12.06.2017

See Ya'll In The New Year!


Hey Ya'll! It's going to be quite this way for the next month. I just wanted to pop it and wish you and yours a very Happy Holiday and abundantly prosperous New Year. 

With work and daily life, I'm finding it a bit stressing to attempt to post but I am reading and enjoying some new TV shows. I'll start posting again in January with reviews for both the books I read, shows I watched and all the others little thangs I want to start posting to this blog. Technically, we will still be a review blog but I just wanted to add a bit more to what we do you know and I dang sure don't want to change the blogs name, lols. 

I'll still be around social media...limited anyways. Mostly on Instagram (personal and blog) and Snapchat (Tarrelle Elba). Wonder how I came up with that name? Well....My middle name and someday I will meet and marry Idris Elba, lols!  

Anyhoos, see ya (here) in 2018!



Grown ass woman, Mother, reader, drinker of the red wines, not so serious makeup enthusiast and finally...a habitual procrastinator. I read just about everything but I really do love my romances. HEA’s are optional because hell sometimes, Prince Charming really is just a frog. Don’t asked if I finished *that book* yet...because I didn’t.

Find me out here in these eStreets:


Continue Reading...

11.16.2017

Goodreads Got Me Messed Up....










Grown ass woman, Mother, reader, drinker of the red wines, not so serious makeup enthusiast and finally...a habitual procrastinator. I read just about everything but I really do love my romances. HEA’s are optional because hell sometimes, Prince Charming really is just a frog. Don’t asked if I finished *that book* yet...because I didn’t.

Find me out here in these eStreets:



Continue Reading...

11.14.2017

Movie Review: Thor Ragnarok & Tuesday Jams #185





So I saw Thor: Ragnarok and it was good..and funny. I wasn't expecting the funnies, I really wasn't but I'm glad the director added them in. So basically, Thor along with his brother Loki have to save Asgard from their power crazy sister Hela, who just happens to be the Goddess of Death. Dad never told him nor Loki about Hela.

But we had that whole Loki is not your blood brother thing going on so....

Seems dear ol dad is good at keeping the secrets.

What's the take from this third installment of Thor? Welp, Thor and Loki seem to get along or do they? because towards the end when Loki went to grab something had me side eyeing him. But of course, we are dealing with Loki. Thor and this new Valkyrie (played by the gorgeous Tessa Thompson) have this sexual tension thangy going on or was I the only one who noticed that? The Hulk? no words man, he was just awesome as hell. And I mean the Hulk, not Banner. But mainly, Thor kinda comes into is own here and realizes his powers weren't always bound by his mighty hammer.

Anyhoo's with the added comedy skits from most everyone in the movie along with some bad ass, kick ass action, Thor Ragnarok is well worth your movie money. Much and I mean muuuccchhho better that the one before it...



This Thor is so much fun and it has that whole 80's thang going on with it. Yeah, I loved it.

And why not a #TuesdayJams to go along with this review....





Grown ass woman, Mother, reader, drinker of the red wines, not so serious makeup enthusiast and finally...a habitual procrastinator. I read just about everything but I really do love my romances. HEA’s are optional because hell sometimes, Prince Charming really is just a frog. Don’t asked if I finished *that book* yet...because I didn’t.

Find me out here in these eStreets:
Goodreads | Twitter | Youtube | SoundCloud | Instagram |  | Google +



Continue Reading...

11.09.2017

AudioBook Review: Magic Bites (Kate Daniel #1) by Ilona Andrews




Title: Magic Bites | Author: Ilona Andrews | Source: Purchased | Format: (Audio Book) | Released: October 4, 2016 | Genre: Urban Fantasy| Available: BN | Goodreads | Amazon *Book cover and buy link is below

I like this one for the most part. I still feel like Kate was TSTL (too stupid to live), I mean did she really want to die? I can't say that I liked her very much, actually I didn't like her at all. When did bad-ass become mixed up with TSTL? I digress. 

Anyhoo's, Kate sets out to find out who killed her guardian Greg. During the investigation, she finds out that someone or something....is trying to start a war between The People (Vampires) and Beasts (a mixture of shape-shifters) and the story takes on from there. 

