3.29.2017

#GuestReview: Holiday Temptation by Donna Hill, Farrah Rochon, and KM Jackson (@sophiarose1816)




Contemporary Romance
Publisher:  Dafina
Published:  9.27.16
Pages:  374
Rating: 4 Stars
Flames:  3.5
Format:  eARC
Source:  Net Galley
Sellers:  Amazon
+GoodReads (Blurb/Shelf It)

GoodReads Blurb: 
Tis the season to satisfy your holiday desires with this festive trio of sexy stories…

A GIFT OF LOVE Donna Hill
Drama professor Traci Long spends her free time at the CoffeeMate café, pursuing her true passion—writing her own plays. Meanwhile, sexy barista Noah Jefferson is doing his best to distract her. But once they get involved, past betrayals make Traci wary. She’s right that Noah is keeping something from her—but it might be something that will make this Christmas as sweet as a rave review—and steamier than her favorite chai latté…

HOLIDAY SPICE Farrah Rochon
A Christmas-time tragedy took photographer Miranda Lawson’s holiday spirit with it. Since then, she’s traveled the world, determined to outrun her demons. This year she’s off to Istanbul. But the scenery isn’t the only gorgeous site she spots through her camera lens….Kyle Daniels loves Christmas, but he’s looking for escape too—and soon he and Miranda find it in each other’s arms. Yet their connection doesn’t end there. Maybe staying put isn’t such a bad idea after all—especially when there’s someone to celebrate with…

FROM HERE TO SERENITY K.M. Jackson
Unstoppable real-estate developer Ross Montgomery is under orders to get some holiday R&R. A cruise to Miami on his yacht, “The Serenity,” is the perfect place to start—especially when he meets his new personal chef, Essie Bradford. Between her calming presence, her amazing food, and her delectable beauty, Ross just might develop a taste for the good life. And when the two discover they have a lot in common—including an irresistible attraction—the next course may be a spicy New Year…

Sophia's Review
You probably guessed it by the cover or the blurb or hey, the giveaway title, but this is a holiday collection.  I didn’t let that stop me.  I’m one that can read a holiday story at any time of the year if the mood hits me.
 I spotted the Holiday Temptation anthology of holiday stories by all new to me authors so I was eager to give it a try.  Christmas holidays spent with a variety of characters, situations, and settings made this a treasure trove to delve into and enjoy.  I've decided since there are only three stories that I can separate out mini-review thoughts for each.

A Gift of Love by Donna Hill
A holiday in NYC for two people burdened by their pasts.  There is a little rub caused by both getting over issues from their pasts, but really it was a light and easy romance full of the holiday feels and some lovely moments with a big city Christmas setting.

Holiday Spice by Farrah Rochon
A chance meeting style romance is fun especially since she was working hard to avoid Christmas and emotions.  Fate was laughing at her it seemed.  It was fun to have the holiday abroad scene and then a Rocky Mountain Christmas.  A photographer and a brewer was a neat combo just as their personal troubles were just the right touch for character growth and a budding romance.

From Here to Serenity by KM Jackson
This was the hardest of the three for me to settle into, but it was still an engaging story.  I found his glam lifestyle and overblown work ethic up against her personality was a great natural conflict to the story.  Enjoyed the 'at sea' setting, the delicious foodie scenes, and the build of the relationship.  This pair had a great connection.  I wanted to get more of their story when the end came leaving it a little open-ended.

Alright, these were quick reads that had good development and all touched me which is just what I want in a holiday story.  Sometimes anthologies are a mixed bag, but I found all of these to be fantastic and engaging stories.  I’d definitely read more from each of these authors.  I can easily recommend this to others who enjoy slightly spicy holiday Contemporary Romance.

I received this book from Net Galley in exchange for an honest review.



Many thanks to Sophia for stopping by BnB Reviews!
And for bringing a lil bit of Holiday love our way early 😄

Sophia Rose
Sophia is a quiet though curious gal who dabbles in cooking, book reviewing, and gardening. Encouraged and supported by an incredible man and loving family. A Northern Californian transplant to the Great Lakes Region of the US. Lover of Jane Austen, Baseball, Cats, Scooby Doo, and Chocolate.  Associate Reviewer for Delighted Reader blog

Where You Can Find Sophia via Social Media: Facebook | Goodreads | Twitter



Continue Reading...

