4.20.2017

Dusting The Dust Off....

Hey Ya'll!


Let's blow the dust off this sucker. 
Welp, I just wanted to give you guys a update on what I've been reading. There will be more posts coming cuz I've just been very actively lazy, lols but that will stop soon. 

The Engagement Game by Joi-Marie McKenzie. 

I started the Engagement Game because I saw a interview the author did with a popular blog I follow and like the premise of the book so I picked it up. I did put the book down but not because I wasn't enjoying it but I have books from NetGalley that I need to get to reading so I'll come back to this one. It's very funny though. Her getting to get her boyfriend to propose is hilarious and although Ms. McKenzie is 28, I can definitely relate to wanting more from someone when everyone else around you is getting married and popping out babies.... 




Difficult Women by Roxane Gay

I've been hearing some really good things about Ms. Gay's writing and wanted to give her work a try. I haven't started yet (don't ask why I'm carrying this books in my damn pocketbook, lols) but I'll start it today. In short, there are several different story in this one about of course several different women. Looking forward to giving it a go. 





And those books from NetGalley I have to read....

Rich People Problems by Kevin Kwan
Hollywood Homicide by Kellye Garrett
Her Secret Life by Tiffany L. Warren
Dissent by P.J. Jean

I'll have the review for Difficult Women up on Monday. Until then, Happy Reading and Happy Weekend! 


Sharonda
Grown ass woman, Mother, reader, drinker of the red wines, not so serious makeup enthusiast and finally...a habitual procrastinator. I read just about everything but I really do love my romances. HEA’s are optional because hell sometimes, Prince Charming really is just a frog. Don’t asked if I finished *that book* yet...because I didn’t.
Find me out here in these eStreets:




Continue Reading...

4.06.2017

Binti by Nnedi Okorafor (#ScienceFiction)










Source: Purchased
Format: Paperback, 90 pgs. 
Published:
Genre: Science Fiction
Available: Barnes & Noble | Amazon | +Goodreads





Sharonda's Thoughts

Great read. I really enjoyed this novella. Short but filled with enough exciting moments to keep you interested in the story. 

Binti, the first of her people to leave Earth and study at a scientific university on a another planet, Oomza University. However, on her way to to school...her ship is attacked by an alien race called the Meduse that is at war with humans called the Khoush. Everyone on the ship is killed with the exception of the ships Pilot and Binti. 

Binti is only able to stay alive because of a small item she kept with her when she left home, her edan which hurts the Meduse when they come in contact with it. She uses this and also her smarts to stay alive until they reach Oomza University. Binti's people even though they are considered a more primitive race of Humans, they are intelligent especially when it comes to Math and Science. 

The world building is excellent and the storytelling is amazing. You can visualize the world that Ms. Okorafor has created. Binti is also a strong protagonist. She literally stays alive by bargaining her life in exchange to find a more peaceful way that the Meduse can obtain what they are going to Oomza for without further bloodshed. She also able to become friends with the enemy because of this as well. 

Ms. Okorafor touches upon many things in Binti but race, class and war are strong themes that take precedent in this tale. 

Because this is a novella I don't want to give too much away but if you enjoy a diverse science fiction world, then Binti is a great way to go or start. 

**There is a second book (Home) that continues Binti's story and I hope to read it soon. 



 Your Author Around These eStreets: Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads Page



Sharonda
Grown ass woman, Mother, reader, drinker of the red wines, not so serious makeup enthusiast and finally...a habitual procrastinator. I read just about everything but I really do love my romances. HEA’s are optional because hell sometimes, Prince Charming really is just a frog. Don’t asked if I finished *that book* yet...because I didn’t.
Find me out here in these eStreets:


Continue Reading...

4.05.2017

BnB Spotlight: Freddie Entangled by Kiru Taye

Title: Freddie Entangled
Series: The Essiens #6, Freddie Duology Part 1
Author: Kiru Taye
Genre: Adult, Romantic Suspense
Published: March 31, 2017

SYNOPSIS
Violence marked Freddie Edun's early years. Coming to work for the Essiens saved him from the angry young man he was and gave him focus. Now he's walking the path of success, and partnership in Banks Security business is within reach. He just has to seal this deal with a potential customer first. Until he meets the client's wife, and the deal risks taking a nose dive.

