Sharonda Isadora's Favorite Reads of 2019

Friday, December 20, 2019


The end of the year is upon us and its time for the best of, favorites...etc, etc lists. Mines? Like me its pretty melinanted. I read some dope ass books this year...I still have some dope books I haven't had a chance to open but that will be remedied in the new year.

By order of my Goodreads list: January 2019 thru December 2019|
42128976. sy475 2688355843688305. sy475 41572291. sy475 43834163. sy475
44585029. sy475 28815371233052545310776431241334296412639670914. sy475 3457065347563466. sy475 41571068
46863159. sy475 36381842. sy475 48015501. sy475 4326349448076577. sy475
47969251. sx318 44795541. sx318 48633931. sx318
48344891. sy475 430928917700747877952. sx318
48351789. sy475 43582978. sy475 42935975. sy475 48137517. sy475 48664997. sy475

I think I had a truly mix-bag of reads. Yeah, mostly romance is up there but hey 😆.

If you want read to about black and brown people in the liquor/beer making business? Read Equivalent Exchange and White Whiskey Bargain.

I need to find more Black werewolves, thank you Chencia!
I found Black mermaids, thank you LeeSha McCoy because ma'am!

Katrina Jackson let me read truly grown ass adults sharing each other with no damn drama.

How about a book blogger and publisher hooking up? Read My Love Wasn't Meant For You.

And Audible? I started my membership...again, lols. And honestly, I'm not mad about it although, they're still too damn expensive. But I'm happy to see more black romance popping up on Audible. So I will keep them for now.... 😆

Twenty-Twenty will be another awesome year of reading my 'favs and discovering new authors.
I'm also looking forward to adding more than just "book reviews" to the blog. There will be more book related discussions; I won't get all crazy but if I see something that I want to speak on, I'm going to talk about it here.  But mainly those discussions will be podcast related. More journal with me's, tarot card hauls and more cross-posting of my Youtube videos and Podcasts.

I also want to be more inclusive here at Brazen Babe Reviews. Even though this blog will stay committed to black books, mainly romance. I want to read more POC centered stories. If you know of any (mainly) indie authors of color that have books out there point them my way or let me know where to find them.

I'm ready for it all

Should you want to "read" my reviews on these awesome ass books. Check out the BLOG, My Goodreads list, Youtube and Podcast.

This will be my last post here at the blog for 2019. Make sure your are following me on Goodreads and Instagram as if I do a review, they will appear on those sites.

Wishing you all a Happy Holiday and A banging ass New Year. I will see ya'll in 2020.

Find me out here in these eStreets:



Read More

Netherfield Must Go! by Nikki Payne

Wednesday, December 18, 2019


47959192. sy475 48345401. sy475

Published: 
Book 1 | August 30, 2019
Book 2 | September 30, 2019
Format: eBook (Kindle)
Serial Series
Genre: Romance Retelling 
Pride and Prejudice
Available: Amazon


I will continue to tell ya’ll that I haven’t to this day read Pride and Prejudice but I am enjoying the re-tellings that I’m coming across. 

Netherfield Must Go! Tells us the story of local DJ Liza Bennett and rich developer Dorsey Fitzgerald.

Liza lives in a poor neighborhood and the housing project her grandmother and mother stays in is the last building standing in the way of complete and total gentrification of their neighborhood. Liza is not having it…she don’t want it. I don’t know about her mom…but she don’t want it. Liza considers herself the local protester and she has enough social media following to back her. But what can she do against this new threat that comes in?

Dorsey Fitzgerald. Adopted by white parents, doesn’t fit it anywhere really…. Or he feels like he doesn’t. The world his parents built AND comes from is too white and Dorsey is the only brown face. He’s Filipino and Taiwanese.  His adoptive parents were like the Jolie-Pitt’s wherein they adopted children from different countries. But what I got from this story, the children here never had any connection to their culture….
We’ll have to talk about that one day but…. Today isn’t the day.

Anyhoo’s, when Liza first meets Dorsey…she mistakes him for the help and he's instantly offended and also sees her for what he assumes the fake ass protester she seems to be. Ya’ll this shit was hilarious.

I think the author did a good job of letting us know right off the back the difference between Liza and Dorsey in regards to their financial situations. She made it very clear that Liza was poor af and Dorsey was super rich.

Despite said differences, both Liza and Dorsey couldn’t keep their eyes and thoughts off one another. And what’s that all about anyways, thinks the both of them. Different classes, different finances? It shouldn’t be hard, correct? But it is? And neither of our protagonists can understand why. 
They clearly don't like each other.... or do they? 

Again, I thought the characters here were hysterical af. And I’m not just talking about Liza and Dorsey. Liza’s family was off the gahtdamn chain. Reminded me of mine a bit. Her Mom and Grandmother saying off the wall shit was like oh ma’am what is you doing? But I got it, lols. I be correcting my mom with the face below…a lot.
awkward michael scott GIF
I be like "You can't say that"

We are only two books into this serial story but I feel like Ms. Payne has a good one on her hands. I had no problem with either Liza or Dorsey. I got both their perspectives in this story. Liza doesn’t want to lose the home she knows. She doesn’t want the new and approved…I mean maybe she does but can’t we have the new without erasing brown and black folk?