3.23.2017

Movie: Kong Skull Island





Kong: Skull Island
Action, Adventure, Monsters
PG 13
1 hr 58 mins




I love monster movies, good ones anyway. Like back in the day old school monster movies, the ones I use to watch when I was kid.

Kong reminded me of those kind of movies. There was action, a little bit of romance (between humans) but mainly, there was kick ass monster fighting. 

Kong is the last of his kind on Skull Island, he is also the islands protector. Skull Island is a island made for monsters, but there are also humans there as well. Both the monsters and the humans need protection from a sinister creature that lives underground, these creatures killed Kong's parents as well. They are very deadly and Kong has pretty much taken care of them...for the most part. 

But of course when outside humans come in being all nosy and destroying shit, they disrupt the current peace that Skull Island has gotten use too. Without giving too much away, Kong now has to put these creatures back in their place, he also has to destroy the Momma one who just so happens to wake up when the outsiders come along. Kong also acquires a enemy in the character played by Samuel L. Jackson. Jackson's character isn't to happy with Kong after he pretty much takes out a majority of his crew. But hey when you go looking for a fight, make sure you can go up against your competition and that was mistake number one when Jackson and his crew went up against Kong. 

Kong is a great combination of a old throwback monster flick and current movie magic. The 70's backdrop, post the Vietnam war helped moved the story along. I don't think a current issue would have help but given the fact that we know have a orange terror as POTUS, who knows....

They did a really good job with Kong so I hope they don't fudge up the remake of Kong Vs Godzilla. 

Well worth the movie dollars spent.



Sharonda
Grown ass woman, Mother, reader, drinker of the red wines, not so serious makeup enthusiast and finally...a habitual procrastinator. I read just about everything but I really do love my romances. HEA’s are optional because hell sometimes, Prince Charming really is just a frog. Don’t asked if I finished *that book* yet...because I didn’t.
Find me out here in these eStreets:






Continue Reading...

3.21.2017

BnB Spotlight: Dark Wolf Enterprise Series by A. M. Griffin






Lover Claimed
Dark Wolf Enterprises, Book #2
Paranormal Romance
Release Date: March 14, 2017
Author: A.M. Griffin


Blurb:
When Meisha comes home and finds a strange man in her kitchen, she does what any sensible person would do. She beats the crap out of him first, then asks questions after. When he explains her best friend is in mortal danger, Meisha knows the whole mess—including a recent murder and the threats on her friend’s life—may be her fault, and she’s determined to get to the bottom of it. And no sexy stranger is going to stop her.
Lajos Farkas isn’t expecting to meet a spitfire, martial artist when he’s on a mission to figure out who’s stealing from Dark Wolf Enterprises, and he certainly doesn’t expect her to insist on butting in on his investigation. But getting rid of Meisha is seemingly impossible, and when his wolf decides she’s his life-mate, suddenly he realizes he’ll do anything to keep her close and grow old with her.
If they can just stay alive long enough to make that possible.



Excerpt: Meisha squinted, trying to see what he saw. It was dark and the street lights weren’t much help. On this block all of them except for two were broken. She scanned each house, first trying to figure out which one was pale blue. Then she looked for one that had a second floor. “I don’t see it,” she finally said, giving up when she couldn’t make anything out.“It’s on the next block. I wouldn’t expect you to.”“The next block,” she exclaimed, not bothering to whisper any longer. “How the hell can we stake out a house that we can’t see and that’s not even on this block?”He turned, flashing his pearly whites at her. “I can see it just fine.”Oh god, I love those dimples.She pulled her gaze away from him. No involvement, Meisha.“Okay, you can see it with your super non-human eyes, but now what? You just sit here and watch it? Shouldn’t we try to get closer? Don’t we need to find out how many Shifters there are and maybe ambush them?”“There are six Shifters in the house and another who just entered that liquor store on the corner.”She turned back toward the direction of the house. Okay, the liquor store she could see, but she definitely couldn’t make out anyone going into or leaving out of it.“Wait, how are you so sure about the numbers?”He tapped his nose again.“Yeah, right. The best in the business,” she mocked.“Exactamundo.”“So we’ve come all this way to find out how many of them there are? I thought you needed to find out who hired them to kill Mark and Trudy? For that, wouldn’t we need to capture one and torture him into telling us what we want to know?”He glanced at her. His eyes seemed to grow brighter in the dark night. And they were on her, making her feel… She really didn’t know how they were made her feel. There were too many emotions raging in her at once. She fidgeted uncomfortably on her seat.“Sweetheart, you jumped straight to torture. I don’t know if I should be turned on or a little scared.”She tried her best to appear nonchalant, as if she hadn’t just had a spark course through her body when he looked at her like she was the only woman on the face of the Earth, making her feel like she was. Another man would’ve cringed away from her at the mention of torture, but Lajos wasn’t an ordinary man.