Kike Ogun married young to a man who dazzled her with his bogus charm. She’s lived like a caged bird for many years, but with a looming milestone birthday on the horizon, she is determined to walk a new path of self-love. If she could just ignore the electrifying and forbidden attraction she feels towards a younger man from the first moment they meet.

With a devious husband who refuses to let go, she’s going to need help—Freddie’s protection—to stay alive long enough to celebrate her upcoming birthday. And she’s going to have to give in to her dark passion for him and finally unleash the natural woman inside. If it's only sex, then what's love got to do it?

This story unravels in two instalments—this is the first part.

The second part, Freddie Untangled, is coming soon! GOODREADS


Buy Now




Freddie Entangled Excerpt © Kiru Taye 2017


“Did you know that your gateman believes that God guards your house?” Freddie’s words cut into her thoughts, drawing her attention back to him. “And therefore, he doesn’t have to do anything more than just opening and closing the gates?”

Kike sighed. She remained aware of the lackadaisical attitude towards security around here. As if by being a pastor, her husband and anyone associated with him became bulletproof.

“I know. It’s part of the reason I don’t feel safe,” she replied in a monotone voice. “Sometimes, I feel as if I’m going to be murdered in my sleep and everybody is going to dismiss it as the will of God.”

Freddie stopped the car just after he went past the main gates leading out of the estate. He turned in his seat and stared at her, eyebrows drawn together. “Do you feel that unsafe? Did someone threaten you?”

Damn. Why had she blurted that out? She shouldn’t have spoken those words out loud. She’d never said anything like that to anyone before. And she certainly shouldn’t have said it to Freddie.

She avoided eye contact, and her gaze bounced around the car interior before settling on a spot beyond the windscreen at the high fence surrounding the building across the road. She clenched her hands into fists and closed her eyes, counting between inhales and exhales.

“Mrs. Ogun, is there something I should know?”

“Look, Freddie—“” Saying his name felt very intimate like she knew him on a personal level, which she didn’t. He was just a man looking to provide a service to her and her family. She needed to remember that. She avoided his searching gaze. He seemed able to discover things she hid. Not to mention the ease with which she had confided in him. “Forget I said that. It was nothing.”

“It’s not nothing.”

Cool palm covered the bare skin on her wrist. Her pulse jumped, her skin electrified, and her breath hitched. She turned her head so quickly that she felt woozy, the disorientation made worse when she met his gaze.

His eyes were full of questions, concern, and compassion. He looked at her as if he’d understood her fears even before she’d spoken them.

What was going on with her? He didn’t know her. Couldn’t know her. And he was never going to get the chance to know her.

“Just drive.” She ordered, forced herself to look away again, and tried to tug her arm free. He didn’t let her go. She swallowed as her skin flushed.

“Kike.”

Her heart skipped a beat. Her name on his lips was beautiful, like a plea whispered by an old lover rather than a man she hardly knew. The low timbre vibrated through her, making her core throb. Her skin tingled where he held her. She was certain he could feel her racing pulse underneath his thumb.

Did he know that his restraint excited her?

She closed her eyes and held her breath. An image of him caging her with his body popped into her mind.

Her eyes flew open, and she raised her palms to cover her face.  So she’d become starved of a lover’s affection in the past few years. But did she desperately miss the touch of a man enough to forget herself? That she would ache for the first man who inadvertently pushed her needy buttons?

“You shouldn’t call me that.” Her breathy reprimand came out weak, more to remind herself that she was just a client to him than to prompt him of his status.

“You can tell me anything,” he said, his enticing voice filled with empathy. “You can trust me. What I said in your house is true. I will protect you from any threat.”

“Okay.” Her voice croaked, and she swallowed.

“So will you tell me what’s going on?” he probed.

Her first impulse was to tell him the truth. To bare her soul to him. His soothing tone felt almost magical and inspired trust.

