2.28.2017

Tuesday Jams #173 & End of The Month Wrap Up



Hey Ya'll!

Damn, its been a long time since I did a end of the month post. Anyolhoo's, here is what went down (it ain't much, lols)

Posts: Instead of me linking each and every one, just scroll yourself on down to our blog archive for the Month of February and wala! I'm seriously thinking of dragging that sucker to the side bar...probably would be easier to find. *looks down* yeah....it's going to the side.

Books Bought:

Paperbacks
Milk & Honey by Rupi Kaur
The Beautiful Struggle by Ta-Nehisi Coates
Negroland by Margo Jefferson

eBooks
The Black Presidency: Barack Obama and the Politics of Race in America by Michael E. Dyson
Across the Universe by Elise Marion
Parable of Talents/Parable of Sower by Octavia E. Butler
A Champion's Heart: Born to Win Men by Piper Huguley
Getting Schooled by Cristina C. Jones
Purple Hisbiscus by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

Movies I Saw:
Fifty Shades Darker, My Thoughts: Don't waste your money, watch this on cable, any bootleg option or honestly skip it. It was stupid, there was no connection between these two actors and the damn plot didn't make any sense, it was stupid. I had to wash my eyes out because all I saw was her ass and tits and not that I discriminate against any of that but hell, can we ladies see some frontal peek a boos too! dang! The movie experience itself was annoying because you had (or at least I did) women sighing and talking all throughout, like dude wasn't even all that. He came off as weak for a damn sadist and ol girl? ugh, *rolls eyes*...I'm gonna pass because my grandma always told me if you don't have nothing nice to say don't say it at all. Hell, maybe I should have just skipped this then? lols! 

Internet Drama:

I ain't even gonna lie, I like to see people in all of their glorious ratchetness lols. And ya'll know it's always some damn drama in the book world....always. So did ya'll hear about the author that faked her death to sell books? Girl!!!!! What kinda time you really got? You probably could have had a best seller on your hands if you would have truly focused, I mean girl...that was your book! Anyways, I dedicated this gif to her...

I hope she sold something at least, I mean we don't want her to have faked her death in vain...lols.




Found this song while going through some random playlist on Amazon one day. It's been on autoplay since then.




And that's it. I'm going to try to post more than I do. Right now, it's just me and currently I don't have access to a computer or my laptop when at home. Most my posts are done and scheduled when I'm at work. But as you can see from how frequent I am posting, sometimes..it may be a week or two before I post anything. The next couple of months are going to be a bit hectic for me but again, I will try to do better. Hopefully soon, I will be in a better position personally to devote more time to blogging/reading/and all that.

Happy reading ya'll!




*remember to click on the blog post to share it...many thanks!
Continue Reading...

2.14.2017

Tuesday Jams #172



Want to share that song you been loving like crazy lately? Just grab the image above or make your own...and whether you have a blog or not; you can show a video, a music player..whatever suites your fancy. Just remember to have fun! ♫♫

Happy Valentines Day ❤❤ and no I won't be jamming to a love song, lols. Nah, not this year 😜
Anyolhoo's, I'm going to go with a old joint today...enjoy the music and enjoy your day! 

Oh!!! I"m burning doing the Neutron Dance!!!



Sharonda
Grown ass woman, Mother, reader, drinker of the red wines, not so serious makeup enthusiast and finally...a habitual procrastinator. I read just about everything but I really do love my romances. HEA’s are optional because hell sometimes, Prince Charming really is just a frog. Don’t asked if I finished *that book* yet...because I didn’t.
Find me out here in these eStreets:



Continue Reading...

2.13.2017

#BnBSpotlight: Hank’s Justice by A.M. Griffin


Please welcome A.M Griffin to BnB! 





Hank’s Justice
Contemporary Romance
Release Date: February 14, 2017

Author: A.M Griffin


Justice needs to start afresh someplace her abusive ex can’t find or hurt her and her son anymore. Just her luck to be stranded in Scenic Falls, Montana where, instead of being faceless people in the big city, they stick out like sore thumbs. Being so conspicuous and drawing everyone’s attention, especially that of hot cattle rancher, Hank, means they can’t stay. No matter how much it feels like home.
Hank was born, raised, and plans to die in Scenic Falls. What he doesn’t need is to obsess over the city woman who’s come to town and no doubt would soon move on. Then Justice becomes his live-in cook and bookkeeper and, despite knowing she has secrets she won’t share, Hank realizes he’ll do anything to make her stay in the small town, and with him. That is, until Justice’s past comes calling, threatening everything.

Including their lives.