Honestly I don't see what all the fuss is about, the story for the most part is interesting. I liked the twist on the magic and paranormal world. There was also some good action here and there throughout the story but semantics I guess. 

I think the authors have a good basic formula with these characters and with this series (its still ongoing I see) but I don't think I'll be reading any further books. 

As far as the audio itself? Eh, this audio is a 9 hour #listento and that's because some chapters were like more than a hour (I can just image reading the physical book *rolls eyes*). I think it could have been shortened a bit but again semantics. I wasn't a fan of the narrator but for the most part, she did a good job. I really need for folks to start investing in dual narrators.

I'm probably the last one in the book-o-sphere to have read this book (I mean look at the release date, lols) so you know...I don't even know what I'm trying to say, lols. Anyways, if you're a fan of urban fantasy, you will probably enjoy Kate and her wanna be "snarky" self.





Grown ass woman, Mother, reader, drinker of the red wines, not so serious makeup enthusiast and finally...a habitual procrastinator. I read just about everything but I really do love my romances. HEA’s are optional because hell sometimes, Prince Charming really is just a frog. Don’t asked if I finished *that book* yet...because I didn’t.

Find me out here in these eStreets:

Continue Reading...

11.06.2017

Book Review: After the Pain by Adrienne Thompson




Title: After the Pain | Author: Adrienne Thompson | Source: Purchased | Format: (eBook) | Published: January 11, 2016 | Genre: African American Romance | Available: BN | Goodreads | Amazon *Book cover and buy link is below

This book had me so in my emotions, I wanted to put the book down at times. Why? Because it reminded me of some bad times in my life and well, when it comes to bad times…who wants to remember them? Not me.

Anyhoo’s Adrienne Thompson throws a real life message in her book After the Pain. She pulls no punches and reading it makes you feel so many things, ugh…so many things.

Take LaVonda Ingram. Raised by her sister who turned out to be verbally abusive onto marrying her husband would turn out to be both verbally and emotionally abusive. For 40 plus years, all LaVonda experienced was abuse and that abuse lead to depression. This depression would lead to LaVonda making several attempts to take her life. After the death of her husband, LaVonda doesn’t cope very well and this ends up with her in the hospital. After getting out, she decides that she needs a change of scenery and takes off without telling her overbearing older sister. She ends up at a bed & breakfast that use to be a plantation. There she meets the owner and several other ladies that work there. The owner offers LaVonda a room and our story takes an interesting turn. She meets a man name August who works the property. The attraction between LaVonda and August is instant, the relationship turns into insta-love. But we find out that both August and LaVonda have their troubled issues.

What I took away from the story was this. Is it possible to find love after suffering so much unhappiness and pain? And should you find a new love, would said love make it when both parties have very big problems? LaVonda and August prove that yes, it is very much possible. LaVonda had to learn how to trust and so did August but in different ways.

I loved LaVonda’s strength even as she was suffering.  There were times throughout the story that I wanted her to fight harder but as a person who deals with depression, I know that shit is hard. Girl, when that water is above your head? whew jeezus! When it comes on you, it comes..here me? Also, even though I wasn’t a fan of the insta-love, I did enjoy the fact that August was there for LaVonda as she fought. Low key, I thought he also had some form of depression going on but his personality was stronger than LaVonda’s, so he was able to be the one in this newly formed relationship to be an anchor to her sinking boat. And also, let me just say how he didn’t want to run because I feel like when women deal with these type of situations, some men don’t want to be bothered.

After the Pain is a reality based read and is highly recommended. There is much packed in this novella but you won’t be starved from the story. I took many things away from this story and I’m glad I finally buckled down to read it (after being on my TBR list for a….minute). 






Grown ass woman, Mother, reader, drinker of the red wines, not so serious makeup enthusiast and finally...a habitual procrastinator. I read just about everything but I really do love my romances. HEA’s are optional because hell sometimes, Prince Charming really is just a frog. Don’t asked if I finished *that book* yet...because I didn’t.

Find me out here in these eStreets:


Continue Reading...