Breaking the habit of a lifetime proved difficult. She’d hidden things about herself from other people for years. When people found out things about her, all she ever got back were judgements and criticisms. The only person who ever really understood her was Lekan. See how that had turned out.

“Nothing is going on.” She still didn’t meet his gaze. At least this way, he wouldn’t know she was telling a lie.

He didn’t say anything for several racing heartbeats.

“Okay. When you decide to talk, I’ll be here to listen. Any time of day.” He pressed the ignition knob, indicated, and pulled out of the junction, heading to Yomi’s school.


IN THE SERIES


Kiru is the award winning author of His Treasure. She writes sensual and passionate multicultural romance stories set mostly in Africa. When she's not writing you can find her either immersed in a good book or catching up with friends and family. She currently lives in the South of England with her husband and three children.
CONNECT WITH THE AUTHOR
FACEBOOK | TWITTER | WEBSITE | GOOGLE+ | PINTEREST |
INSTAGRAM | GOODREADS | AMAZON

MORE FROM THE AUTHOR


Hosted By: 
 MORE THAN WORDS PROMOTIONS





Continue Reading...

3.29.2017

#GuestReview: Holiday Temptation by Donna Hill, Farrah Rochon, and KM Jackson (@sophiarose1816)




Contemporary Romance
Publisher:  Dafina
Published:  9.27.16
Pages:  374
Rating: 4 Stars
Flames:  3.5
Format:  eARC
Source:  Net Galley
Sellers:  Amazon
+GoodReads (Blurb/Shelf It)

GoodReads Blurb: 
Tis the season to satisfy your holiday desires with this festive trio of sexy stories…

A GIFT OF LOVE Donna Hill
Drama professor Traci Long spends her free time at the CoffeeMate café, pursuing her true passion—writing her own plays. Meanwhile, sexy barista Noah Jefferson is doing his best to distract her. But once they get involved, past betrayals make Traci wary. She’s right that Noah is keeping something from her—but it might be something that will make this Christmas as sweet as a rave review—and steamier than her favorite chai latté…

HOLIDAY SPICE Farrah Rochon
A Christmas-time tragedy took photographer Miranda Lawson’s holiday spirit with it. Since then, she’s traveled the world, determined to outrun her demons. This year she’s off to Istanbul. But the scenery isn’t the only gorgeous site she spots through her camera lens….Kyle Daniels loves Christmas, but he’s looking for escape too—and soon he and Miranda find it in each other’s arms. Yet their connection doesn’t end there. Maybe staying put isn’t such a bad idea after all—especially when there’s someone to celebrate with…

FROM HERE TO SERENITY K.M. Jackson
Unstoppable real-estate developer Ross Montgomery is under orders to get some holiday R&R. A cruise to Miami on his yacht, “The Serenity,” is the perfect place to start—especially when he meets his new personal chef, Essie Bradford. Between her calming presence, her amazing food, and her delectable beauty, Ross just might develop a taste for the good life. And when the two discover they have a lot in common—including an irresistible attraction—the next course may be a spicy New Year…

Sophia's Review
You probably guessed it by the cover or the blurb or hey, the giveaway title, but this is a holiday collection.  I didn’t let that stop me.  I’m one that can read a holiday story at any time of the year if the mood hits me.
 I spotted the Holiday Temptation anthology of holiday stories by all new to me authors so I was eager to give it a try.  Christmas holidays spent with a variety of characters, situations, and settings made this a treasure trove to delve into and enjoy.  I've decided since there are only three stories that I can separate out mini-review thoughts for each.

A Gift of Love by Donna Hill
A holiday in NYC for two people burdened by their pasts.  There is a little rub caused by both getting over issues from their pasts, but really it was a light and easy romance full of the holiday feels and some lovely moments with a big city Christmas setting.

Holiday Spice by Farrah Rochon
A chance meeting style romance is fun especially since she was working hard to avoid Christmas and emotions.  Fate was laughing at her it seemed.  It was fun to have the holiday abroad scene and then a Rocky Mountain Christmas.  A photographer and a brewer was a neat combo just as their personal troubles were just the right touch for character growth and a budding romance.