Shifter Claimed
Dark Wolf Enterprises, Book #1
Available Now!
Blurb:
The big break Trudy Hollander’s small accounting firm needs has finally arrived, but unfortunately it comes with murder, mayhem and Kristof Farkas, a man she just can’t seem to resist. Even worse, Kristof is the CFO of Dark Wolf Enterprises—the one person who can pull the plug on the job that will take her company to the next level.
Then there are the assassins who can jump from three stories up and still be able to run away…
Kristof has no intention of giving in to his inner wolf and claiming Trudy. She’s human. Too fragile to withstand being a shifter’s mate. But the need to protect her is stronger than his resolve, and his desire is more powerful yet. He’ll fight with everything he has to keep her safe, both from those who would hurt her, and from himself.






Hunter Claimed
Dark Wolf Enterprises, Book #3
Available April 25, 2017
Blurb:
Asha has a simple plan for her life—her hopefully soon-to-be immortal life. All she’s ever wanted was to be so powerful that no one could ever hurt her again, and once she becomes a Vampire her dream will come true. Sure, being a Vampire’s protégé isn’t the easiest job a girl could have, but there are far tougher roads she could be walking, like following in her drug-addicted mother’s footsteps.
Hunter Arany hates Vampires, and with good reason. So when Dark Wolf Enterprises is forced to hire a group of the blood-suckers to find out who’s been stealing company money, he’s sure having them around will be a problem. He never figured it would the Vampires’ human servant who causes him the most trouble—trouble of the love and life-mate kind.
He’s hoping to convince Ash a brighter future exists in his arms, but old dreams fade slowly and can become living nightmares—of the dying kind.

No Link As Of Yet

Giveaway: $20Amazon Gift card March 13 – April 13, 2017


A. M. Griffin is a wife who rarely cooks, mother of three, dog owner (and sometimes dog owned), a daughter, sister, aunt and friend. She’s a hard worker whose two favorite outlets are reading and writing. She enjoys reading everything from mystery novels to historical romances and of course fantasy romance. She is a believer in the unbelievable, open to all possibilities from mermaids in our oceans and seas, angels in the skies and intelligent life forms in distant galaxies.
Where you can find me: Website | Amazon Page | amgriffinbooks@gmail.com | Facebook | Goodreads | Twitter | Newsletter | Instagam: amgriffinbooks





Continue Reading...

3.10.2017

Anime: Claymore




Season 1
26 Episodes
Action, Adventure, Fantasy


Claymore, the anime TV series is based on the Manga of the same name. I finally finished this series late 2016...mind ya'll I started it way back when. I'm not sure why I stopped watching it but I'm upset with myself that I didnt finish it...it's a great anime IMO. The story revolves around Claire a young Claymore who hunts demons named Yomas. Claymore's are female warriors who are injected with Yoma blood to fight and kill them. Women are chosen because their bodies are the only one's that are compatible with the Yoma. Men were chosen at first (of course) but (of course as men tend to do) they turned into the very things they were assigned to kill.

Let me explain this a bit.

It seems when too much of the Yoma blood is used in a warriors body, they can turn...men were just turned quicker than women. Also there are very powerful Yoma and there are Yoma who are like their foot soldiers. While killing the foot soldiers, the goal of the organization that Claire and the other Claymores work for is to kill the head Yomas in charge. But that proves to be futile at times because like I said, they are powerful...extremely powerful.