11.02.2017

Book Blitz: Proposal for Love by Sharon C. Cooper

Proposal for Love

by Sharon C. Cooper
Jenkins & Sons Construction
Publication Date: October 31, 2017
Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Nathaniel Jenkins-Moore never allows romantic entanglements to get in the way of running Jenkins & Sons Construction. That is until the woman who ripped out his heart crashes back into his life. She wants to leave the past in the past, and though Nate knows a thing or two about rebuilding strong foundations, her betrayal still haunts him. He can’t forget. He won’t forgive. She can’t be trusted. But why does his heart still beat double-time whenever she’s near?

Liberty Stewart has been living a lie. Masking her shredded self-esteem and trying to overcome the emotional torment inflicted by her abusive ex-husband, she’s ready to rebuild her life. But just when she thinks she’s on track, her current assignment brings her face to face with the only man she’s ever truly loved—Nate. Too bad he hates her. Liberty knows she did Nate wrong, and getting him to trust her again might be impossible, but neither of them can deny the attraction that still runs deep.

Is the burning passion they share enough to get their troubled hearts to finally beat as one? Or is the hurt too deep for a happily ever after?



Timing is everything.

Sumeera Robinson refuses to settle for less than she desires, even if what she craves is the sexy, smart, and charming Nicolas Jenkins-Moore. At her age, she wants marriage and a family, not the empty promises Nick offers. Yet, there is just something about the man that makes moving on nearly impossible.

As the new senior manager of Jenkins & Sons Construction, Nick’s five-year plan is on track with marriage and starting a family at the bottom of the list. Sumeera is as beautiful inside as she is on the outside, but not even she can entice him to abandon his carefully plotted road to success. That is until she walks away without looking back, leaving him yearning for her presence in his life.

Nick is determined to convince Sumeera that he wants the same things she wants. But will an unexpected development keep them from the life they desire? Or will fate bring them closer than they’ve ever been before?

About Sharon C. Cooper

Award-winning and bestselling author, Sharon C. Cooper, is a romance-a-holic – loving anything that involves romance with a happily-ever-after, whether in books, movies, or real life. Sharon writes contemporary romance, as well as romantic suspense and enjoys rainy days, carpet picnics, and peanut butter and jelly sandwiches. She’s been nominated for numerous awards and is the recipient of an Emma Award for Romantic Suspense of the Year 2015 (Truth or Consequences), Emma Award – Interracial Romance of the Year 2015 (All You’ll Ever Need), and BRAB (book club) Award -Breakout Author of the Year 2014. When Sharon is not writing or working, she’s hanging out with her amazing husband, doing volunteer work or reading a good book (a romance of course). To read more about Sharon and her novels, visit www.sharoncooper.net






Grown ass woman, Mother, reader, drinker of the red wines, not so serious makeup enthusiast and finally...a habitual procrastinator. I read just about everything but I really do love my romances. HEA’s are optional because hell sometimes, Prince Charming really is just a frog. Don’t asked if I finished *that book* yet...because I didn’t.

Find me out here in these eStreets:




Continue Reading...

10.31.2017

Tuesday Jams #184: A New #WebSeries To Check Out




Want to share that song you been loving like crazy lately? Just grab the image above or make your own...and whether you have a blog or not; you can show a video, a music player..whatever suites your fancy. Just remember to have fun! ♫♫

So I found a new web series via Youtube, its freaking funny. But it's not just funny, Adrienne escapes via daydreams to the Victoria era because being an awkward nerdy black girl can have it's issues at times. Adrienne is five episodes in and I hope she gets picked up soon...this is a awesome gem.

I'll post episode five, you can click  on the title in the next sentence to watch the other of epis. Black Girl In A Big Dress is well worth the subscription click. 






Grown ass woman, Mother, reader, drinker of the red wines, not so serious makeup enthusiast and finally...a habitual procrastinator. I read just about everything but I really do love my romances. HEA’s are optional because hell sometimes, Prince Charming really is just a frog. Don’t asked if I finished *that book* yet...because I didn’t.

Find me out here in these eStreets:


Continue Reading...

10.24.2017

Book Review: The Girl from The Sugar Plantation by Sharon Maas


Title: The Girl from The Sugar Plantation | Author: Sharon Maas | Source: NetGalley | Format: (eBook) | Published: October 19, 2017 | Genre: Historical Fiction/Romance | Available: BN, Amazon *Book cover and buy link is below

Set in 1934 Georgetown Guyana, The Girl from the Sugar Plantation is about Mary Grace who is the mix-raced daughter of the only female sugar cane planter.