From Here to Serenity by KM Jackson
This was the hardest of the three for me to settle into, but it was still an engaging story.  I found his glam lifestyle and overblown work ethic up against her personality was a great natural conflict to the story.  Enjoyed the 'at sea' setting, the delicious foodie scenes, and the build of the relationship.  This pair had a great connection.  I wanted to get more of their story when the end came leaving it a little open-ended.

Alright, these were quick reads that had good development and all touched me which is just what I want in a holiday story.  Sometimes anthologies are a mixed bag, but I found all of these to be fantastic and engaging stories.  I’d definitely read more from each of these authors.  I can easily recommend this to others who enjoy slightly spicy holiday Contemporary Romance.

I received this book from Net Galley in exchange for an honest review.



Many thanks to Sophia for stopping by BnB Reviews!
And for bringing a lil bit of Holiday love our way early 😄

Sophia Rose
Sophia is a quiet though curious gal who dabbles in cooking, book reviewing, and gardening. Encouraged and supported by an incredible man and loving family. A Northern Californian transplant to the Great Lakes Region of the US. Lover of Jane Austen, Baseball, Cats, Scooby Doo, and Chocolate.  Associate Reviewer for Delighted Reader blog

Where You Can Find Sophia via Social Media: Facebook | Goodreads | Twitter



Continue Reading...

3.23.2017

Movie: Kong Skull Island





Kong: Skull Island
Action, Adventure, Monsters
PG 13
1 hr 58 mins




I love monster movies, good ones anyway. Like back in the day old school monster movies, the ones I use to watch when I was kid.

Kong reminded me of those kind of movies. There was action, a little bit of romance (between humans) but mainly, there was kick ass monster fighting. 

Kong is the last of his kind on Skull Island, he is also the islands protector. Skull Island is a island made for monsters, but there are also humans there as well. Both the monsters and the humans need protection from a sinister creature that lives underground, these creatures killed Kong's parents as well. They are very deadly and Kong has pretty much taken care of them...for the most part. 

But of course when outside humans come in being all nosy and destroying shit, they disrupt the current peace that Skull Island has gotten use too. Without giving too much away, Kong now has to put these creatures back in their place, he also has to destroy the Momma one who just so happens to wake up when the outsiders come along. Kong also acquires a enemy in the character played by Samuel L. Jackson. Jackson's character isn't to happy with Kong after he pretty much takes out a majority of his crew. But hey when you go looking for a fight, make sure you can go up against your competition and that was mistake number one when Jackson and his crew went up against Kong. 

Kong is a great combination of a old throwback monster flick and current movie magic. The 70's backdrop, post the Vietnam war helped moved the story along. I don't think a current issue would have help but given the fact that we know have a orange terror as POTUS, who knows....

They did a really good job with Kong so I hope they don't fudge up the remake of Kong Vs Godzilla. 

Well worth the movie dollars spent.



Sharonda
Grown ass woman, Mother, reader, drinker of the red wines, not so serious makeup enthusiast and finally...a habitual procrastinator. I read just about everything but I really do love my romances. HEA’s are optional because hell sometimes, Prince Charming really is just a frog. Don’t asked if I finished *that book* yet...because I didn’t.
Find me out here in these eStreets:






Continue Reading...

3.21.2017

BnB Spotlight: Dark Wolf Enterprise Series by A. M. Griffin






Lover Claimed
Dark Wolf Enterprises, Book #2
Paranormal Romance
Release Date: March 14, 2017
Author: A.M. Griffin


Blurb:
When Meisha comes home and finds a strange man in her kitchen, she does what any sensible person would do. She beats the crap out of him first, then asks questions after. When he explains her best friend is in mortal danger, Meisha knows the whole mess—including a recent murder and the threats on her friend’s life—may be her fault, and she’s determined to get to the bottom of it. And no sexy stranger is going to stop her.
Lajos Farkas isn’t expecting to meet a spitfire, martial artist when he’s on a mission to figure out who’s stealing from Dark Wolf Enterprises, and he certainly doesn’t expect her to insist on butting in on his investigation. But getting rid of Meisha is seemingly impossible, and when his wolf decides she’s his life-mate, suddenly he realizes he’ll do anything to keep her close and grow old with her.
If they can just stay alive long enough to make that possible.