And Dorsey, honestly…he is just trying to find his footing. What else can he do? Having one foot in a world that doesn’t really accept you is hard but when the one world you think would accept you (i.e…you biological mother) doesn’t.... what are you to do? How do you move along without flapping?
I look forward to reading the remaining installments in Netherfield Must Go!

I’m very interested to see where Liza and Dorsey end. 

*These covers are are too damn cute! all bright and pretty. 
Add Netherfield Must Go! to your reading library. 


Your Author in these eStreets: Website 

Find me out here in these eStreets:



Read More

A Taste of Her Own Medicine by Tasha L. Harrison

Monday, December 16, 2019


48664997. sy475

Published: December 10, 2019
Dirtyscribbler Press
Format: eBook (Kindle)
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Available: Amazon
*Kindle Unlimited
Add it on Goodreads

A Taste of Her Own Medicine tells us the story of a woman newly divorced and finding her footing in a new relationship.

To give you guys this review without telling this whole story is hard for me…I mean not really but it’s just that I felt Sonja’s feelings all throughout this read. Like I’ve never been married but I know the feelings of coming out of a long term relationship and attempting to gain your new singledom. Especially when you have kids in tow. 

You feel like you have this “baggage” and how are going to go into something new with this additional weight in your suitcase? Some men are okay with it …. And some are not. Lucky for Sonja enters into her life a man who doesn’t mind her bringing her children along into his life. But at the end of the day, what choice did he have not to? I mean we do have women who will forgo their children’s feelings to “move on” but that is a whole nother conversation for another day. Let’s get into A Taste of Her Own Medicine.

Sonja, newly divorced needs a way to support herself and her children. So registering herself into an  entrepreneurship program to get her metaphysical business off the ground seems like a good way to start. But the teacher of that class Atlas James just might be a problem for Sonja…
A problem she never knew she needed.

Atlas is getting life back in order in the small town in Greenville SC. After becoming a self-made millionaire traveling, he’s back home and sets up shop with his best friend Kairo. Business is going good and strong. Then Sonja Watts walks through the door and Atlas falls…. Hard.

One, I love the different topics Ms. Harrison decided to take on in ATOHOM. We just don’t deal with Sonja’s feelings as a newly divorced mom trying to gain her footing but Atlas. Atlas is the product of an affair and didn’t have the easiest life growing up in a small town. It made sense for him to want to leave. But when he left, his family and friend Kairo were left devastated. So we get discussions of this throughout the book.

I thought I would be uncomfortable reading about the age difference between our main protagonists because I will admit, I’m not much of a fan of older women-young men books. Let's be clear that I'm not a fan of old dudes and young women either....
Anyhoo's, I tend to make it about myself at times really. I have sons and man listen, if they were to bring a older woman home to meet me, I might wanna fight lols. Because I gots questions ma’am. BUT Atlas ain’t that young…he’s actually 9 and ½ years younger than Sonja and shit, after dealing with a dude like her stank ass ex, Atlas IMO was just what she needed. Her family agreed with me, lols.

Tasha L Harrison tells us the story of a woman finding love again after feeling like she failed at her marriage. She intertwines magic and Gullah references (Sonja’s family), good strong friends and family, insecurities and reflection. And banging ass sex.

This ya’ll is a good ass read. And I connected, I really did with a character. I got Sonja’s feelings about moving onto something new even if that something was good for her. We all have those moments of doubts, I appreciated the author given us that in Sonja… and Atlas too.

Add A Taste of Her Own Medicine to your TBR list to read. 

Your Author Around These eStreets: Website | Twitter | Instagram


Find me out here in these eStreets:


Read More

Corporate Seduction | After Hours Trilogy by A.C. Arthur

Friday, December 13, 2019


Corporate Seduction Banner.jpg



Series: After Hours, Book 2
Publisher: Artistry Publishing LLC
Publication Date: December 13, 2019
Genre: Contemporary Romantic Suspense



Reka Boyd’s life has changed in the last four years. With a college degree, a new job title and her best friend’s wedding to help plan, she has far too much on her plate to deal with dead-end relationships or get sucked into office drama the way she used to. But when erotic emails inundate the inboxes of everyone at the firm, and a sexy new IT guy shows up to get to the bottom of the situation, she can’t help but feel the heat.
Khalil Franklin is working undercover to help his friends find out whose spamming their firm email and why. Fresh off a break-up he’s not in the market for another love interest, but as the feisty and attractive paralegal questions his every move at the firm, he finds himself falling for her fast!
Who will be left standing when a chance meeting at a sex club hatches a plan for revenge and the email scandal erupts on the top floor of Page & Associates?

Available| Amazon
Add it on Goodreads


Books 1 & 2
Office-Policy-800x1200.jpgLaws-of-Attraction-800x1200.jpg

Your Author
AC Arthur 1.jpg
AC Arthur was born and raised in Baltimore, Maryland where she currently resides with her husband, three children, grandson and an English bulldog named Vader. An active imagination and a love for reading encouraged her to begin writing in high school and she hasn’t stopped since.
Working in the legal field for over twenty-five years, AC has seen lots of horrific things and longs for the safe haven of a romance novel. To date, she has written in several genres: YA paranormal (w/a Artist Arthur), small town romance as Lacey Baker, and sexy contemporary and paranormal romance. With intriguing plots and sexy love scenes, AC brings a new edge to romance!


Read More