This is a beautifully written story of a young girl learning her way. Being mix-raced, Mary Grace must learn her way through a world she knows is prejudice against her. 

Mary Grace learns that navigating the British upper class can benefit her in the best and worst of ways. The Best of Ways:  Being strong and thorough with her music and also holding her own again her mother (who was a bit of a bully). The Worst of Ways: Getting involved in a scandalous romance. 

This story is long and detailed, but my issue stemmed from not really connecting with Mary Grace. I suppose it has a lot to do with her way of handling things. Still, I enjoyed this one just for the historical content. Adding the romance and drama, it’s a great read for historical readers.

*eBook provided via NetGalley







Grown ass woman, Mother, reader, drinker of the red wines, not so serious makeup enthusiast and finally...a habitual procrastinator. I read just about everything but I really do love my romances. HEA’s are optional because hell sometimes, Prince Charming really is just a frog. Don’t asked if I finished *that book* yet...because I didn’t.

Find me out here in these eStreets:
Goodreads | Twitter | Youtube | SoundCloud | Instagram |  | Google +



Continue Reading...

10.20.2017

Recap: Lethal Weapon, Season 2 - Episode 1--3





If you enjoyed this Podcast, please consider following us via Soundcloud and also share this cast ❤




Grown ass woman, Mother, reader, drinker of the red wines, not so serious makeup enthusiast and finally...a habitual procrastinator. I read just about everything but I really do love my romances. HEA’s are optional because hell sometimes, Prince Charming really is just a frog. Don’t asked if I finished *that book* yet...because I didn’t.

Find me out here in these eStreets:



Continue Reading...

10.18.2017

Recap: Blackish, Season 4 - Episodes 1--2



Blackish is one of the best TV shows going on right now, YOU need to be watching it :D




If you enjoyed this Podcast, please consider following us via Soundcloud and also share this cast ❤




Grown ass woman, Mother, reader, drinker of the red wines, not so serious makeup enthusiast and finally...a habitual procrastinator. I read just about everything but I really do love my romances. HEA’s are optional because hell sometimes, Prince Charming really is just a frog. Don’t asked if I finished *that book* yet...because I didn’t.

Find me out here in these eStreets:


Continue Reading...

10.17.2017

Tuesday Jams #183




Want to share that song you been loving like crazy lately? Just grab the image above or make your own...and whether you have a blog or not; you can show a video, a music player..whatever suites your fancy. Just remember to have fun! ♫♫

I discovered this artist via one of the folks that I follow via Twitter. I love being introduced to different genres of Music. ThaGata Negrra describes her music as Alternative Rap and after listening to a couple of songs via her website, I like it...a lot. Now, I don't see myself listening to her music constantly but every now and again would be cool. 

Side Note: I think she is really awesome for taking an alternative route in the rap world. We get so much cussing and degrading of women by men AND by our own gender. So yeah, it's great to see she going a positive way. And growing up and being from Newark, NJ, I bet she caught (probably still does) a lot of flack for being herself and doing music the way she wants. 

The video below is via her Youtube channel but you can get more listen to her full library via her website






Grown ass woman, Mother, reader, drinker of the red wines, not so serious makeup enthusiast and finally...a habitual procrastinator. I read just about everything but I really do love my romances. HEA’s are optional because hell sometimes, Prince Charming really is just a frog. Don’t asked if I finished *that book* yet...because I didn’t.

Find me out here in these eStreets:


Continue Reading...

10.10.2017

Book Review: The Diamond Empire by K'wan




Title: The Diamond Empire | Author: K'wan | Source: NetGalley | Format: eBook | Published: October 10 2017 | Genre: Street Literature | Available via Amazon *Book Cover and buy link below | Also available via Barnes & Noble | Shelf It via Goodreads

The Diamond Empire is a gritty and suspenseful drama filled read, but as I stated on Goodreads; I struggled with it.

I haven't read "street literature" in a very long while so when I saw this title on NetGalley, I was pleasantly surprised if not a bit shocked but instantly clicked on "request". To simply put, the draw of street lit is the true to life feel of the stories. The hard core street life that the characters live is...I don't know quite how to put it, but its engaging.