Excerpt
“This life isn’t for everyone. The hours are long and sometimes feel never-ending.” She handed a plastic spatula to TJ and they began scooping chocolate frosting from a large bowl to coat the cake. “You’ll be paid salary because hourly just isn’t possible. You’ll be expected to have breakfast cooked by five-thirty every morning except Sundays. The field hands might not come for breakfast but be sure to expect them for lunch. That’ll be two extra mouths to feed. There’s also dinner to be made and, in-between the meals, the house needs to be kept up, laundry done and, of course, balancing the books and making sure all the bills are paid and invoices sent out.”
What the hell am I getting myself into?“I know it sounds like a lot,” Ruth continued. “But it’s not anything more than what the average mother does on a daily basis. Room and board are free. No bills to pay here. You’ll get a cell phone and a salary. As long as the food is cooked, chores done and books are balanced your time is yours to do with as you please.” Ruth pulled her lips to the side and looked up at the ceiling as if trying to remember something else. Then, seeming to give up, she said, “I guess that’s all. Are you ready for a tour of the house?”
“Um, sure.”
Ruth showed them the main floor, which consisted of a living room, formal dining room, bathroom, office, laundry room and master bedroom. In the bedroom, clothes were thrown about. Dresser drawers hung open with items spilling from them. A large unmade bed occupied one side and a door leading to a private bathroom was on the other.
“This is my son’s room. I want to say that you wouldn’t have to come in here and clean but, as you can see, he could use the help.”
The cat that she’d seen earlier was now sprawled out on the bed, stretched across one of the pillows.
Justice imagined a teenage boy who would rather play video games than clean his room. “I’ll get on him about it,” she promised.
Ruth smiled at that. “Just what I wanted to hear. When his mother tells him to clean his room it falls on deaf ears. But if a pretty woman like you says something…well, I think he’ll be more apt to pay attention.”
“What’s the cat’s name?” TJ asked.
“Sugar Bear.”
At hearing his name the cat got up and walked over to them, going straight to TJ begging to be picked up. TJ obliged.
Ruth led them up some back stairs to the second story, where there were three additional rooms. One was a master bedroom with a walk-in closet and a private bathroom. It was so large that it had views from three sides of the house. The other two rooms were about the same size as each other and both opened to a shared bathroom.
“You can take the master bedroom since Hank likes his room on the main floor.”
Hank. Where had she remembered that name from?
She followed Ruth as she led them down the front stairs and back to the kitchen. “When will I know if I have the job?” Justice asked as the name tugged at the back of her mind.
“Right now. I hope you’ll take it.”
Justice beamed. “Yes. Yes, I’ll take it.” She gathered Ruth’s hand in hers and shook it like a fool. “I won’t let you down. I promise.”
“Oh, honey you aren’t coming to work for me. You’ll be working for my son.”
The smile Justice wore turned into confusion. She dropped Ruth’s hand. “I-I don’t understand.”
The front door opened and heavy boots thumped against the wood floors. As if in slow motion the man who had caught her eyes appeared at the kitchen door. “Ma, did I miss…” his eyes settled on her, “the interview?”
Available: Amazon



Author A.M. Griffin


A. M. Griffin is a wife who rarely cooks, mother of three, dog owner (and sometimes dog owned), a daughter, sister, aunt and friend. She’s a hard worker whose two favorite outlets are reading and writing. She enjoys reading everything from mystery novels to historical romances and of course fantasy romance. She is a believer in the unbelievable, open to all possibilities from mermaids in our oceans and seas, angels in the skies and intelligent life forms in distant galaxies.

Website | Subscribe to my Amazon page | Email: amgriffinbooks@gmail.com | Facebook | Goodread | Twitter | Instagram | Newletter 


$10Amazon Gift card February 13 – February 20, 2017
Rafflecopter:





Continue Reading...

2.08.2017

Sale Alert!: Octavia E Butler's Parable Series



Hey Ya'll! You know...it's so wonderful following book bloggers, thank you Ms. Monica! You just find out the best information sometimes😁

Anyolhoo's, this is what you can cop for .50 cents total. You read correctly, each book is .25 cents via Amazon!

Parable (2 Book Series) by  Octavia E. Butler

*Note, both are the Kindle format.
Genre: Science Fiction

And...and, this goes just perfectly with my Year of challenge. I love when a plan comes together...




Sharonda
Grown ass woman, Mother, reader, drinker of the red wines, not so serious makeup enthusiast and finally...a habitual procrastinator. I read just about everything but I really do love my romances. HEA’s are optional because hell sometimes, Prince Charming really is just a frog. Don’t asked if I finished *that book* yet...because I didn’t.
Find me out here in these eStreets:


Continue Reading...

2.07.2017

Tuesday Jams #171: New Edition



Want to share that song you been loving like crazy lately? Just grab the image above or make your own...and whether you have a blog or not; you can show a video, a music player..whatever suites your fancy. Just remember to have fun! ♫♫

Hey Ya'll. Welp...another awesome/terrible week is upon us. Buckle up sweethearts because the ride is going to get bumpy and I hope ALL of you are ready.

Anyolhoo's, BET did a miniseries on the group New Edition and it was glorious because let's be honest sometimes when TV gets a hold of somebody's story, they usually fudge it up but I gotta hand to BET, they did a pretty damn good job. So this post got me to thinking about the music this group made. Had me singing and dancing along with its premiere 😂.

