred Bombshell Handbook of Self-Love while visiting her website one day. I being the skeptical person that I can be at times decided to give it a go and you know what? I’m glad I did.

This book has helped me to look inside of myself and to also get out of my head. To stop worrying so much about what others think or say for that matter and mainly that life moves along no matter what the outcome of some situations in your life may be. There's a lot of exercises in the book as well. From mediation to breathing exercises, there is a bit of it all to help you to get back to loving YOU. She also interviews many other spiritual coaches who offer some of their meditations and website links as well. We sometimes especially us women allow people into our lives who at times have good intentions and at times some who don’t...we allow people to manifest their own self loathing onto to us and if we’re dealing with our own mess, it can be catastrophic at times. Everything can and will be affected and I’m telling ya’ll that was and is sometimes me. But going through this handbook, doing the exercises has really helped me come into a different space in my life. I still have my moments of self doubt BUT I’m getting so much better at letting things go. Prayer and meditation has become a big thing in my life.

If you’re looking for a book that offers true suggestions on ways you can let things go and move forward...ways for you to get back to loving you...ways to becoming the sexy sacred bombshell your are meant to be then give The Sacred Bombshell Handbook of Self-Love a try. I also highly suggest following her via her social media sites, especially YouTube. You can do the meditation and breathing exercises with her ;)


Where You Can Find Abiola Around the Internet:



Grown ass woman, Mother, reader, drinker of the red wines, not so serious makeup enthusiast and finally...a habitual procrastinator. I read just about everything but I really do love my romances. HEA’s are optional because hell sometimes, Prince Charming really is just a frog. Don’t asked if I finished *that book* yet...because I didn’t.
Find me out here in these eStreets:







*remember to click on the blog post to share it...many thanks!
Continue Reading...

11.15.2016

Tuesday Jam #164


Want to share that song you been loving like crazy lately? Just grab the image above or make your own...and whether you have a blog or not; you can show a video, a music player..whatever suites your fancy. Just remember to have fun!

After last week, this is all I have...




Grown ass woman, Mother, reader, drinker of the red wines, not so serious makeup enthusiast and finally...a habitual procrastinator. I read just about everything but I really do love my romances. HEA’s are optional because hell sometimes, Prince Charming really is just a frog. Don’t asked if I finished *that book* yet...because I didn’t.
Find me out here in these eStreets:






*remember to click on the blog post to share it...many thanks!
Continue Reading...

#CoverReveal: Ares by Felicity Heaton


guardiansofhades-ares.jpg

It’s time for the cover reveal of Ares, book one in the Guardians of Hades series by New York Times best-selling author Felicity Heaton.
Step into a brand new paranormal romance world featuring sexy Greek god heroes on a mission from the Underworld to prevent our world and theirs from colliding in a calamity foreseen by the fates themselves and engineered by a group of deadly daemons. These powerful and passionate sons of Hades are sure to capture your imaginations and your hearts as they face down the rising threat against the two worlds and stop at nothing to claim the women who steal their hearts along the way.
Here’s more about the first book in the series, due for release on November 26th!
Felicity Heaton
Prince of the Underworld and Lord of Fire, Ares was banished from his home by his father, Hades, two centuries ago and given a new duty and purpose—to keep our world and his from colliding in a calamity foreseen by the Moirai.
Together with his six brothers, he fights to defend the gates to the Underworld from daemons bent on breaching them and gaining entrance to that forbidden land, striving to protect his home from their dark influence. Caged by the manifestation of his power, held apart from those he loves by his own fire and starved of physical contact, Ares lives a cold existence driven by duty and the desire to return to his world.
Until his world collides with a daemon who steals his power and a mortal female who shatters the ice around his heart and awakens the true fire within him—a soul-stirring passion both dangerous and seductive.
Megan has wandered far from her home, driven from everyone she loves by the devastating realisation that she is different to them all. Unsure who to trust in the world, she keeps to herself, until a fateful stormy night brings a temptingly handsome warrior crashing into her life and into her heart—a warrior who seems to hold powers more frightening and marvellous than her own.
When the New York gate comes under threat, and Ares is put to the test, will he choose his duty and regain the power he needs in order to save his world or will he choose the desires of his heart and sacrifice his fire so he can be with the woman becoming his whole world?
Ares is due for release in ebook and paperback on November 26th 2016 and will be available from all major online book retailers on that day, but it will be available for pre-order on Amazon Kindle, Kobo Books, Apple iBooks and Google Play stores in the week before release.
Join Felicity’s mailing list to receive a notification when Ares is released, PLUS a sneak preview of the first 4 chapters of the book and chances to win a signed paperback copy: http://www.felicityheaton.co.uk/newsletter.php
Add the book to your Goodreads shelf at:  https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/20940858-ares
Books in the Guardians of Hades paranormal romance series:
Book 2: Valen – Coming in 2017