The Yoma are feared and detested in this world...any person, man, woman or child who is attacked by one becomes an outcast and a majority of time kicked out of their home village. When Claire is on her latest assignment she comes across  a boy name Raki (pronounced Rocky) who lost his entire family to the Yoma. Because the village will no longer allow him to live there, Raki sets out with Claire on her other assignments as her cook.

Claire however, has a mission outside of killing Yoma. She is on the hunt for a deadly Yoma who use to be a Claymore that turned. This Yoma killed the Claymore that saved Claire as a child. The twenty-six episodes follow Claire and Raki as they face off against Yomas and at times other Claymores. Claire's main focus however, is to kill the Yoma that took the only family she has ever known away from her.

The story is very good and I loved the idea of women being all kick ass. Claymore is a complex story and you have to watch each episode as not to miss anything. There is a lot of elements packed into this anime. A slimy organization, friendships gained, lost and tested. And mainly a sisterhood formed even though the organization the Claymores work for attempt at every turn to pit them against one another. I also enjoyed the close relationship that Claire and Raki formed during their travels.

If you're looking for a Anime that is action packed and women are pretty much in charge, then Claymore is the way to go.




Sharonda
Grown ass woman, Mother, reader, drinker of the red wines, not so serious makeup enthusiast and finally...a habitual procrastinator. I read just about everything but I really do love my romances. HEA’s are optional because hell sometimes, Prince Charming really is just a frog. Don’t asked if I finished *that book* yet...because I didn’t.
Find me out here in these eStreets:


Continue Reading...

3.07.2017

Tuesday Jams #174



Want to share that song you been loving like crazy lately? Just grab the image above or make your own...and whether you have a blog or not; you can show a video, a music player..whatever suites your fancy. Just remember to have fun! ♫♫

Today's Jam is a oldie but goodie...enjoy! 😁

Automatic



Sharonda
Grown ass woman, Mother, reader, drinker of the red wines, not so serious makeup enthusiast and finally...a habitual procrastinator. I read just about everything but I really do love my romances. HEA’s are optional because hell sometimes, Prince Charming really is just a frog. Don’t asked if I finished *that book* yet...because I didn’t.
Find me out here in these eStreets:






Continue Reading...

3.06.2017

#Movie: Logan (2017)





You know I was dreading to go see this and not because I don't like Wolverine, I'm just kinda tired of seeing his story. I mean he's not the only superhero in the X-Men franchise but I digress. I guess Marvel is fixated with this dude.

Here mutants are pretty much non-existent or hiding. Logan is a man who despondent and makes his living as a limo driver, he is also drinking his life away...he a drunk ya'll. He doesn't get into any confrontation (or tries not too) and drinks, dats pretty much it. Logan just wants to be left alone.

He is also taking care of and protecting Professor X. Trouble starts for Logan when a woman who wants him to help her with a girl we assume is her daughter at the beginning of the movie. Logan is having none of that though and is only dragged into the fore-fray when he can no longer avoid it.

I was pleasantly surprised by the movie, it was action packed and the story line was good. Logan pretty much takes the task of protecting this girl, Laura who was part of a government experiment and has his mutant powers...she's him 2.0, maybe more.

The movie is a bit long and has a slow build up to the action but it's worth it. The young actress who played Laura was great and the chemistry between her and Hugh Jackman was almost too perfect. I don't want to give too much away but I will say the movie worth the money spent. The ending was sad but I wondering if we gonna get another Wolverine movie.....but with Laura as the main character.



Sharonda
Grown ass woman, Mother, reader, drinker of the red wines, not so serious makeup enthusiast and finally...a habitual procrastinator. I read just about everything but I really do love my romances. HEA’s are optional because hell sometimes, Prince Charming really is just a frog. Don’t asked if I finished *that book* yet...because I didn’t.
Find me out here in these eStreets:




Continue Reading...

About

Just a couple of Brazen ladies sharing the love of our favorite things...books, TV and a lil bit of other things. Relax, have a glass of wine (or whatever your poison is) and enjoy! *Note, we are currently not accepting Review Requests.

Blog Archive

Popular Posts