Excerpt: Meisha squinted, trying to see what he saw. It was dark and the street lights weren’t much help. On this block all of them except for two were broken. She scanned each house, first trying to figure out which one was pale blue. Then she looked for one that had a second floor. “I don’t see it,” she finally said, giving up when she couldn’t make anything out.“It’s on the next block. I wouldn’t expect you to.”“The next block,” she exclaimed, not bothering to whisper any longer. “How the hell can we stake out a house that we can’t see and that’s not even on this block?”He turned, flashing his pearly whites at her. “I can see it just fine.”Oh god, I love those dimples.She pulled her gaze away from him. No involvement, Meisha.“Okay, you can see it with your super non-human eyes, but now what? You just sit here and watch it? Shouldn’t we try to get closer? Don’t we need to find out how many Shifters there are and maybe ambush them?”“There are six Shifters in the house and another who just entered that liquor store on the corner.”She turned back toward the direction of the house. Okay, the liquor store she could see, but she definitely couldn’t make out anyone going into or leaving out of it.“Wait, how are you so sure about the numbers?”He tapped his nose again.“Yeah, right. The best in the business,” she mocked.“Exactamundo.”“So we’ve come all this way to find out how many of them there are? I thought you needed to find out who hired them to kill Mark and Trudy? For that, wouldn’t we need to capture one and torture him into telling us what we want to know?”He glanced at her. His eyes seemed to grow brighter in the dark night. And they were on her, making her feel… She really didn’t know how they were made her feel. There were too many emotions raging in her at once. She fidgeted uncomfortably on her seat.“Sweetheart, you jumped straight to torture. I don’t know if I should be turned on or a little scared.”She tried her best to appear nonchalant, as if she hadn’t just had a spark course through her body when he looked at her like she was the only woman on the face of the Earth, making her feel like she was. Another man would’ve cringed away from her at the mention of torture, but Lajos wasn’t an ordinary man.





Shifter Claimed
Dark Wolf Enterprises, Book #1
Available Now!
Blurb:
The big break Trudy Hollander’s small accounting firm needs has finally arrived, but unfortunately it comes with murder, mayhem and Kristof Farkas, a man she just can’t seem to resist. Even worse, Kristof is the CFO of Dark Wolf Enterprises—the one person who can pull the plug on the job that will take her company to the next level.
Then there are the assassins who can jump from three stories up and still be able to run away…
Kristof has no intention of giving in to his inner wolf and claiming Trudy. She’s human. Too fragile to withstand being a shifter’s mate. But the need to protect her is stronger than his resolve, and his desire is more powerful yet. He’ll fight with everything he has to keep her safe, both from those who would hurt her, and from himself.






Hunter Claimed
Dark Wolf Enterprises, Book #3
Available April 25, 2017
Blurb:
Asha has a simple plan for her life—her hopefully soon-to-be immortal life. All she’s ever wanted was to be so powerful that no one could ever hurt her again, and once she becomes a Vampire her dream will come true. Sure, being a Vampire’s protégé isn’t the easiest job a girl could have, but there are far tougher roads she could be walking, like following in her drug-addicted mother’s footsteps.
Hunter Arany hates Vampires, and with good reason. So when Dark Wolf Enterprises is forced to hire a group of the blood-suckers to find out who’s been stealing company money, he’s sure having them around will be a problem. He never figured it would the Vampires’ human servant who causes him the most trouble—trouble of the love and life-mate kind.
He’s hoping to convince Ash a brighter future exists in his arms, but old dreams fade slowly and can become living nightmares—of the dying kind.

No Link As Of Yet

Giveaway: $20Amazon Gift card March 13 – April 13, 2017


A. M. Griffin is a wife who rarely cooks, mother of three, dog owner (and sometimes dog owned), a daughter, sister, aunt and friend. She’s a hard worker whose two favorite outlets are reading and writing. She enjoys reading everything from mystery novels to historical romances and of course fantasy romance. She is a believer in the unbelievable, open to all possibilities from mermaids in our oceans and seas, angels in the skies and intelligent life forms in distant galaxies.
Where you can find me: Website | Amazon Page | amgriffinbooks@gmail.com | Facebook | Goodreads | Twitter | Newsletter | Instagam: amgriffinbooks





Continue Reading...