felicityheaton.jpg
Felicity Heaton is a New York Times and USA Today international best-selling author writing passionate paranormal romance books. In her books, she creates detailed worlds, twisting plots, mind-blowing action, intense emotion and heart-stopping romances with leading men that vary from dark deadly vampires to sexy shape-shifters and wicked werewolves, to sinful angels and hot demons! If you're a fan of paranormal romance authors Lara Adrian, J R Ward, Sherrilyn Kenyon, Gena Showalter and Christine Feehan then you will enjoy her books too.
If you love your angels a little dark and wicked, her best-selling Her Angel romance series is for you. If you like strong, powerful, and dark vampires then try the Vampires Realm romance series or any of her stand alone vampire romance books. If you’re looking for vampire romances that are sinful, passionate and erotic then try her Vampire Erotic Theatre romance series. Or if you like hot-blooded alpha heroes who will let nothing stand in the way of them claiming their destined woman then try her Eternal Mates series. It’s packed with sexy heroes in a world populated by elves, vampires, fae, demons, shifters, and more. If sexy Greek gods with incredible powers battling to save our world and their home in the Underworld are more your thing, then be sure to step into the world of Guardians of Hades.
If you want to know more about Felicity, or want to get in touch, you can find her at the following places:








*remember to click on the blog post to share it...many thanks!
Continue Reading...

11.11.2016

DNF: Queen Sugar by Natalie Baszile

Source: Purchased
Format: Audio Book (Audible)
Series: NA
Genre: African American Fiction
Heat: None
Rating: None

