2.25.2016

BnB Spotlight: Rock-a-Bye Baby by Vivian Ward

BnB Spotlight.png


Please welcome Author Vivian Ward to Brazen Babe Reviews. Today, we will be spotlighting her latest release Rock-a-Bye Baby (well now…).

Continue Reading...

2.24.2016

BnB Spotlight: Author Melissa Blue

BnB Spotlight.png


Please welcome Author Melissa Blue to Brazen Babe Reviews. I lurrvvsss her Kilt series so I reached out and asked if she would like to share some of her work with us and she said Yes!


Continue Reading...

2.23.2016

Tuesday Jams #149



It's time to get back to the basics, so that is what we are going to do at BnB. Tuesday Jams is  back to is regularly scheduled post, lols. Without further ado...ado....

Want to share that song you been loving like crazy lately? Just grab the image above or make your own...and whether you have a blog or not; you can show a video, a music player..whateva suites your fancy. Just remember to have fun!

Continue Reading...

2.16.2016

Tuesday Jams #148




It's time to get back to the basics, so that is what we are going to do at BnB. Tuesday Jams is  back to is regularly scheduled post, lols. Without further ado...ado....

Want to share that song you been loving like crazy lately? Just grab the image above or make your own...and whether you have a blog or not; you can show a video, a music player..whateva suites your fancy. Just remember to have fun!

Continue Reading...

2.12.2016

#ComicReview: Monstress by Marjorie Liu (Books 1 & 2)


27424058.jpg


Monstress #1
Published: November 4 2015
72 Pages


This story is set in alternate China in the 1900’s and when we enter the story, it is after a huge war that went on between human, monster and witches. Monsters are at the disadvantage here, they are literally slaves being sold for body parts, labor and worse. Our main character, Maika is arcanic (monster race) and is about to be sold but is then given to the powerful Cumaea (Witches).  This tale revolves around Maika who basically allows herself to be caught to find out two things: 1. To find her mother’s murderer and 2: What is happening to herself. The only way to get this done is confront the person she believes has the answers even if it means her death.





28159987.jpg




Continue Reading...

2.11.2016

#BookReview: Be Not Afraid by Alyssa Cole (#HistoricalRomance)

28930356.jpg


Source: Self Purchased
Format: Mobi (Kindle)
Series: No
Author: Alyssa Cole
Genre: Historical Romance
Heat: Some Sex, Yes. Nothing Crazy Tho
Available: Amazon


My Review


I have no cons about this book, not a one. Set in Brooklyn 1776 our soon to be couple meet each other in the not best of circumstances. Elijah who is fighting for the confederacy and  Kate who is a on the side of the British to win the freedom she was promised.


As I’ve said, Elijah and Kate do not meet on friendly terms. Elijah who breaks away from his camp runs into her as she is being led by one of the British who has every intent on doing her harm. It is Elijah who comes to her aid but he is captured by the British and held prisoner.

Continue Reading...

BnB Spotlight: Rulers of Darkness by Amanda J. Greene (#ParanormalRomance)

BnB Spotlight.png


Please welcome Amanda J. Greene to Brazen Babe Reviews. Today, we will be spotlighting her series, Rulers of Darkness and a extra bonus...it’s a box set!

AmandaGreene_RulersOfDarknessSeriesBoxSet_2500px.jpg

Author Name: Amanda J. Greene
Book Title: Rulers of Darkness Box Set (Books 1-3)
Date Published: 12/29/2015
Genre: Paranormal romance
Available: Amazon | BN | Kobo


Continue Reading...

2.09.2016

Tuesday Jams #147




It's time to get back to the basics, so that is what we are going to do at BnB. Tuesday Jams is  back to is regularly scheduled post, lols. Without further ado...ado....

Want to share that song you been loving like crazy lately? Just grab the image above or make your own...and whether you have a blog or not; you can show a video, a music player..whateva suites your fancy. Just remember to have fun!

Continue Reading...

2.07.2016

Bought, Borrowed & Bagged #19

BBB.png

BB&B (Bought, Borrowed & Bagged) is a weekly meme, hosted by Talk Supe and inspired by The Story Siren and Pop Culture Junkie, where we share with you the books that we have bought, borrowed or bagged (won or gifted) plus a recap of the previous week's review, upcoming reviews, on going events and book movie or television news.

BB&B is an homage Barron's Books & Baubles from Karen Marie Moning's smash hit series, Fever.

Oh lawd, it’s been a minute where we did a BBB. But hey here we be, lols.
Happy Sunday!


Continue Reading...

2.06.2016

#BookReview: Kindred, An American Love Story by P. J. Dean (#HistoricalRomance)

23510189.jpg


Source: Author
*won in giveaway
Format: ePub (NOOK)
Series: No
Author: P.J. Dean
Genre: Historical Romance
Heat: Of Course There is Sex
Available: Amazon | BN | +Goodreads (Blurb/Shelf It)


My Rating


Kindred is a beautifully written love story between Kindred Twain, a free woman of color and her childhood friend turned lover Lelaheo/Cassian Harkness, an Oneida Indian.


The story Ms. Dean told was just wonderful. I mean do you realize how many historical romances I’ve come across and the black woman is almost always a slave or the indian is almost always a savage. Thank you to this author for giving us not just a free woman of color but Kindred is also intelligent, resourceful and of course beautiful and thank you again for giving me Lelaheo who is the same as his female counterpart and he will become a doctor in this story.

Continue Reading...

2.05.2016

#BookReview: Hard As Ice by Raven Scott (#RomanceSuspense)

22891476.jpg


Source: NetGalley
Format: Mobi (Kindle)
Series: Fortis #1
Authors: Raven Scott
Genre: Romance Suspense
Heat Level: Of Course There is Sex
Available: Amazon | BN | +Goodreads (Blurb/Shelf It)


My Rating


Hard As Ice has all of the makings of a perfect romance and suspense, but….


Former CIA agent Evan DaCosta now runs his own security firm and their current assignment is to find out who are the culprits in the multi-million dollar jewelry heist from a well know auction house. In comes Nia James, she is their prime suspect as she and her boss were the only ones to have had the password to the safe that the jewelry was stolen from. This is where your suspense comes in. Nia knows she is the target of Evan and his team's investigation. She just has to prove that she is innocent...hard to do when you have a questionable background.

Continue Reading...

2.04.2016

Whine & Write #3

cooltext163456941969618 (1).png



This post has no additional title. And no Wine inspired this post (just had surgery so I can't, lols).

A photographer/cover designer that I follow on Facebook posted two links. The first one, she asked authors to post their books that feature characters of color, the link is HERE...look at how many folks responded. Her second post, she asked for blogs/bloggers that read/review diverse books to share their links so these authors can find their blogs, that link is HERE. Now compare the responses from her 2nd post to the 1st one. I'll wait....f**king crickets, right?


I'm not here to preach about the need for diversity and I'm not posting this to point out any bloggers/authors/blogs specifically. Has it gotten better? yeah, sure. But compared to the ratio of books that feature non-poc characters, it's not a really big gain for authors who write these books especially authors of color.

Continue Reading...

About

Just a couple of Brazen ladies sharing the love of our favorite things...books, TV and a lil bit of other things. Relax, have a glass of wine (or whatever your poison is) and enjoy! *Note, we are currently not accepting Review Requests.

Blog Archive

Popular Posts