3.10.2017

Anime: Claymore




Season 1
26 Episodes
Action, Adventure, Fantasy


Claymore, the anime TV series is based on the Manga of the same name. I finally finished this series late 2016...mind ya'll I started it way back when. I'm not sure why I stopped watching it but I'm upset with myself that I didnt finish it...it's a great anime IMO. The story revolves around Claire a young Claymore who hunts demons named Yomas. Claymore's are female warriors who are injected with Yoma blood to fight and kill them. Women are chosen because their bodies are the only one's that are compatible with the Yoma. Men were chosen at first (of course) but (of course as men tend to do) they turned into the very things they were assigned to kill.

Let me explain this a bit.

It seems when too much of the Yoma blood is used in a warriors body, they can turn...men were just turned quicker than women. Also there are very powerful Yoma and there are Yoma who are like their foot soldiers. While killing the foot soldiers, the goal of the organization that Claire and the other Claymores work for is to kill the head Yomas in charge. But that proves to be futile at times because like I said, they are powerful...extremely powerful.

The Yoma are feared and detested in this world...any person, man, woman or child who is attacked by one becomes an outcast and a majority of time kicked out of their home village. When Claire is on her latest assignment she comes across  a boy name Raki (pronounced Rocky) who lost his entire family to the Yoma. Because the village will no longer allow him to live there, Raki sets out with Claire on her other assignments as her cook.

Claire however, has a mission outside of killing Yoma. She is on the hunt for a deadly Yoma who use to be a Claymore that turned. This Yoma killed the Claymore that saved Claire as a child. The twenty-six episodes follow Claire and Raki as they face off against Yomas and at times other Claymores. Claire's main focus however, is to kill the Yoma that took the only family she has ever known away from her.

The story is very good and I loved the idea of women being all kick ass. Claymore is a complex story and you have to watch each episode as not to miss anything. There is a lot of elements packed into this anime. A slimy organization, friendships gained, lost and tested. And mainly a sisterhood formed even though the organization the Claymores work for attempt at every turn to pit them against one another. I also enjoyed the close relationship that Claire and Raki formed during their travels.

If you're looking for a Anime that is action packed and women are pretty much in charge, then Claymore is the way to go.




Sharonda
Grown ass woman, Mother, reader, drinker of the red wines, not so serious makeup enthusiast and finally...a habitual procrastinator. I read just about everything but I really do love my romances. HEA’s are optional because hell sometimes, Prince Charming really is just a frog. Don’t asked if I finished *that book* yet...because I didn’t.
Find me out here in these eStreets:


Continue Reading...

3.07.2017

Tuesday Jams #174



Want to share that song you been loving like crazy lately? Just grab the image above or make your own...and whether you have a blog or not; you can show a video, a music player..whatever suites your fancy. Just remember to have fun! ♫♫

Today's Jam is a oldie but goodie...enjoy! 😁

Automatic



Sharonda
Grown ass woman, Mother, reader, drinker of the red wines, not so serious makeup enthusiast and finally...a habitual procrastinator. I read just about everything but I really do love my romances. HEA’s are optional because hell sometimes, Prince Charming really is just a frog. Don’t asked if I finished *that book* yet...because I didn’t.
Find me out here in these eStreets:






Continue Reading...

3.06.2017

#Movie: Logan (2017)





You know I was dreading to go see this and not because I don't like Wolverine, I'm just kinda tired of seeing his story. I mean he's not the only superhero in the X-Men franchise but I digress. I guess Marvel is fixated with this dude.

Here mutants are pretty much non-existent or hiding. Logan is a man who despondent and makes his living as a limo driver, he is also drinking his life away...he a drunk ya'll. He doesn't get into any confrontation (or tries not too) and drinks, dats pretty much it. Logan just wants to be left alone.