My Review

I really wanted to like this book but couldn’t bring myself to finish it. I feel like the author missed out some key issues in Queen Sugar. Now I know the book itself was going to be different from the TV show that was picked up by OWN and several things are vastly different here. Nova, the older sister from the show is not a character in the book. Charley and Ralph Angel are the only children of Ernest Bordelon. Blue, Ralph Angel’s son is in the book and Micah is a teenage girl. Charley inherits the sugar cane farm after Ernest passes away. Ralph Angel gets nothing, there is friction between father and son and this leads to a troublesome relationship between Ralph Angel and his family. Also Ernest Bordelon wasn’t the staple figure he was on the show, which again I didn’t think the book would be the same but IMO Ernest could have been a better father to his son. I strongly felt he abandoned Ralph Angel at very key moments in his life and also left him with a mother who was battling mental illness. The author never explained why Ernest wasn’t as close as he was to Ralph Angel as he was to Charley and I got all the way up to Chapter 19 before I decided to quit. Ernest’s life never really was explained, I mean there was some reflection of his childhood and how he grew up, when he left Louisiana but why leave your child behind especially with a co-parent who was dealing with her own issues? He also knew Ralph Angel wanted to be with him and by the time he decided to bring his son out to his new family in LA, it was too late. Ralph Angel: Ralph Angel is made out to be a bully and asshole in Queen Sugar and he was. But Ralph Angel clearly had abandonment issues and I suspect some his mother’s mental illness, he was IMO bipolar. Ralph Angel battled drug addiction, the lost of his wife and is now raising his son Blue alone. It seemed Ralph Angel was always alone and the Bordelon family instead of helping him blamed him for his problems. His only saving grace was Blue, which he adored and at times his grandmother Ms. Honey, the family matriarch. But Ms. Honey tended to coddle Ralph Angel and this led to at times a difficult relationship. Ralph Angel loved his grandmother dearly but because his coping skills were pretty much non-existent, he didn’t know who to deal with things. He at times handled situations with anger which led to him doing some terrible things and his family resented him for them. Charley: Charley had her own set of issues but the Bordelon family was the least of them. Moving to a new state, dealing with a teenager who is having a hard time adjusting and taking on a business she knows nothing about is wearing her down. And although I liked her determination not to quit (because her mother and the other sugar cane farmers were just ready for her to fail), Charley at times was her own worst enemy. Her relationships with some folks in the book was headache inducing for me. From her issues with dealing with farm, her relationship with her daughter was shaky and that IMO was her failure to have a proper mother-daughter relationship with Micah. I feel at times she wanted to be friends with her daughter but then when she wanted to discipline her, Micah rebelled. Also, her inability to deal with Ralph Angel grinded my gears. If I had not seen my brother since I was 10 years old, bet believe I would have worked a little harder in having some type of relationship with him even if he was being a asshole. But Charley instantly sided with the bulk of her family and deemed Ralph Angel a problem and that I just could not understand. She intentionally left him out of the farm and she never looked at it as a problem. She never tried to understand that maybe her brother might feel some type of way because their father had already left him out of his will. She IMO didn’t want to see that maybe there was some justification to Ralph Angel’s feelings. She was truly annoying at times. Bottom Line: I listened all the way up to chapter 19 and I just feel like the author didn’t do enough explaining of things. I mean up to that point, we should have known why Ernest felt the need to leave Louisiana, why he and Ralph Angel didn’t have a normal father/son relationship. Ralph Angel’s mother was his high school sweetheart and I understand falling out of love with people, trust me I do but what does your son have to do with a failed marriage? Why did he take to Charley more than he did Ralph Angel? Was it because Charley was the child he felt he didn’t fail? His marriage to her mother didn’t last either? So? I get this book was Charley’s story but too much time was spent on things that to me didn’t matter especially giving at times we got Ralph Angel’s POV during the book. Yes, I wanted to know what was going on with the farm and how Charley was adjusting and learning but it was overkill at times. There wasn’t enough time spent on mending the relationship between Charley and Ralph Angel, they both suffered a lost. Why not give the readers a working relationship between brother and sister especially giving the deep rift that was between them. It seemed Charley wanted to work on her relationships with everyone else, but Ralph Angel? Nope. Also, I mean what family so easily dismisses another like the way the Bordelon’s did with Ralph Angel? They all knew his mother had issues and I know they knew Ernest was not father of the year. Yes Ralph Angel had anger issues but it seemed this family did not want to touch upon the reasons as to why Ralph Angel was the way he was. By chapter 19, we should have gotten more than we did instead of me listening to Charley self destruct in on herself. I’m sure maybe they moved forward with things as the book progressed, but at 19 chapters in...I truly didn’t care anymore. The situation with Ralph Angel made me feel some type of way and I had to stop. Because this man was gentle with his son, he couldn’t have been all that bad. I see that this book has gotten wonderful reviews but for me, it was meh. If you purchased it...give it a go. You might feel differently. 



Grown ass woman, Mother, reader, drinker of the red wines, not so serious makeup enthusiast and finally...a habitual procrastinator. I read just about everything but I really do love my romances. HEA’s are optional because hell sometimes, Prince Charming really is just a frog. Don’t asked if I finished *that book* yet...because I didn’t.
Find me out here in these eStreets:






*remember to click on the blog post to share it...many thanks!
Continue Reading...

About

Brazen Babe Reviews begin its inception in the Year of Our Lord 2014. It's the brain child of two bloggers Ana (Beach Bum Reviews) and Sharonda (SalaciousReads). Here in our lovely little corner of the inter-web, we will share our love of pop culture which will encompass books, movies, TV, make-up and you know life...

Sooo...Relax, have a glass of wine (or whatever your poison is) sit back and enjoy!

*Note, we are currently not accepting Review Requests.

Popular Posts

Labels