My favorite Joint




Sharonda
Grown ass woman, Mother, reader, drinker of the red wines, not so serious makeup enthusiast and finally...a habitual procrastinator. I read just about everything but I really do love my romances. HEA’s are optional because hell sometimes, Prince Charming really is just a frog. Don’t asked if I finished *that book* yet...because I didn’t.
Find me out here in these eStreets:

Continue Reading...

2.06.2017

#BnBSpotlight: Lore Lush Publishing




Hello gorgeous people! Welp, we said we would like to do more spotlights and yes that includes publishers. Awesome extra thing about Lore Publishing is that they are diverse! Without further ado....



LORE LUSH PUBLISHING IS NOW OPEN FOR SUBMISSIONS

Lore Lush Publishing is a publisher of Inclusive & diverse fiction. We publish books that are not mainstream to reflect the world around us to include heroes and heroines of color, and to be inclusive of disabilities, ethnicity, and body type.
If you have a diverse story to tell, take a look at our guidelines below.


What We Are Currently Accepting:
Paranormal Romance
Urban Fantasy
Cross-Genre
Anthology Submissions (Details To Come)
Agented and un-agented work from new and established writers
Previously Unpublished Full-Length Novels

What We Are Looking For:

Diverse & Inclusive Stories
Strong, Smart and Engaging Heroines
Sexy Alpha Heroes
Tension, Conflict Worldbuilding, and Exceptional Characterization

Review our submissions page for guidelines and details
To submit your story, please send an email to submissions@lorelushpublishing.com
[box]
~IMPRINTS~
Lore – 35K-70K Paranormal Romance
Lush – 30K-60K Contemporary Romance
Chimera – 40K-80K Fantasy
Malice – 20K-60K Horror
Crux – 30K-70K Mystery, Thriller & Suspense
Dagger – 40K-80K Urban Fantasy
Nova – 20K-60K Sci-Fi, Steampunk, Dystopia
Jade – 20K-60K New Adult (Any Genre)
Teri – 20K-60K Young Adult (Any Genre)
Legion (Cross-Genre) – Does your story exist in more than one genre? We’d love to hear about it![/box]

We offer remote employment and career opportunities for military veterans & spouses and is an Equal Opportunity employer.

Please visit our Careers page for current career opportunities.
LORE LUSH, LLC IS USAF VETERAN/SPOUSE, MINORITY, AND FEMALE OWNED.





Continue Reading...

2.02.2017

What Happened In January: Reading Challenges and the World Has Gone Mad


Oh! Hey Ya'll!

So...yeah, I almost...almost forgot to post this post. But it's getting done. So much stuff going on in the world...in the country. It's so easy to get distracted. But I do want to start doing more monthly updates for the blog...anyolhoo's, January wasn't all that exciting especially as far as books are concerned.

I did however, get some reading in...

I read three books towards our own challenge, the Diversify Your Shelf Challenge. It's happening via Goodreads so if you would like to join...you can click on the pic via our sidebar. And for anyone that did join, please if you can, go over to Goodreads when you have a chance and give us your monthly update.

Those books were:
The Fifth Season by N.K. Jemison (My Review)

Kindred by Octavia E. Butler (My Review)
The Farmer and The Belle by D. A. Young (My Review)

I also decided to join another challenge (My Year of) which will consist of me reading one author for the entire year each month (thank you Monica). That author will be Octavia E. Butler. I read one book towards this challenge which you can see above. I also decided that for each review I do, it will be via video...this will get some action on my Youtube channel. I have to dust the dust bullets off that sucker, lols.

I also, joined the yearly Audiobook challenge over at Hot Listens. I don't have anything to add towards January but for February, I'll be listening to Magic Bites (Kate Daniels #1) by Ilona Andrews. I've had it in my audible library for like the longest so it's time to try that sucker out plus I've heard really good things about the series. I've decided to do my reviews for my audio-books via podcasts (Soundcloud)...another account that needs the dust brushed off, lols.

So these challenges are coinciding with other things I got going on via the inter-webs and that's a good thing.

Anyways before this turn into a long ass unnecessary worded post, that's it for me. How did January go for ya'll? let a girl know in the comment section. Did ya'll hear Queen Bey is pregnant with twins? Lawl...ain't nobody else pregnancy announcement gonna be exciting, lols. That women know how to announce shit, lmaooo! Had these eStreets out here in tears...

Come on Bey! And the memes...lols!!! 
But what a way to kick off Black History Month :D



Sharonda
Grown ass woman, Mother, reader, drinker of the red wines, not so serious makeup enthusiast and finally...a habitual procrastinator. I read just about everything but I really do love my romances. HEA’s are optional because hell sometimes, Prince Charming really is just a frog. Don’t asked if I finished *that book* yet...because I didn’t.
Find me out here in these eStreets:


Continue Reading...

About

Just a couple of Brazen ladies sharing the love of our favorite things...books, TV and a lil bit of other things. Relax, have a glass of wine (or whatever your poison is) and enjoy! *Note, we are currently not accepting Review Requests.

Blog Archive

Popular Posts