I have no issue with violence, sex or drugs in a book because these things run across many genres in publishing. My issue with The Diamond Empire and some books like it is the lack of character development. IMO each and every character lacked substance, everyone was a walking stereotype. The one dimensional aspects of these characters also led to a lack of story plot. It's no different with this book, everyone wants to be King of or a Boss Bitch which  of course leads to mayhem and murder. This is fine because that's what street lit is but when parts of the plot makes no sense, when some of the characters actions don't make jive; it's makes you wonder how the author let things just sit.

I wanted to like The Diamond Empire, but I realized as I finished it that this genre just isn't my cup of tea anymore. And this is no disrespect to the genre or the author because both will always have a audience, I'm just no longer part of it. However, if you are a fan of street lit; then this is definitely right up your alley.

*Note that this is a follow up to the first book, Diamonds and Pearls. I don't think you have to read the fist one to get a good grasp of the story as the author inputs enough backstories throughout the book.








Grown ass woman, Mother, reader, drinker of the red wines, not so serious makeup enthusiast and finally...a habitual procrastinator. I read just about everything but I really do love my romances. HEA’s are optional because hell sometimes, Prince Charming really is just a frog. Don’t asked if I finished *that book* yet...because I didn’t.

Find me out here in these eStreets:

Continue Reading...

10.06.2017

Book Review: The Truth of Things by Tasha L. Harrison




Title: The Truth of Things | Author: Tasha L. Harrison | Source: Self Purchased | Format: eBook | Published: September 5, 2017: Genre: African American Romance | Available via Amazon | *Book Cover and Buy link below this post

The Truth Of Things is a title I tell you, but it's also a very good story going on within this little old eBook. The story centers around characters Ava Marie Greene, a photographer and Levi Raymond, a cop who just happens to patrol the city where Ava lives and works which is Camden NJ. Shot out to the author for making Jersey the home of our characters as I tend to see few of them and it's always good to see.

Ava and Levi meet on a night that she is roughly mishandled by another officer. There are many layers to the this tale and we aren't just talking about Ava's and Levi's romantical hook-up. That in itself was fun to read. Ava talked shit and Levi seemed just the man to give it right back to her. As in most romances, they are and were a perfect ass match. Levi had his hurdles to jump when dealing with Ava because she was a many layered onion but Officer friendly did a wonderful job of giving Ms. Greene a run for her money.

What impressed me most about The Truth of Things is not just the easy way that Ava and Levi got together but this author doesn't shy away from the current tensioned-fill relationship that many black and brown communities deal with when it comes to the police. Especially when it comes to the current issue of many young black and brown men who are being killed by the very people whom are to protect and serve them but instead are murdering them and walking away freely. Yes, some of these young people may have a stained past or present for that matter but just like the character in this story, it touches upon the bias that many people of color face even when they are attempting OR have gotten their shit together. Even when they are now the victim, they are still the "suspect" in death.

Also, we read how Levi deals with his budding relationship with Ava, as well her friends as he is a cop and works with some not good people on the force. Levi being a cop and volunteering within the neighbor he patrols, how does he get through his day knowing that he does work with corrupt cops? How does he keep balance between "what" he sees in the community and "who" he works with/for?

Tasha L. Harrison brings a budding love, family, humor and tragedy together beautifully in The Truth of Things, it's a must read book for 2017 and beyond.





Grown ass woman, Mother, reader, drinker of the red wines, not so serious makeup enthusiast and finally...a habitual procrastinator. I read just about everything but I really do love my romances. HEA’s are optional because hell sometimes, Prince Charming really is just a frog. Don’t asked if I finished *that book* yet...because I didn’t.

Find me out here in these eStreets:



Continue Reading...

About

Brazen Babe Reviews begin its inception in the Year of Our Lord 2014. It's the brain child of two bloggers Ana (Beach Bum Reviews) and Sharonda (SalaciousReads). Here in our lovely little corner of the inter-web, we will share our love of pop culture which will encompass books, movies, TV, make-up and you know life...

Sooo...Relax, have a glass of wine (or whatever your poison is) sit back and enjoy!

*Note, we are currently not accepting Review Requests.