He is also taking care of and protecting Professor X. Trouble starts for Logan when a woman who wants him to help her with a girl we assume is her daughter at the beginning of the movie. Logan is having none of that though and is only dragged into the fore-fray when he can no longer avoid it.

I was pleasantly surprised by the movie, it was action packed and the story line was good. Logan pretty much takes the task of protecting this girl, Laura who was part of a government experiment and has his mutant powers...she's him 2.0, maybe more.

The movie is a bit long and has a slow build up to the action but it's worth it. The young actress who played Laura was great and the chemistry between her and Hugh Jackman was almost too perfect. I don't want to give too much away but I will say the movie worth the money spent. The ending was sad but I wondering if we gonna get another Wolverine movie.....but with Laura as the main character.



Sharonda
Grown ass woman, Mother, reader, drinker of the red wines, not so serious makeup enthusiast and finally...a habitual procrastinator. I read just about everything but I really do love my romances. HEA’s are optional because hell sometimes, Prince Charming really is just a frog. Don’t asked if I finished *that book* yet...because I didn’t.
Find me out here in these eStreets:




Continue Reading...

2.28.2017

Tuesday Jams #173 & End of The Month Wrap Up



Hey Ya'll!

Damn, its been a long time since I did a end of the month post. Anyolhoo's, here is what went down (it ain't much, lols)

Posts: Instead of me linking each and every one, just scroll yourself on down to our blog archive for the Month of February and wala! I'm seriously thinking of dragging that sucker to the side bar...probably would be easier to find. *looks down* yeah....it's going to the side.

Books Bought:

Paperbacks
Milk & Honey by Rupi Kaur
The Beautiful Struggle by Ta-Nehisi Coates
Negroland by Margo Jefferson

eBooks
The Black Presidency: Barack Obama and the Politics of Race in America by Michael E. Dyson
Across the Universe by Elise Marion
Parable of Talents/Parable of Sower by Octavia E. Butler
A Champion's Heart: Born to Win Men by Piper Huguley
Getting Schooled by Cristina C. Jones
Purple Hisbiscus by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

Movies I Saw:
Fifty Shades Darker, My Thoughts: Don't waste your money, watch this on cable, any bootleg option or honestly skip it. It was stupid, there was no connection between these two actors and the damn plot didn't make any sense, it was stupid. I had to wash my eyes out because all I saw was her ass and tits and not that I discriminate against any of that but hell, can we ladies see some frontal peek a boos too! dang! The movie experience itself was annoying because you had (or at least I did) women sighing and talking all throughout, like dude wasn't even all that. He came off as weak for a damn sadist and ol girl? ugh, *rolls eyes*...I'm gonna pass because my grandma always told me if you don't have nothing nice to say don't say it at all. Hell, maybe I should have just skipped this then? lols! 

Internet Drama:

I ain't even gonna lie, I like to see people in all of their glorious ratchetness lols. And ya'll know it's always some damn drama in the book world....always. So did ya'll hear about the author that faked her death to sell books? Girl!!!!! What kinda time you really got? You probably could have had a best seller on your hands if you would have truly focused, I mean girl...that was your book! Anyways, I dedicated this gif to her...

I hope she sold something at least, I mean we don't want her to have faked her death in vain...lols.




Found this song while going through some random playlist on Amazon one day. It's been on autoplay since then.




And that's it. I'm going to try to post more than I do. Right now, it's just me and currently I don't have access to a computer or my laptop when at home. Most my posts are done and scheduled when I'm at work. But as you can see from how frequent I am posting, sometimes..it may be a week or two before I post anything. The next couple of months are going to be a bit hectic for me but again, I will try to do better. Hopefully soon, I will be in a better position personally to devote more time to blogging/reading/and all that.

Happy reading ya'll!




*remember to click on the blog post to share it...many thanks!
Continue Reading...

About

Just a couple of Brazen ladies sharing the love of our favorite things...books, TV and a lil bit of other things. Relax, have a glass of wine (or whatever your poison is) and enjoy! *Note, we are currently not accepting Review Requests.

Popular Posts

Blog Archive